Coronavirus

Henry

10 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

Evidence shows it's spreading badly on schools. Nonsense to have them open. 

The real issue is parents are now having to look after their kids all the time, and canna deal with it. Hence the rush to get schools back. 

You got kids Consi? 

Kids need school, they need socialisation, they need proper teaching. Keeping a 7 year old boy full of beans cooped up in the house is a fucking disaster. 

At one point you weren't even able to use playparks and I'm 100% convinced that did nothing to slow the spread. 

Just now, For Fecks Sake said:

I agree with the first part but nae the second part?

Do you have kids who you had to home school earlier in the year? If you did, like our household while working full time, then you will remember how fucking abysmal it was and demoralising for the kids?

Why would I bring more troubled souls into this divine comedy of anguish and suffering? 

Fuck that. 

I get your point, but schools are accounting for the huge surges in infection, they 100% shouldn't be open. Feel bad for the kids if they feel demoralised, but if it were me, I'd have been fucking buzzing to get off school. 

Your employer should understand your situation, and furlough you when necessary. 

1 minute ago, For Fecks Sake said:

I agree with the first part but nae the second part?

Do you have kids who you had to home school earlier in the year? If you did, like our household while working full time, then you will remember how fucking abysmal it was and demoralising for the kids?

You speak too much sense min. 

I made sure we were financially in good place before having kids. Don't think it's too much to ask to make sure they are looked after once they reach school age to allow the wife and myself  after years of paying wild fees (still do tbf) for care to get back to our careers properly? A pretty sensible approach to things no? 

Working shifts to make the hours up is nae good for anyone either. 

And aye, it had a massive effect on my eldest not being with her pals daily back in the shit days of March-August 

Just now, manboobs109 said:

You got kids Consi? 

Kids need school, they need socialisation, they need proper teaching. Keeping a 7 year old boy full of beans cooped up in the house is a fucking disaster. 

At one point you weren't even able to use playparks and I'm 100% convinced that did nothing to slow the spread. 

I can imagine it's difficult to keep a young boy occupied etc etc. 

Ultimately though, you're a parent and it's your responsibility. The reason they are at home is because of the pandemic. I get that it's difficult, but it's difficult for everyone. If it's not safe for the schools to be open (and judging by the infection rates it isn't) then keep them shut. It's absolutely brutal for the kids, but it's about safety, not how difficult it can be to be a parent. 

2 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

Why would I bring more troubled souls into this divine comedy of anguish and suffering? 

Fuck that. 

I get your point, but schools are accounting for the huge surges in infection, they 100% shouldn't be open. Feel bad for the kids if they feel demoralised, but if it were me, I'd have been fucking buzzing to get off school. 

Your employer should understand your situation, and furlough you when necessary. 

You're entering dangerous territory that you know nothing about. 

Your statement 

'feel bad for the kids that feel demoralised' 

Proves this without any shadow of a doubt. 

1 minute ago, Zeus said:

You speak too much sense min. 

I made sure we were financially in good place before having kids. Don't think it's too much to ask to make sure they are looked after once they reach school age to allow the wife and myself  after years of paying wild fees (still do tbf) for care to get back to our careers properly? A pretty sensible approach to things no? 

Working shifts to make the hours up is nae good for anyone either. 

And aye, it had a massive effect on my eldest not being with her pals daily back in the shit days of March-August 

All of what you said is fair but we're in the middle of a pandemic, a lot of people are having their lives put on pause. 

At the end of the day the children are your responsibility and yours alone, teachers shouldn't be forced to go back to a workplace and risk infection because you think that's what's owed. 

I do empathise with those who have kids, I can imagine it being very difficult, hence why I don't think I'll have. The schools are there to educate them in a safe environment, not provide a babysitting service that works around your work schedule. Especially during a global pandemic.  

2 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

You're entering dangerous territory that you know nothing about. 

Your statement 

'feel bad for the kids that feel demoralised' 

Proves this without any shadow of a doubt. 

If you're discussing the mental health of children, and how fragile it can be, I don't doubt it's a precarious situation. 

That's a fear I have for the general population throughout this, children included. 

The government have yet to provide any package/relief for such issues. Which I think is a disgrace. If kids can't go socialise/be with friends at school, surely there could be ways they could still see their pals without it being dangerous? 

3 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

If you're discussing the mental health of children, and how fragile it can be, I don't doubt it's a precarious situation. 

That's a fear I have for the general population throughout this, children included. 

The government have yet to provide any package/relief for such issues. Which I think is a disgrace. If kids can't go socialise/be with friends at school, surely there could be ways they could still see their pals without it being dangerous? 

Beyond all that, this is a temporary situation, hopefully. I'd be amazed if a few months of school with home teaching has had a major impact on their development. 

1 minute ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

It should be okay for kids to go ride their bikes... with masks. Or play fitba in a small group... with masks.

There's also zoom and skype, or online games if they're physically incapable of wearing a mask or otherwise unable to go out. 

