Aberdeen sack Derek McInnes

1 minute ago, Ke1t said:

I was hoping Cormack would bring that, but he kind of hasn't. 

The club still lies to the fans as naturally as pigs roll in their own shite, the scouting system still doesn't work, we're still the most gutless club in the SPFL, we're still bringing in shirt-filling crap, we still speak of 'ambitions' of 3rd, and bar scraping one league cup on pens we're still underachieving. 

Cormack might look like less of a subterranean goblin-thing than Milne, but I'm not seeing a whole lot of practical differences between the two.

Maybe he's just waiting for the right time, as in, when this current management team has ran its course (it clearly has.) 

I'm not sure how effective it is to run a club from a different continent, but I guess I know fuck all about running a football club. 

I think he was right to stick by McInnes for the remainder of this season, but anything beyond the end of this campaign, and I'd have serious questions marks as to whether DC will be the guy to take the club to the next level. 

Time will tell, but like I say, no point in getting rid of McInnes for another run of the mill Scottish Prem manager, until there's structural change in relation to recruitment, the youth system, and how the club engages fans. 

1 hour ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Could you see a scenario where we bring in a Director of Football in the summer to handle recruitment leaving McInnes to see out his last year as Head coach before another head coach comes in at that point? 

No.

I think McInnes would see that as a big dent to his ego.

Might be worth a try if he takes the huff & walks! 

I do think that’s what we’ll do with the next management team though. The Director of Football overseeing a head coach. 

1 hour ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Could you see a scenario where we bring in a Director of Football in the summer to handle recruitment leaving McInnes to see out his last year as Head coach before another head coach comes in at that point? 

Would a DoF be willing to accept a lower wage than the head coach earns?

1 hour ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

We need structural change.

Our scouting system is obviously shite, we, as a club, don't really have an identity in how we want to play, meaning we don't know how to engage supporters and make coming to matches a time worthy experience. 

Sacking McInnes for another run of the mill Scottish football manager a la Jim Goodwin doesn't really solve the issues at hand, in the long term. Cormack laid his ambitions out with that document type thing at the start of the season, and if he wants the ambitions to come to fruition, he needs to change much of the personnel currently at the club. 

Still we have staff employed for sentiment, we have a recruitment strategy largely overseen by two people (McInnes and Richardson) and we very rarely are able to unearth young Scottish talent from the lower leagues, or find any hidden gems in foreign countries. 

Time has definitely caught up with McInnes, but I can't see any sense in getting rid of him, as much is I think it's probably necessary, without a proper shake up at the club. 

I get what you are saying but the argument about Goodwin is that he is getting a better return from his squad when you compare the relative budgets of them and Aberdeen.

Goodwin's star is rising, McInnes' is waning. 

He's also younger and massively cheaper.

I hope we cast our net a bit wider than just Scotland though. 

4 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

I get what you are saying but the argument about Goodwin is that he is getting a better return from his squad when you compare the relative budgets of them and Aberdeen.

Goodwin's star is rising, McInnes' is waning. 

He's also younger and massively cheaper.

I hope we cast our net a bit wider than just Scotland though. 

I'm not against Jim Goodwin, specifically. His star is rising, and that's the type of person we should be looking to employ, someone with a seemingly upward trajectory. 

My broader point is, if someone like Goodwin came in, to take over McInnes job, and all the responsibilities that come with it, as in, a manager who has his fingers in all the pies, then I don't think there's a point in changing.

The whole Sir Alex thing about running a club, is long outdated. The kind of manager who more or less runs the football operation is a long outdated concept that we should be looking to evolve from. 

What happens is, you sign guys like Ash Taylor, whilst your scout is watching another player and he's in the stands, or you sign guys like Calum Hendry, because your current player is his mate and said he's available. 

It's Sunday league Dog and Duck stuff. 

The only way we can compete is by spotting players, developing them, and selling them on. Whether that's from our own youth academy, or through vigorous and extensive scouting. 

It's almost like we've went and got all these new facilities, ones that most managers in this country could only dream of, and kept an outdated, 20th century way of running the operation. 

That's just how I think it looks, I've no doubt AFC employees would tell me I'm havering shite. 

https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/donsnews/willie-miller-column-aberdeen-fans-frustration-is-understandable-but-let-derek-mcinnes-see-striker-shake-up-through-before-making-a-change/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

Interested to see what God himself had to say on the matter.

I was with him up until he started talking about Celtic and Rangers. 

