7 minutes ago, sooth_stander said:

It would be.

But doesn’t need to be though, Sevco manage it with 1 sitting and 2 x number 8s in their midfield trio.

Pretty obvious next season that Brown will sit deep and take the ball from Lewis, the 2 centre half’s split, the two full backs push on, so it’s how the other 2 midfielders position themselves that will be the key.

id say sevco play 4231

3 hours ago, Dons79 said:

@GreenLisbon25

could you tell us anything you have heard on Ryan gauld regarding a possible transfer to another Portuguese team?

Yes. ?

From what is said in Portugal, three teams want Ryan Gauld.
My club Sporting, which still has 50% and preference over their transfer
FC Porto is also interested and has excellent relations with the president of Farense (current club of Gauld).
SC Braga is also interested ... in fact, they already tried to sign him in January ... Farense didn’t sell because he’s the best player on the team and Farense doesn’t want to go to the second division.

It has also been said in Portugal that Celtic is very interested in him (but about Scotland you are better informed than I am ?).

Regarding the value of Gauld, the President of Farense has already said that he wants 4 million euros for him.

@Dons79 Is Aberdeen interested in Gauld?

P.S. In my opinion, Gauld has become a very good player in the last year and a half. If you hired him, you would make a great purchase.

2 minutes ago, GreenLisbon25 said:

Yes. ?

FC Porto is also interested and has excellent relations with the president of Farense (current club of Gauld).
SC Braga is also interested ... in fact, he already tried to sign him in January ... Farense didn’t sell because he’s the best player on the team and Farense doesn’t want to go to the second division.

It has also been said in Portugal that Celtic is very interested in him (but about Scotland you are better informed than I am ?).

Regarding the value of Gauld, the President of Farense has already said that he wants 4 million euros for him.

Maybe he will play for aberdeen one day but it wont be this summer

7 hours ago, GreenLisbon25 said:

Yes. ?

SC Braga is also interested ... in fact, they already tried to sign him in January ... Farense didn’t sell because he’s the best player on the team and Farense doesn’t want to go to the second division.

P.S. In my opinion, Gauld has become a very good player in the last year and a half. If you hired him, you would make a great purchase.

Thanks for the info, aye that puts him well out our price range for now!, obviously cannot compete as soon as clubs like braga, sporting become interested, missed the boat on him unfortunately although some players are just best suited to play in Europe as he had a stinker for hibs on loan last year.he wasn’t built up enough for our league and just got bullied.

a seen the last game you played 1-1 had 2 goals disallowed, went 0-1 up and then conceded a last minute equaliser, hope that’s the referees not trying to push Porto into the title race?. Have a good one bud?

1 hour ago, Dons79 said:

Thanks for the info, aye that puts him well out our price range for now!, obviously cannot compete as soon as clubs like braga, sporting become interested, missed the boat on him unfortunately although some players are just best suited to play in Europe as he had a stinker for hibs on loan last year.he wasn’t built up enough for our league and just got bullied.

a seen the last game you played 1-1 had 2 goals disallowed, went 0-1 up and then conceded a last minute equaliser, hope that’s the referees not trying to push Porto into the title race?. Have a good one bud?

He’s out of contract in summer. No fee involved I’m sure. 

Scotland striker Leigh Griffiths, who could attract interest from Aberdeen, fears he could be freed by Celtic this summer as there is a 30 April deadline on the Glasgow club triggering a £1m one-year extension to the 30-year-old's contract. (Scottish Sun)

This probably gives a bit more substance to the Griffiths following Brown to Aberdeen rumours.

If he's on the guts of £20k/week then it makes close to zero sense for them to extend it if they can opt out.

If they are considering selling him they are better to cut their losses

If they are considering loaning him the are better to cut their losses

If they have budget for a £20k/week striker for a new manager they are better to give the new manager the budget.

Leaves Dons to swoop in and offer him £5k/week or something. We'll need a reliable second striker too incase he goes AWOL.