They've all got phones or computers or consoles... it's not like we're living in Victorian times where a kid hasn't got multiple means by which to socialize. 

Just now, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

@NEM didn't know you were an epidemiologist min. A man of many talents! 

I don't think you need to be an expert in disease to see the reaction has been ridiculously over the top for one with a 99.97% survival rate and an average age of death 3 years higher than the average life expectancy.

Just now, Ke1t said:

It should be okay for kids to go ride their bikes... with masks. Or play fitba in a small group... with masks.

There's also zoom and skype, or online games if they're physically incapable of wearing a mask or otherwise unable to go out. 

They've all got phones or computers or consoles... it's not like we're living in Victorian times where a kid hasn't got multiple means by which to socialize. 

Aye. They should be allowed to do outdoor activities for sure. Give them a wee hand sanitiser and oot the door. 

There's ways around these things, and it's not a permanent situation, hopefully! 

2 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

You've missed the point. 

The mental health (and education) of young children is a complex situation with many variables depending on the age and capabilities of the children involved. 

Much of which is centred around routine and social stability, including regular interaction with children their own age. 

What 'package' or alternative 'way of seeing their pals' do you suggest? 

Beyond all that, this is a temporary situation, hopefully. I'd be amazed if a few months of school with home teaching has had a major impact on their development. 

Temporary like the 3 week lockdown in March that we're still in?

Just now, NEM said:

I don't think you need to be an expert in disease to see the reaction has been ridiculously over the top for one with a 99.97% survival rate and an average age of death 3 years higher than the average life expectancy.

And if the illness was left to run ravage on the population, do you think these statistics would've been considerably higher? 

The reason the survival rate is so high, and it's killing the elderly generally, is partly because of the measures taken.

Just now, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

And if the illness was left to run ravage on the population, do you think these statistics would've been considerably higher? 

The reason the survival rate is so high, and it's killing the elderly generally, is partly because of the measures taken.

I wouldn't have thought the lockdown measures make the slightest bit of difference to survival rates or the age of those affected.

8 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

You've missed the point. 

The mental health (and education) of young children is a complex situation with many variables depending on the age and capabilities of the children involved. 

Much of which is centred around routine and social stability, including regular interaction with children their own age. 

What 'package' or alternative 'way of seeing their pals' do you suggest? 

Counselling, free services that can be easily accessed through the NHS. Literally anything would be better than nothing. 

Yes yes, kids need routine. They've had a few months without it. It's a pandemic, what are you meant to do? They should be allowed out to play with their mates etc, as Kelt said, there is zoom etc etc. PS4, Xbox, FaceTime. They don't have to not socialise. 

It's an unstable time right now, for everyone, unfortunately that's going to impact children too. It's the job of the parents to try see them through this. 

Edit; 

They could maybe even provide parents with professional advice on how to take care of their kids mentally, how to check in on them in a careful manner that doesn't invoke a reaction. 

1 minute ago, Fridge said:

But how many future doctors, engineers, lawyers are going to be fucked over nythis because parents are not trained in teaching education.

It’s a no win situation and health has to come first but the repercussions will be massive for years to come.

I would take this point if it was a 10 year pandemic, so far it's been 9 months. 

The beauty of kids is that their brains are like sponges, a few months without school and home schooling isn't going to change much. 

It is a shite one, I do agree. My concern would be higher should the situation continue any longer than a year. Which it might yet do. 

Just now, Fridge said:

But how many future doctors, engineers, lawyers are going to be fucked over nythis because parents are not trained in teaching education.

It’s a no win situation and health has to come first but the repercussions will be massive for years to come.

Probably none?

The parents, from my experience, aren't teaching the kids. 

My own sits at his computer and attends virtual classes, with the same teachers, and the curriculum remains pretty much as it was. 

The only help we're giving him is the same we normally would when he needs help understanding something when he's doing homework later. 

3 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

Counselling, free services that can be easily accessed through the NHS. Literally anything would be better than nothing. 

Yes yes, kids need routine. They've had a few months without it. It's a pandemic, what are you meant to do? They should be allowed out to play with their mates etc, as Kelt said, there is zoom etc etc. PS4, Xbox, FaceTime. They don't have to not socialise. 

It's an unstable time right now, for everyone, unfortunately that's going to impact children too. It's the job of the parents to try see them through this. 

Embarrassing. I'm done. You crack on

2 minutes ago, Ke1t said:

Probably none?

The parents, from my experience, aren't teaching the kids. 

My own sits at his computer and attends virtual classes, with the same teachers, and the curriculum remains pretty much as it was. 

The only help we're giving him is the same we normally would when he needs help understanding something when he's doing homework later. 

How old is your boy Kelt out of interest if you don't mind me asking? 

8 minutes ago, NEM said:

I wouldn't have thought the lockdown measures make the slightest bit of difference to survival rates or the age of those affected.

Aye. 

Just ignore all the science that suggests it has.