Aberdeen sack Derek McInnes

Am I missing something re McInnes and good football? 

I remember when we had ambitions about maybe winning the league and more trophies, the football was pretty brutal old school stuff, but no one minded because there was hope of things to come. 

Almost none of those things materialised (another trophy, qualifying for Europe) and the football by in large has stayed the same pragmatic, do the basics first, percentages type stuff that gets everyone so annoyed. We know now he can't take us any further, the club has a choice to either stick and probably finish top 4/5 playing ugly football and not much else, or take a chance on someone willing to be brave and get us playing. 

2 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

Am I missing something re McInnes and good football? 

I remember when we had ambitions about maybe winning the league and more trophies, the football was pretty brutal old school stuff, but no one minded because there was hope of things to come. 

Almost none of those things materialised (another trophy, qualifying for Europe) and the football by in large has stayed the same pragmatic, do the basics first, percentages type stuff that gets everyone so annoyed. We know now he can't take us any further, the club has a choice to either stick and probably finish top 4/5 playing ugly football and not much else, or take a chance on someone willing to be brave and get us playing. 

The 2015-17 team played some good stuff. 

You could break his reign down into 4 stages

2013-15 things were better than before, you could see the team was developing, picked up the trophy 

2015-17 peak years 

2017-19 mixed attempts to rebuild after 2017.  Marred by Sunderland and Hun distractions.  Cautiousness starts to increase. 

2019-21 Decline, no clear rebuilding strategy. Clear deterioration of quality of football. Increased cautiousness and game management. 

Another interesting trio of games for DM that may, just may, determine his future one way or another.

Should we lose two or even three of the Motherwell and Livingston double header games DC definitely has a decision to consider.

However if we go undefeated, winning at least a couple, nothing will happen whatsoever, certainly not until the summer at the very earliest.

Games against Well with a new manager and Livvy on a very hot run could be very interesting indeed ?.

4 minutes ago, Woody21 said:

Another interesting trio of games for DM that may, just may, determine his future one or another.

Should we lose two or even three of the Motherwell and Livingston double header games DC definitely has a decision to consider.

However if we go undefeated, winning at least a couple, nothing will happen whatsoever, certainly not until the summer at the very earliest.

Games against Well with a new manager and Livvy on a very hot run could be very interesting indeed ?.

Every game feels difficult just now. 

I don't really fancy us with any real certainty to get a win in any game at the moment. 

21 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Thought we were talking about the manager, not the team. A lot easier managing the dons pre 95 when we were still a force, had good players already kicking about and Celtic were comically bad 

edit to confirm though.... McInnes oot

Who built the respective teams?

We had good players kicking about when McInnes took over 

Celtic are comically bad now

46 minutes ago, shut up meg said:

In the league cup, the following teams beat the Glasgow teams in Glasgow and won the competition.

Kilmarnock beat Celtic in the 2011 league cup final

St Mirren beat Celtic in the 2012 league cup semi final

Ross County beat Celtic in 2016 league cup semi final

In the Scottish Cup

Dundee Utd beat Rangers in the 2010 QF (Ross County beat Celtic in the semi final)

Hearts beat Celtic in the 2012 SF

Caley beat Celtic in the 2015 SF

Hibs beat Rangers in the 2016 final

Ok since mccinnes took over you have Caley and county have beat Celtic in their cup runs and Hibs beat a second rate rangers if that counts. 

11 minutes ago, Woody21 said:

Another interesting trio of games for DM that may, just may, determine his future one way or another.

I don't for a minute believe Cormack isn’t close to or hasn't already made a concrete decision.

He's nae blind. He made fan inclusion his top priority when he took chairmanship, he'll have been all over the recent Derek oot banners and he winna be unaware of internet forum chatter. He's made noises about the financial hit they've already taken, the last thing he'll want is widespread fan disillusionment. The question is what that decision is 

11 minutes ago, NEM said:

This is the irony that most of the HC's can't seem to equate... Most of Celtic's players are clearly better than ours... but if you have a manager that can't lead a dog to do a shit the greatest team in the world won't perform above itself. We all agreed that it looked like on paper anyway the best Dons squad in years back in August. McKenna going excepted but if DMc can't see to get anything near the best out of them, make way for someone who can. 

On 1/22/2021 at 6:07 PM, NEM said:

Who built the respective teams?

We had good players kicking about when McInnes took over 

Celtic won about 1 trophy between 1988 and 1995. They’ve just won 4 trebles in a row ?

mcinnes took over a team who had finished 9th, 9th, 9th & 8th in the 4 seasons before he came in. 

hes the best manager we’ve had in the last 30 years imo. But he’s out of ideas. 

33 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Celtic won about 1 trophy between 1988 and 1995. They’ve just won 4 trebles in a row ?

mcinnes took over a team who had finished 9th, 9th, 9th & 8th in the 4 seasons before he came in. 

hes the best manager we’ve had in the last 30 years imo. But he’s out of ideas. 

The best manager since Alex Smith is not really saying anything though is it?

Its a bit like saying you’re a better babysitter than Kate McCann. 

On 1/22/2021 at 12:59 PM, Woody21 said:

Won all or lose all three.. nothing is going to happen before the summer.  Unless we miss europe all together there is likely no changes this summer.  Feel sorry for the fool who has no bed sheets now.

39 minutes ago, Donscanada said:

Won all or lose all three.. nothing is going to happen before the summer.  Unless we miss europe all together there is likely no changes this summer.  Feel sorry for the fool who has no bed sheets now.

Wouldn't be so sure that there will be no change in the summer.

Ps bed sheets dry this end.

58 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

This sounds similar to what we say about McInnes...

I was looking forward to a wee gloat at Hibs.net but as usual the cunts have fired it onto lockdown. 

It seems very soon into Ross' tenure for the hobo's to be turning on him though. They should know by now never to underestimate their team's propensity to Hibs it.