The Giant Mackie Theory

Ke1t

So I've been looking at this picture for a while, and there was something about it that didn't seem right... other than Mackie wearing an Aberdeen strip.

_59851732_mackie_sns.jpg

Couldn't put my finger on it... but I FINALLY figured it out. The little thing in focus just to the right of Mackie (our right) seemed to be a very familiar shape, but at first I just dismissed it as a piece of grass flying off the boot of a nearby player. But the more I studied this picture the more it became apparent that it wasn't simply a bit of grass.

This next picture shows my theory as to what that mystery object is.

vg7ccj.jpg

That's right. I've identified the mystery object as a Soviet MIG-17, manufactured circa 1952, and being heavily utilised against American aircraft in the skies over Vietnam when they were having the popular Vietnam War that they made films about.

Now, given the object is in focus (mostly) and Mackie is also in focus (unmongtunately) I'd estimate that they're really close together, rather than Mackie simply being half a mile closer to the camera. The unfocused crowd, by which I mean they're not in focus rather than just not paying attention, the unfocused crowd can't be more than 50 yards away, and this gives us a second solid basis to assume Mackie and the MIG-17 are really close together.

So I've got three theories in total regarding the original photograph.

Theory 1. It's a piece of grass, common enough in a sport played on a grass surface.

Theory 2. There's a tiny, tiny, MIG-17 flying around Pittodrie, and it was getting close-up recon pictures of Mackie.