Coronavirus

Henry

2 hours ago, maryhilldon said:

It's been said before,  but if television and the Internet didn't exist,  nobody would know this virus even existed.  1 or 2 people you know might have taken a few days off work with a 'bug',  and you might have heard of someones 85 year old granny passing away,  but nothing out of the ordinary. 

Aye cos it's completely normal for intensive care units to be busting at the seams with people struggling for breath isn't it?

29 minutes ago, maryhilldon said:

Because they didn't get ill,  and neither has anyone they know?  Strange statement. 

Not as strange as your initial statement of if it wasn’t for the media no one would know this virus existed.

If it wasnt for the media, half the protective measures that have been put in place also wouldn’t have existed and the deaths and cases would be ten fold by now.

Just now, Reed or deed said:

I’m not even going to answer that min.

Do you not watch the news and see reports from Italy, France, Spain etc?

"The news" ?

What have France and Italy got to do with it?  

When were UK hospitals "bursting at the seams" because of Covid19?

18 minutes ago, Ohjimmyjimmy said:

COVID deniers laying it on thick with the “COVID is no worse than the flu” pish tonight,

Flu is more serious than covid, do some basic research min. Flu will keep a young healthy person in bed for a few days, covid doesn't. To those under 80 with no pre existing conditions it's virtually harmless. Look at the hospital admissions and ICU admissions for any proof you need. 

4 minutes ago, daytripping said:

Flu is more serious than covid, do some basic research min. Flu will keep a young healthy person in bed for a few days, covid doesn't. To those under 80 with no pre existing conditions it's virtually harmless. Look at the hospital admissions and ICU admissions for any proof you need. 

Sweeping statement of the month there min.

So, if there hadn’t been a lockdown and all sorts of other lengths gone to in order to minimise transmission of Covid-19.

What do you think the statistics for it would be in relation to the flu?

Just now, rocket_scientist said:

If medicine, virology, epidemiology and public health specialists can't say that, I highly doubt that you can. 

I think you'll find they do and can. Do you ever wonder why 3rd World countries are not getting hammered with it? Lack of old people and fatties.

Old people can get a vaccine for flu, they can't for covid. That's why we're seeing deaths, not because it's especially deadly. 

Debating with the cult is a waste of time, none so blind as those who will not see.

Not one person justified the Leitch quote from last night....Local lockdowns are impossible as people travel. It was an utterly bizarre thing to say, we put our trust in this guy. Him and nippy locked Aberdeen down without batting an eye yet refused to do the same for Glasgow, that's political, that he forgot he locked us down is shameful.

Leave you cult members to it, fucking shambles, if they'd locked down Glasgow we wouldn't all be suffering now.

4 minutes ago, Reed or deed said:

Sweeping statement of the month there min.

So, if there hadn’t been a lockdown and all sorts of other lengths gone to in order to minimise transmission of Covid-19.

What do you think the statistics for it would be in relation to the flu?

Emptying ill old people with the virus into care homes caused most deaths in Scotland, average age 82. Nic has blood on her hands.

• Downvote 3

More serious in what way? There’s no doubt that if you are over say 65, then you don’t want to be getting either flu or COVID but I’d probably take my chances with flu.

Some basic research leads me to understand:

- COVID 19 is more infectious than the flu, with an R number around twice that of flu

- you are 10 times more likely to be hospitalised from COVID-19 than flu

- the case fatality rate for flu is less than 0.1%, for COVID-19 it’s between 1-4%

- the long term health effects of flu are generally well known and understood, COVID-19 less so

- influenza strains generally have a vaccine each year, COVID-19 does not

Thats my basic research done - I’m still not considering flu a more serious international health issue than COVID-19. That’s not to say flu is not a major concern - of course it is, that’s why countries regularly vaccinate the vulnerable population.

15 minutes ago, daytripping said:

Emptying ill old people with the virus into care homes caused most deaths in Scotland, average age 82. Nic has blood on her hands.

That wasn’t the question that was asked.

