The Mckenna Dilemma

9 minutes ago, Betty Swallicks said:

I wonder is ther is a "Cormack factor" in him becoming our record sale and first for decent dough (Hayes aside) for some considerable time?

We seemed to lose a hoor of a lot of decent/good players for fuck all or next to fuck all under Milne.

You've got to back your youngsters and get them on long contracts. That way you'll have a good chance of a decent fee if they do well. 

Difference before was we had all our youngsters on short contracts. 

3 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

You've got to back your youngsters and get them on long contracts. That way you'll have a good chance of a decent fee if they do well. 

Difference before was we had all our youngsters on short contracts. 

True. Also need them to actually be half decent.

I know he didnt help himself at times but the way Aberdeen handled Ryan Fraser was absolutely horrific. In the team playing incredibly well every week and we went and offered him less money than the cunt selling programmes 

2 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

True. Also need them to actually be half decent.

I know he didnt help himself at times but the way Aberdeen handled Ryan Fraser was absolutely horrific. In the team playing incredibly well every week and we went and offered him less money than the cunt selling programmes 

Aye different times. 

You'd like to think that nowadays Fraser would have been identified earlier as someone likely to go far and been offered a lengthy deal commensurate with his talent. 

Though to be fair to the club it was less affordable to do this until the Donalds helped clear the debts.  After that we seemed to be in a better position to give the good youngsters longer contracts. 

If he doesn’t do what Fraser done!

he certainly couldn’t give 2 fucks about the sell on fee or the fact he’s from Aberdeen and should have payed forward but alas only considered himself the selfish arsehole,can see McKenna doing the same to be honest

hope he doesn’t 

good luck with his career 

Hope we don’t struggle defensively as our defenders that are left are fucking chronic

hernandez- unused ghost

logan-Plummer now

we have no left back-so ghost

considine-wonderful servant-old and limited

taylor-utter pish

hoban-great player legs like rizla papers

mcCrorie-wasted there

hayes-not a left back

devlin-may as well be dead

1 minute ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Good luck to Scott McKenna.

The template of what we should be doing as a club.

Bring through our own, get the benefit of them for 2-3 years & sell on for millions, with the potential of millions more.

And to think there was one clueless poster who didn’t think we’d get a million quid. 

Aye.  Bring them through, sell them on and reinvest a proportion of the money in the next batch as well as the best young talents from the other clubs in Scotland. Get in before other clubs like we did with McLean and Ferguson. 

1 minute ago, Dons79 said:

If he doesn’t do what Fraser done!

he certainly couldn’t give 2 fucks about the sell on fee or the fact he’s from Aberdeen and should have payed forward but alas only considered himself the selfish arsehole,can see McKenna doing the same to be honest

Nothing we can do about that. No decent bids came in for Ryan Fraser while at Bournemouth, thats not really his fault. 

Hopefully McKenna does well and remains tied down to decent contracts lengths 

6 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Aye.  Bring them through, sell them on and reinvest a proportion of the money in the next batch as well as the best young talents from the other clubs in Scotland. Get in before other clubs like we did with McLean and Ferguson. 

Yep exactly what we should be doing and starting with Kilmarnocks Findlay and hopefully Motherwells  Campbell as long as he doesn’t sign the new deal put out to him just now.

13 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Good luck to Scott McKenna.

The template of what we should be doing as a club.

Bring through our own, get the benefit of them for 2-3 years & sell on for millions, with the potential of millions more.

And to think there was one clueless poster who didn’t think we’d get a million quid. 

Can we do it without the 0-3 cup humping by Motherwell forcing his first team entry?

7 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Nothing we can do about that. No decent bids came in for Ryan Fraser while at Bournemouth, thats not really his fault. 

Infuriating that was!,Arsenal skirting about 25 million offers but just didn’t happen?,

problem is that Fraser was joint top assisted 2 years ago along with hazard in the EPL which should have put him in a glorious position to get bought but not a sausage? Why?

4 minutes ago, Durrant Dived said:

Campbell absolutely bossed the midfield on Sunday. Would be a great signing even if we are CM heavy.

