Coronavirus

Henry

1 minute ago, daytripping said:

Tell them to think outside the box, the amount of new dog walking businesses on my facer page suggests the Country is going to need a lot more dogs and people working who can't walk them for it to work.

Prostitution will never get old, good money. There's a market between whores down the harbour and the £150 quid an hour "escorts". Really surprised no one has filled the hole, affordable mid market shag, like a Just Eat ride. The escorts are just junkies, full all high class about a seaton mink.

I've always been disappointed that no tidy students in St Andrews go on the game. You'd think one or two of them would give it a go but fucking no chance. 

Sturgeon and her team are responsible for over 3,000 covid deaths(or over 5,000 if you take the higher figure)

These are shocking figures for a country of our size.

In fact it's one of the worst records in the world compared to other countries round about the 5 million Population.

How people can say she is doing a good job beats me.

Even keeping The Central belt open has cost lives down there.

12 minutes ago, manboobs109 said:

I've always been disappointed that no tidy students in St Andrews go on the game. You'd think one or two of them would give it a go but fucking no chance. 

Was once coming back from an away game and got chatting to the snobbiest bird I've ever met (heading to St Andrews but proper posh Suffolk accent), she was hilarious, no seats sitting on the floor, helped us scoof the beer. She gave the most posh line in a conversation I've ever heard....I'm sooo tired and my thighs are so chafed from playing polo all weekend. Got ripped to fuck for claiming she was just a normal girl. You had to be there but she was the best laugh ever,  I had her number for years and we texted for a wee while before I realised my chance of getting in her skants were zero. Love posh girls.

19 minutes ago, Ke1t said:

So then if people are going to just do what they want there's no point complaining about what the government says to do, because people undermining those orders will continue the spread and we've no idea if those orders would have worked or not. 

You can't just disregard human nature. Young folk in their teens and 20s aren't going to just sit at home by themselves for weeks/months on end with no timescale or end in sight. They want to get laid and have a laugh. There's only so much you can ask of people before they think  'nah, fuck this'.  Especially when they're not even the ones that get ill. 

3 minutes ago, daytripping said:

Was once coming back from an away game and got chatting to the snobbiest bird I've ever met, she was hilarious, no seas sitting on the floor, helped us scoof the beer. She gave the most posh line in a conversation I've ever heard....I'm sooo tired and my thighs are so chafed from playing polo all weekend. Got ripped to fuck for claiming she was just a normal girl. You had to be there but she was the best laugh ever,  I had her number for years and we texted for a wee while before I realised my chance of getting in her skants were zero. Love posh girls.

Some posh girls like a bit of scruff

5 minutes ago, maryhilldon said:

You can't just disregard human nature. Young folk in their teens and 20s aren't going to just sit at home by themselves for weeks/months on end with no timescale or end in sight. They want to get laid and have a laugh. There's only so much you can ask of people before they think  'nah, fuck this'.  Especially when they're not even the ones that get ill. 

Agree with every word of this.

Yet Sturgeon stands up there and thanks them for doing the right thing.

Same as the visiting other households on the islands.

Does she really think she is being obeyed.

6 minutes ago, manboobs109 said:

Even old cunts are sick of it. Fuck only having a few years left and spending one of them sitting in your house not seeing family, friends and slowly rotting away. 

Seen a news report last, speaking to some old dears in a park and they were sick of it.  Said they didn't know anyone that had been ill with it and they were happy to take their chances and how shit it all was for younger folk. 

40 minutes ago, manboobs109 said:

You are correct. They fucked up in March/April when most people were listening to their pish. If they'd been semi competent and got their shit sorted the latest pish would've been avoided. 

Government response has, for the most part, been ineffectual if not outright incompetent. 

Boris and Donald weren't the right people at the right time, let's just say that. 

25 minutes ago, maryhilldon said:

But we do this all the time. 

Human nature is to batter the brains out of someone who steals your VHS Recorder or your Palm Pilot, but instead we phone the cops and let them deal with it. 

Human nature is towards self preservation, but we overcome that and we DO go and help the auld lad out of the bath or rescue those cats from the flood... despite all personal risk. 

Human nature is to shag someone we find attractive, right there on the pavement outside the post office, but we don't. Most of the time. We ask her if she likes fitba, or if she wants to go get Chinese food first. 

It's lazy to say 'human nature'. We're not dogs. We have the capacity to put off short term satisfaction for long term gain. 

Rather than human nature I think we should say it's basic selfishness. 

