Aberdeen 2 - 1 St Johnstone

Lewis - Shite on the goal. Not having a good season.

Hoban - Fine. Not as good as he was at start of season though.

Taylor - Another decent performance, nice to see him finally contributing in the opposition box too.

Considine - Standard unspectactular self. 

Hayes - Needs to be played further forward. 

Kennedy - Yet to justify a place in the team.

Campbell - Yet to see him do anything that suggests he'll make it.

Ferguson - Quiet game. Midfield lacked control in the first half. 

Hedges - Here and there but not at his best. 

Main - Shite touch, didn't have much service. Not good enough.

Cosgrove - When he looked interested he looked quite good. Sadly this was for about 30 seconds. Sell him in January he's clearly away in his head already.

Subs:

Ojo - Thankfully didn't have much time to contribute. 

Edmondson - Can we send him back and try with someone else?

Comms:

McDiarmid - getting worse, if possible. 

Desperately missing Wright and Watkins for this system.

Find to get a win but jesus christ that was attritional football. 

4 minutes ago, Dynamo said:

Taylor - Another decent performance, nice to see him finally contributing in the opposition box too.

Cosgrove - When he looked interested he looked quite good. Sadly this was for about 30 seconds. Sell him in January he's clearly away in his head already.

Subs:

Comms:

Lewis was not shite at there goal , total fluke how the ball bounces over him 

4 hours ago, scottymc said:

Main is never a football player. How he has managed to make a career for himself I will never know. 

he has no pace. A shite first touch. Doesn’t score. What the fuck does he actually do.

At least Cosgrove offers something 

Could not agree more how on earth  has he made a professional career in football

What the fuck do some people see in him

Fucking site and all always will be

1 hour ago, Dynamo said:

Subs:

Comms:

Accurate assessment, particularly Main. Really feeble effort at holding up play. Needs to be dumped.

1 hour ago, aberdeen1970 said:

I thought Lewis looked a bit untidy at the goal. 

Cosgrove also let his man go and then fucked up his headed clearance which didn't help either 

I think Cosgrove was on someone else (May?) and got left with two. Haven't seen it again yet though, so may be wrong. 

Lewis was awful though. Fuck knows how he let that in. 

Crap watch. 

Fortunate to be awarded a penalty that never was, otherwise I think we'd have struggled to score in the game. I thought things were better in the 2nd half for spells, but generally it wasn't pretty and contributed to an awful spectacle. Ash Taylor was good again, aside from one murder pass to Consi. 

The league is what it is this season, if we can play as badly as we have and still only have 1 loss in 12, it tells me the standard of our top league is shocking. Hopefully things will improve against United.

1 hour ago, Dynamo said:

Subs:

Comms:

Pretty much agree with all this. 

Edmondson, Cosgrove and Main all have the first touch of an elephant. They're slow, technically lacking and offer virtually nothing going forward. All three are more suited to participating in the WWE. Dean Campbell is too soft and like Ojo has absolutely no pace. We really missed McCrorie today.

Lewis hasn't been at his best this season. He was poor for the goal. It was an awful header which he should have done better with.

Taylor has been considerably better during his second spell with the club. He has been our best player of the past few games. He receives far too much criticism. I much rather he played then Devlin. I'd be ok with both Hoban and Taylor signing on for a further 2 years.

2 hours ago, tightbreeks said:

Thank goodness for that win. We just need to keep it up, and we can. We have the squad, just need to beat the Tim's and huns. The rest of the games should take care of themselves. 

Rest of games should take care of themselves ?

yeah, except for the tough ones like 

Accies

St Mirren 

motherwell

utd

most likely Livi too

1 minute ago, Parklife said:

It was actually. We had Scott Wright & Hedges playing well and linking the play from McCrorie/Ferguson to the forward areas. It wasn't 45 yard passes to Watkins' midriff all game. 

You can also add in that since the return of Main and Cosgrove, the easy option of the long punt has returned to the team.

Whether that is deliberate or not, I don't know but it does appear to be our number one choice on the park. 

Just now, shut up meg said:

You can also add in that since the return of Main and Cosgrove, the easy option of the long punt has returned to the team.

Whether that is deliberate or not, I don't know but it does appear to be our number one choice on the park. 

I'd say it's because Watkins was mobile and offered different options. 

Whereas the other 3 are essentially target men who can't take the ball on the turn or on the move to the same degree of success that Watkins could. 

Hence the basic tactics. 

12 hours ago, Postman Pats Cat said:

Unsure about this. Mentioned previously that mccrorie and ferguson should be dominating more than they have been, especially if they are meant to be future Scot internationals. Mccrorie for me has went quiet since that last international break. Don't get me wrong I would rather have them both in there, I just want a bit more. 

Not sure what you were expecting from McRorie  yesterday given he was in the red tv “studio” ?

22 hours ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said:

Is that Bobby Clark or Marc De Clerck on the far right min?

21 hours ago, shut up meg said:

It must be MDC as my abiding memory of Bobby Clark was the statue figure he had watching the ball go into the net.

Bobby would be the one on the left.

Subbuteo Football Express

Aye, as meg says.

BC had a very curious stance, statuesque, turned to stone, apparently whenever he though there was no point in diving for the ball.
Maybe he knew he was beat, so was conserving energy. Fair doos if he was correct with that assumption.

cVxnrLX.jpg

17 hours ago, thurso said:

Controversial but maybe steve may might of worked well with the way we now want to play

Interesting point.

May well have worked.

Better than it does with our 3 x lumbering galoots?
Would imagine so. Absolutely.

16 hours ago, Laichomoray said:

nae sure if he always looks like that,but doesnt look too healthy on Red TV

It was clearly absolutely freezing in the post match discussion.

Seemed a touch idiotic having him sit there all that time in sycuh baltic conditions.

Wouldnae be surprised if he missed the Livi match with a hoorin heavy cold.