Campbell in, Ojo out is a no brainer if a deal can be done. 

I suspect there will be some decent clubs looking at him now though.  We might be 12 months too late in getting this lad before he came on the radar of others with deeper pockets. 

10 minutes ago, strachanmcgheegoal said:

Can we do it without the 0-3 cup humping by Motherwell forcing his first team entry?

Yeah, probably not. Had he even made the bench that season, prior to the Motherwell league game?

You just wonder how many young players have slipped through our net, due to the lack of trust shown in them by the manager and therefore the lack of 1st games. Danny Harvie,  the lad Robertson now playing in England, to name 2.

3 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Campbell in, Ojo out is a no brainer if a deal can be done. 

I suspect there will be some decent clubs looking at him now though.  We might be 12 months too late in getting this lad before he came on the radar of others with deeper pockets. 

Aye the current buns are discussing him on their forum too. He wouldn't play every week at the OF though.

1 minute ago, sooth_stander said:

Yeah, probably not. Had he even made the bench that season, prior to the Motherwell league game?

You just wonder how many young players have slipped through our net, due to the lack of trust in them shown by the manager and therefore the lack of 1st games. Danny Harvey, the lad Robertson now playing in England

Robertson played plenty at left back for us and was generally shite. He's made more of a name for himself down South playing CB now.

20 minutes ago, sooth_stander said:

You just wonder how many young players have slipped through our net, due to the lack of trust shown in them by the manager and therefore the lack of 1st games. Danny Harvie,  the lad Robertson now playing in England, to name 2.

Clark Robertson was shite for us. As was Shankland. 

55 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Bollocks it wasn’t his fault.

He’s a little snake & he fkd them over just as he did us by refusing to sign new deal with a view to club getting a fee for him. 
Greedy wee cunt was only interested in himself & the bigger signing on fee him & his dad would secure each time.

Cretinous little snake of the highest/lowest order

What’s the average price Forest have sold players for over past few years?

guess it’s a little optimistic to hope the final figure we receive would be £10m as that would mean all ad ons met + at least a £20m transfer. Even with the ridiculous fees down there it’s a bit unrealistic to expect that. Maybe £10m (£2m to us) to take it to £8m total is more realistic 

then again, would Forest want to sell him for just £2m profit?

57 minutes ago, Dons79 said:

Infuriating that was!,Arsenal skirting about 25 million offers but just didn’t happen?,

problem is that Fraser was joint top assisted 2 years ago along with hazard in the EPL which should have put him in a glorious position to get bought but not a sausage? Why?

Bournemouth did receive bids for him summer 2019. However they were a bit greedy and thought they could get in  more than was offered (c £15million), Eddie Howe said they'd rather keep him for the final year of his contract and have him help maintain their EPL status (that didn't age well) than lose him for a price they felt was too low.

Possibly a reason why Fraser then felt no compunction to either sign a new, long term contract. Nor sign a short term one and play in the extended EPL season in late summer. 

He's still a cunt though.

36 minutes ago, Millertime said:

He would be a statement signing probably above the Severin one years ago

Not a chance in hell we could get him from them, that would completely cancel out their Main joke

also the McGhee & Brown ones come to that.

We really need to get them back but it won’t be via Campbell that’s for sure

16 minutes ago, fine-n-dandy said:

What’s the average price Forest have sold players for over past few years?

guess it’s a little optimistic to hope the final figure we receive would be £10m as that would mean all ad ons met + at least a £20m transfer. Even with the ridiculous fees down there it’s a bit unrealistic to expect that. Maybe £10m (£2m to us) to take it to £8m total is more realistic 

then again, would Forest want to sell him for just £2m profit?

On transfermarkt website, it says that they sold a right back Matty Cash to Villa for £14m this summer,  a RB and a midfielder for £8m and £3.5m last season and a CF for over £15m a few seasons ago.

They also sold Burke to Red Bull for £15m a while back, they seem to be a bit better at getting decent fees than us.