36 minutes ago, Tord31 said:

Scotland striker Leigh Griffiths, who could attract interest from Aberdeen, fears he could be freed by Celtic this summer as there is a 30 April deadline on the Glasgow club triggering a £1m one-year extension to the 30-year-old's contract. (Scottish Sun)

This probably gives a bit more substance to the Griffiths following Brown to Aberdeen rumours.

If he's on the guts of £20k/week then it makes close to zero sense for them to extend it if they can opt out.

If they are considering selling him they are better to cut their losses

If they are considering loaning him the are better to cut their losses

If they have budget for a £20k/week striker for a new manager they are better to give the new manager the budget.

Leaves Dons to swoop in and offer him £5k/week or something. We'll need a reliable second striker too incase he goes AWOL.

Hibs will sell Nisbet.

To appease their fans, they’ll sign thumb. 

1 minute ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Hibs will sell Nisbet.

To appease their fans, they’ll sign thumb. 

We can outbid Hibs and there is the pull of Scott Brown. 

Also Hibs might not sell Doig, Porter or Nisbet until August.

I'm thinking it's a go-er now this contract loop hole has came to light. It seems a straightforward decision for Celtic to opt out of the final year of his contract.

25 minutes ago, Tord31 said:

I'm thinking it's a go-er now this contract loop hole has came to light. It seems a straightforward decision for Celtic to opt out of the final year of his contract.

Aye I think there might be legs in this one too. The stars are all aligning at the right time for a deal to happen. 

1 hour ago, Tord31 said:

Is the pull of Scott Brown bigger than playing for his boyhood team?

Also, he’s been unfit & overweight for a long time. 

55 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Is the pull of Scott Brown bigger than playing for his boyhood team?

Also, he’s been unfit & overweight for a long time. 

I would say yes the pull of Glass, Brown and Russell will be.

Aye he almost looks like a McInnes signing having fell off a cliff since 2016.

Another way to look at it is when he's been first pick (Dundee, Livingston, Wolves and Celtic) he's been absolute dynamite with 20-40 goals per season.

When he's been a squad player (Wolves and Celtic) he's ONLY managed 6-15 goals per season.

I think he'd be good for 15-20 goals for us next season if he's first choice. I think the management team would back themselves to get him in a good place.

3 hours ago, Tord31 said:

If Hibs sell Nisbet (and remember they turned down £3million from Birmingham at exactly the same time we were accepting £2million for Cosgrove) then I'm fairly sure they will be able to use the cash accrued to outbid us should they wish to. 

Bear in mind Griffiths also grew up a Hibs fan. He could also sign for them and not have the hassle of moving house if he wanted.

It's by no means certain at all that he would choose us over them

9 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

If Hibs sell Nisbet (and remember they turned down £3million from Birmingham at exactly the same time we were accepting £2million for Cosgrove) then I'm fairly sure they will be able to use the cash accrued to outbid us should they wish to. 

Bear in mind Griffiths also grew up a Hibs fan. He could also sign for them and not have the hassle of moving house if he wanted.

It's by no means certain at all that he would choose us over them

I don't think it's certain but we'd be in a position to negotiate right now. Hibs are not.

1 hour ago, Tord31 said:

I would say yes the pull of Glass, Brown and Russell will be.

Aye he almost looks like a McInnes signing having fell off a cliff since 2016.

Another way to look at it is when he's been first pick (Dundee, Livingston, Wolves and Celtic) he's been absolute dynamite with 20-40 goals per season.

When he's been a squad player (Wolves and Celtic) he's ONLY managed 6-15 goals per season.

I think he'd be good for 15-20 goals for us next season if he's first choice. I think the management team would back themselves to get him in a good place.

Even if he preferred us over Hibs, which I don’t think he will, I’d have reservations. 

If we’re going to be signing say 3 strikers, there will be a pecking order, & you’d assume Griffiths would be No1 choice, maybe going down to a third choice of someone like the ability of Callum Hendry.

My concern would be that you’d want your no1 striker playing at least 30 league games.