And care homes were always likely to be at serious threat due to the comings and goings of staff.

There are highlighted cases of how poorly care home residents are cared for by staff at the best of times. They will be by no means blameless in the scheme of things.

Your complacent dismissive attitude of everything Covid is surprising. Its almost like you just want to be contrary of the establishment rather than anything else.

I also find it interesting the way that folk continue to draw comparisons with stats of the flu. Covid stats are exceeding the flu in almost every aspect, despite the drastic measures that have been taken all over the world to try to minimise transmission.

All the people with this seemingly selfish, complacent, ignorant attitude towards Covid are a major part of the problem for me.

• Upvote 9
1 hour ago, rocket_scientist said:
The Guardian
original.jpg?1600868808

Guardian Live | What's on

Ai Weiwei: Coronavirus in China
Wednesday 7 October, 7pm–8pm BST

In Coronation, a powerful and revealing new documentary, artist and activist Ai Weiwei chronicles the origins of the coronavirus pandemic in Wuhan, China. 

Filmed from January to April and shot by ordinary citizens in the epicentre of the outbreak under Ai’s meticulous direction from Europe, it explores questions of personal freedom and public security, surveillance, transparency and the power of the Chinese state, which are thrown into sharp focus by the conditions of the pandemic.

For this livestreamed event, Ai Weiwei will explore the unique process behind the film and the wider questions about state control, individual liberties and public trust that it raises. You will also have the chance to ask your own questions.

Sounds interesting, thanks. Will check out the actual film over the weekend. Can be rented here: 

1 hour ago, Ohjimmyjimmy said:

More serious in what way? There’s no doubt that if you are over say 65, then you don’t want to be getting either flu or COVID but I’d probably take my chances with flu.

Some basic research leads me to understand:

- COVID 19 is more infectious than the flu, with an R number around twice that of flu

- you are 10 times more likely to be hospitalised from COVID-19 than flu

- the case fatality rate for flu is less than 0.1%, for COVID-19 it’s between 1-4%

- the long term health effects of flu are generally well known and understood, COVID-19 less so

- influenza strains generally have a vaccine each year, COVID-19 does not

Thats my basic research done - I’m still not considering flu a more serious international health issue than COVID-19. That’s not to say flu is not a major concern - of course it is, that’s why countries regularly vaccinate the vulnerable population.

I think that ten times more likely stat has been extremely diluted now. 

I still have access to medical journals/ databases (until the end of this calendar year) but I fear that the information is being restricted by WHO and other influential bodies for compliance with government policy 

Cult members out in force, it really isn't worth it. Flu has a vaccine Covid doesn't, Flu will still kill more Worldwide this year and next, then the next, Cancer will kill way more than them both. There's no point debating with people who have a political ideology behind what they're saying.

Someone asked me to define what is the cult about a week ago, even this board is proof of it, no matter what happens the nats must be defended.

• Downvote 3
1 hour ago, daytripping said:

Not one person justified the Leitch quote from last night....Local lockdowns are impossible as people travel. It was an utterly bizarre thing to say, we put our trust in this guy. Him and nippy locked Aberdeen down without batting an eye yet refused to do the same for Glasgow, that's political, that he forgot he locked us down is shameful.

Still not one rebuke? Not one person to justify his words? 

8 minutes ago, daytripping said:

Cult members out in force, it really isn't worth it. Flu has a vaccine Covid doesn't, Flu will still kill more Worldwide this year and next, then the next, Cancer will kill way more than them both. There's no point debating with people who have a political ideology behind what they're saying.

Someone asked me to define what is the cult about a week ago, even this board is proof of it, no matter what happens the nats must be defended.

:rolleyes: We get it. It's not catching on.

My sisters best friend died at 48 of flu, that was my first hand experience of it. I get vaccinated every year now, I now have numpties on a message board giving opinions because they support a particular party. It's a fucking sham, it kills old ill people, end of story. Probably does the majority a favour.

Some of you really are blind/thick, can't decide on most. 

• Downvote 4