Coronavirus

Henry

2 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

A film with one of the best signature tunes to play out the credits to a film ever. Layla (extended version) from the 3rd minute onwards is sublime. 

Wrong. 

14 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

The wife spent all day yesterday at the Grammar school giving flu vaccinations to the elderly. She said it was tragic how fearful most of them are. Many have barely left the house since March. One refused to sit on the seat in case she got contaminated. As Hancock boasts about throwing his arms around the vulnerable, the inept management of the pandemic has numerous consequences and side effects. The quality of life for most has been compromised. Those in their final years are having their time on this earth reduced to no social contact and living in constant fear. Not to mention everyone who the NHS have been too busy to see and who have since died or got ill, fobbed off by the phone helplines whilst the hospitals and surgeries remain empty. Great job politicians. 

Getting a dental appointment is nigh on impossible as well, I had a filling fall out and have been told unless I'm in severe pain I'll have to wait, have had to buy a temporary filling kit as it's started to nip a bit. No big deal for me but multiply that by the amount of people who will be needing treatment and can't get it. Compared to hospital and doctor issues probably tiny in comparison but something has to give, life can't be put on hold till they find the magical vaccine, it could take years. 

34 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Gone are the old days when you could sit in the dental reception , the busty receptionist would pour you a pint andyou could wait your turn smoking a ciggie and admiring the Bristols in The Sun. 

Dentist and doctors receptionists must do obnoxious training before they get the job, they're all the same. Parkie would love it as a job, be a natural.

38 minutes ago, daytripping said:

Dentist and doctors receptionists must do obnoxious training before they get the job, they're all the same. Parkie would love it as a job, be a natural.

Random name-checks/insults in posts nothing to do with me. Do you think it's strange that you have a stranger living rent free in your tiny brain? 

2 hours ago, rocket_scientist said:

The wife spent all day yesterday at the Grammar school giving flu vaccinations to the elderly. She said it was tragic how fearful most of them are. Many have barely left the house since March. One refused to sit on the seat in case she got contaminated. As Hancock boasts about throwing his arms around the vulnerable, the inept management of the pandemic has numerous consequences and side effects. The quality of life for most has been compromised. Those in their final years are having their time on this earth reduced to no social contact and living in constant fear. Not to mention everyone who the NHS have been too busy to see and who have since died or got ill, fobbed off by the phone helplines whilst the hospitals and surgeries remain empty. Great job politicians. 

Beautifully summed up RS

1 hour ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Im convinced that when you check out of a hotel the staff click on your room number and have a detailed dossier of everything you’ve been up to in that room .

always a wee smile as they look at the screen then wish you a good day . 

Yes happens to me all the time, nae real recollection of hIw you got home and they are having a snigger because you were clearly making a cock if yourself in some way.

2 hours ago, rocket_scientist said:

Absolutely frustrating. And a generation will lose out on experiencing pub culture. Going out on your own, standing speaking to strangers/ locals at the bar, the jukebox etc. There's a lot to be learned in these interactions, socially. You learn to communicate with people of all ages, all walks of life. It's a skill to have and develop, being able to conduct yourself in a bar

its history now. Now people would rather jump into traffic than walk past you on the pavement when not wearing a mask outside 

which is similar to wearing a condom in bed alone. Completely pointless 

6 hours ago, Poodler said:

Absolutely frustrating. And a generation will lose out on experiencing pub culture. Going out on your own, standing speaking to strangers/ locals at the bar, the jukebox etc. There's a lot to be learned in these interactions, socially. You learn to communicate with people of all ages, all walks of life. It's a skill to have and develop, being able to conduct yourself in a bar

its history now. Now people would rather jump into traffic than walk past you on the pavement when not wearing a mask outside 

which is similar to wearing a condom in bed alone. Completely pointless 

I think the younger generation have already missed out or turned away from that pub culture. 

Too busy sitting in the house with pre-drinks, pouring themselves into tight outfits, drinking alcohols and fighting for the mirror - and that's just the boys. 

Totally missing the opportunity to sit and get a blether with the older boys that have been in the boozer for years. Used to be great going into the boozer waiting on mates but you knew a few of the older boys and stand and have a pint with them.  

Just now, maryhilldon said:

Probably just can't afford it.  Traditional pubs replaced by expensive hipster joints charging over the odds. 

It's a fad. There'll be a proper boozer renaissance after the shamdemic.