Griffiths can barely play 20-30 minutes of a game in his current state of fitness. 
What makes us think he’d get fit & stay fit, when he clearly couldn’t be arsed for Celtic?

5 hours ago, Tord31 said:

Plus the thumb may decide he's better off out of the central belt

1 hour ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Even if he preferred us over Hibs, which I don’t think he will, I’d have reservations. 

If we’re going to be signing say 3 strikers, there will be a pecking order, & you’d assume Griffiths would be No1 choice, maybe going down to a third choice of someone like the ability of Callum Hendry.

My concern would be that you’d want your no1 striker playing at least 30 league games.

Griffiths can barely play 20-30 minutes of a game in his current state of fitness. 
What makes us think he’d get fit & stay fit, when he clearly couldn’t be arsed for Celtic?

He managed 62 Minutes on Sunday and if he is massively overweight he is making a good job of hiding it. It is a no brainer for me if Brown feels he is in the right head space to do a job. A 30 year old proven goal scorer compared to the dross we have been watching for the last couple of Years. Hibs will need to sell a couple of bodies to try and balance the books, I cannot see them then going and breaking there wage structure for the Thumb whether he supports them or not. If he comes to us he is a massive upgrade on the likes of Main and Cosgrove, his movement was superb when he came on against us earlier in the season

22 minutes ago, Sheepo said:

He managed 62 Minutes on Sunday and if he is massively overweight he is making a good job of hiding it. It is a no brainer for me if Brown feels he is in the right head space to do a job. A 30 year old proven goal scorer compared to the dross we have been watching for the last couple of Years. Hibs will need to sell a couple of bodies to try and balance the books, I cannot see them then going and breaking there wage structure for the Thumb whether he supports them or not. If he comes to us he is a massive upgrade on the likes of Main and Cosgrove, his movement was superb when he came on against us earlier in the season

Agreed.  He's a natural goalscorer despite his issues. I don't think he's fat either, needs match fitness obviously though. 

You'd hope he's up for a new challenge and that Russell's methods get through to him. 

There's always a risk that he can't keep his head together off the pitch which will put many off but I think this is a gamble worth taking at this time. 

6 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

There's always a risk that he can't keep his head together off the pitch which will put many off but I think this is a gamble worth taking at this time. 

Ironically the only reason we actually stand a chance of signing him. A fully focused Griffiths with the right attitude  would still be worth a fairly sizeable wedge. 

He will no doubt finish his career back at Hibs.

Close to his family & Ned mates & he can continue helping out behind the bar at the Galleon in portobello Edinburgh where you often see him over the past few years

Only way he would come to Aberdeen over Hibs would be if we offered a far better deal & he was able to totally rip the pish out of us like McNamara did.

Fantastic striker & if he knuckled down he could no doubt still be a top striker at any club in Scotland but it’s still a no from me. His attitude stinks & Brown didn’t exactly ‘fix’ him at celtic, so how would he manage it at Aberdeen when he’s earring 1/4 of the money.

Too much baggage/risk for what would be a top earner

1 hour ago, fine-n-dandy said:

He will no doubt finish his career back at Hibs.

Close to his family & Ned mates & he can continue helping out behind the bar at the Galleon in portobello Edinburgh where you often see him over the past few years

Only way he would come to Aberdeen over Hibs would be if we offered a far better deal & he was able to totally rip the pish out of us like McNamara did.

Fantastic striker & if he knuckled down he could no doubt still be a top striker at any club in Scotland but it’s still a no from me. His attitude stinks & Brown didn’t exactly ‘fix’ him at celtic, so how would he manage it at Aberdeen when he’s earring 1/4 of the money.

Too much baggage/risk for what would be a top earner

gosh F n D you love a bit of negativity.

Griffiths is coming home. It's happening now this contract thingmy has come to light

2 hours ago, Sheepo said:

Their wage structure really isn't a great deal different to ours. Just we carry a far bigger squad. If  they really want a player, they can, and will, outbid us.