8 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

And yet of the tens of thousands of old folk in Aberdeen and shire who have been getting their flu jabs (from people including my wife) contain a huge proportion who are shit scared of getting infected by Covid. A news bulletin or our own personal experiences aren't the whole story. Even my wife who has met and dealt with over a thousand old people in medical health matters in the last month and a bit isn't a proper source. The data is all. None of us know what the majority of old folks feel. That research hasn't been done. 

My mother is 80, thinks it's a load of bollocks, from being active in coffee groups, her giving old folk a tea or coffee and baking cakes for them to doing the same for the church in Bucksburn and going to her rural nights she's been a prisoner in her house since March. She would rather live her life and take her chances, imagine most feel the seem. You're a long time dead.

3 minutes ago, Ke1t said:

But we do this all the time. 

Human nature is to batter the brains out of someone who steals your VHS Recorder or your Palm Pilot, but instead we phone the cops and let them deal with it. 

Human nature is towards self preservation, but we overcome that and we DO go and help the auld lad out of the bath or rescue those cats from the flood... despite all personal risk. 

Human nature is to shag someone we find attractive, right there on the pavement outside the post office, but we don't. Most of the time. We ask her if she likes fitba, or if she wants to go get Chinese food first. 

It's lazy to say 'human nature'. We're not dogs. We have the capacity to put off short term satisfaction for long term gain. 

Rather than human nature I think we should say it's basic selfishness. 

The problem is we are making perfectly normal human behaviour criminal. Visiting your mum, meeting a mate, letting your kids play, all the while we are perfectly healthy, it's farcical. 

2 minutes ago, manboobs109 said:

The problem is we are making perfectly normal human behaviour criminal. Visiting your mum, meeting a mate, letting your kids play, all the while we are perfectly healthy, it's farcical. 

There's the thing, an incubation period of two weeks, coupled with asymptomatic carriers, or people who show very little symptoms, means that we've no idea if we are perfectly healthy. 

In abnormal times normal behavior needs to be modified. 

10 minutes ago, Ke1t said:

Government response has, for the most part, been ineffectual if not outright incompetent. 

Boris and Donald weren't the right people at the right time, let's just say that. 

The old boy biden probably doesn't even know what's going on, don't go down that route. The SNP have been an utter shambles, turned it political at the drop of a hat. It should have been something that was planned for, expert committee to take all decisions over it. Leaving it in the hands of people who would never have made it big in the real World is something we'll look back and laugh at. Solicitor who scraped through her exams or the Countries best scientists, economists and business people leading this?? it's utterly bizarre how we follow like sheep. Our head of finance is a 28 year old girl who has never had a real job. Imagine she walked into the likes of BP saying she was qualified to take the top finance job. :)

1 minute ago, Ke1t said:

There's the thing, an incubation period of two weeks, coupled with asymptomatic carriers, or people who show very little symptoms, means that we've no idea if we are perfectly healthy. 

That will only last for so long Kelt. Do we go on like this for 1 year? 2 years? Forever? 

4 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

What you or I imagine doesn't represent the reality. I admire your old dear's attitude and I would expect any relation of mine to be the same, given a basic assessment of the situation, the Lombardy catastrophe in February and March never getting close to happening here.

All I'm pointing out is that the two posters before you who were saying that old folk aren't scared don't have the right to speak on their behalf and further, are being rather ignorant to even try to, based on a sample size of a handful or based on what they saw on the "news".

I think that was fake news, we've seen nothing like that. We never saw people collapsing in the streets either  like the early Chinese reports. Why were we fed this stuff, I  didn't believe fake news till this happened. Have we seen patients lying head down in the UK?

Just now, daytripping said:

The old boy biden probably doesn't even know what's going on, don't go down that route. The SNP have been an utter shambles, turned it political at the drop of a hat. It should have been something that was planned for, expert committee to take all decisions over it. Leaving it in the hands of people who would never have made it big in the real World is something we'll look back and laugh at. Solicitor who scraped through her exams or the Countries best scientists, economists and business people leading this?? it's utterly bizarre how we follow like sheep. Our head of finance is a 28 year old girl who has never had a real job. Imagine she walked into the likes of BP saying she was qualified to take the top finance job. :)

Biden's in his 70s and has a speech impediment. I'd say he's doing pretty well for himself, and if I have his faculties into my 70s then I'll consider myself more fortunate than I deserve. 

Don't let his diction fool you into thinking he's not a smart, sharp kiddie. 

Scientists should have been in charge of this from the beginning, though. 

But who did Trump make head of the Coronavirus initiative? Mike fucking Pence. 

Mike Pence was in charge of exactly ONE previous viral outbreak. An HIV outbreak. 

It's not even that easy to catch HIV, but Pence's handling saw that outbreak spiral out of control. 

So Trump puts him in charge of Coronavirus, a virus a thousand times more contagious than HIV, and now we have 1 in 4 global deaths in the US. 

3 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

All I'm pointing out is that the two posters before you who were saying that old folk aren't scared don't have the right to speak on their behalf and further, are being rather ignorant to even try to

Firstly,  I wasn't speaking on anyones behalf,  it was their own words. Secondly,  I never suggested they spoke for all old folk.  

3 minutes ago, manboobs109 said:

That will only last for so long Kelt. Do we go on like this for 1 year? 2 years? Forever? 

The initial vaccine will be out in April or maybe earlier. 

After that there's no reason for any shutdowns or bans on gatherings, because that'll be it. The goal was a vaccine, and there it is. 

There'll still be a number of deaths, but at a 90% reduced rate. We need to accept that and go back to the pubs. 

7 minutes ago, Ke1t said:

Your comments tonight are coming across as an American speaking, we're a small city that has it under control. You forgetting this is an Aberdeen forum?

3 minutes ago, Ke1t said:

Biden's in his 70s and has a speech impediment. I'd say he's doing pretty well for himself, and if I have his faculties into my 70s then I'll consider myself more fortunate than I deserve. 

Don't let his diction fool you into thinking he's not a smart, sharp kiddie. 

Scientists should have been in charge of this from the beginning, though. 

But who did Trump make head of the Coronavirus initiative? Mike fucking Pence. 

Mike Pence was in charge of exactly ONE previous viral outbreak. An HIV outbreak. 

It's not even that easy to catch HIV, but Pence's handling saw that outbreak spiral out of control. 

So Trump puts him in charge of Coronavirus, a virus a thousand times more contagious than HIV, and now we have 1 in 4 global deaths in the US. 

It's a big social place with a lot of old people. Have you actually met anyone who has had it or died from it? I've not.

1 minute ago, daytripping said:

Your comments tonight are coming across as an American speaking, we're a small city that has it under control. You forgetting this is an Aberdeen forum?

I'm almost certain that the virus is transmitted the same way by Aberdonians as it is by Americans. 

I would further hazard that the symptoms are pretty similar too. 

2 minutes ago, Ke1t said:

The initial vaccine will be out in April or maybe earlier. 

After that there's no reason for any shutdowns or bans on gatherings, because that'll be it. The goal was a vaccine, and there it is. 

There'll still be a number of deaths, but at a 90% reduced rate. We need to accept that and go back to the pubs. 

So instead of the projected 4000 deaths a day in the UK we'll accept 400? I just can't see it. 

3 minutes ago, daytripping said:

It's a big social place with a lot of old people. Have you actually met anyone who has had it or died from it? I've not.

The wife's best friend's mother died from it in August, and I know two others who've had it, one of whom is suffering long term heart damage from it. 

I've mentioned this before but there must be hundreds of thousands of asymptomatic cancer sufferers in the UK. If money is no object to save lives why aren't we giving blood tests, liver function, kidney function, MRI tests, brain scans, examining every mole, freckle on everyone in the country? Imagine the lives saved if we caught all those cases early. 

9 minutes ago, daytripping said:

That's the trouble ,most of these msp's and mp's would never hold down a job in private industry.

I had reason to contact Kirsty Blackman about something and looked up her previous work experience.

She did'nt have one,she has been a political lacky since she was 16.

If you ever watch FMs questions from Hollywood the standard of msp's is abysmal.Snp,Tories,Liberals!Labour and the worst of all the greens all useless.

5 minutes ago, manboobs109 said:

So instead of the projected 4000 deaths a day in the UK we'll accept 400? I just can't see it. 

Well, to be fair, you didn't see coronavirus lasting past April iirc. 

I recall you calling me a drama queen when I initially broke the news and said, "There's a virus in China and we could be in for shenanigans", in fact. 

I'm tugging your nuts, chum... ?

To be honest, yes we will accept 400 deaths,  assuming it's that many... I suspect it'll decline significantly below that figure though. 

The virus isn't going away, we have to get back to 'normality' and with a vaccine, well... what else is there to do?