Nobody is comparing us to them. When we're talking about our frustrations with McInnes, we're  comparing ourselves to our former selves and the fact that we have to watch awful football every week, at the moment to no avail. 

Not one Aberdeen fan with a brain is considering the old firm when discussing McInnes' current shortcomings. I have no idea why people are so determined to make the link.  

1 hour ago, rocket_scientist said:

DoF? Pish. Yes we know that football has changed but if SAF and Archie Knox with help from Teddy Scott can conquer Europe, how come we need ALL the coaches and specialists and hingers-on that we currently fork out for?

The first team manager and coach alone have not much more than a game a week to manage. Given the training times required, they have more than enough time to be running their eyes over the prospects that both they, and the scouts have identified at every level. Or they should have if the manager wasn't racking up tens of thousands of miles in his car visiting home.

Add in strength and conditioning and performance measurement and we shouldn't have nearly as many as we do on the payroll. Milne created this culture for a very specific purpose and it is up to the new board to dismantle both the structure and the culture that has been slowly killing AFC, gradually by degrees over decades.

Good points. Never see McHun in the stands watching any other player. 

There's some great prospects in Myanmar that I think he should go see in person 

8 hours ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/donsnews/willie-miller-column-aberdeen-fans-frustration-is-understandable-but-let-derek-mcinnes-see-striker-shake-up-through-before-making-a-change/amp/?__twitter_impression=true

Interested to see what God himself had to say on the matter.

I was with him up until he started talking about Celtic and Rangers. 

Nobody is comparing us to them. When we're talking about our frustrations with McInnes, we're  comparing ourselves to our former selves and the fact that we have to watch awful football every week, at the moment to no avail. 

Not one Aberdeen fan with a brain is considering the old firm when discussing McInnes' current shortcomings. I have no idea why people are so determined to make the link.  

This is the common Media crap when the fans are upset with McInnes . What do they expect 3rd is all they can achieve. There fans still live in the 80's all the usual rubbish. Most current fans weren't even around in the 80's, very rarely do they actually debate the real issues including the Horrific football

13 hours ago, thurso said:

Not sure how anyone who’s meant to be an Aberdeen fan could say he would rather see Aberdeen loose than them win if it means the manager would sacked. Even in mcgees terrible reign I’d still want Aberdeen to win 

I'm not meant to be an Aberdeen fan, I am one! :thumbup1:

13 hours ago, wonkyred said:

My first post....

I thought we were playing pretty decent for the first 10 or so games of the season. Losing Watkins and getting Cosgrove back was where it started to go shit again. I'm hoping a rocket up his arse makes a difference but it probably won't. 

Welcome Wonky!

This place is full of nutters.

You'll get used to it in time. ;)

Regarding your point, yeah, that early season form, and how pleasant it appeared on the eye, was basically the hat consensus too.

Many people called it out though with the caveat that when Cosgrove returned from injury and was back in the team, that the beard would revert to type.

And, hey presto, that's exactly what happened... :banghead:

12 hours ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

We need structural change.

Our scouting system is obviously shite, we, as a club, don't really have an identity in how we want to play, meaning we don't know how to engage supporters and make coming to matches a time worthy experience. 

Sacking McInnes for another run of the mill Scottish football manager a la Jim Goodwin doesn't really solve the issues at hand, in the long term. Cormack laid his ambitions out with that document type thing at the start of the season, and if he wants the ambitions to come to fruition, he needs to change much of the personnel currently at the club. 

Still we have staff employed for sentiment, we have a recruitment strategy largely overseen by two people (McInnes and Richardson) and we very rarely are able to unearth young Scottish talent from the lower leagues, or find any hidden gems in foreign countries. 

Time has definitely caught up with McInnes, but I can't see any sense in getting rid of him, as much is I think it's probably necessary, without a proper shake up at the club. 

Agree with all of this.

Got folk in a job simply cause they've been here for a while (Steve Gunn and Jim Fraser for example) or they're mates with McInnes (Richardson for example) 

Need to have a full re-structure and try to identify young talent either through the club or around the UK/Europe to bring in for cheap and sell for a good fee (see McKenna and Cosgrove).

Also need a pathway to the first team for younger players who are good enough, outiwth Mckenna and Wright (fuck him) very few youth players have had sustained first team minutes, with gash like Main, Ojo etc getting more chances. By showing we can give younger players a chance in the first team it may encourage others to join us, wether that's at youth level or similar to how we got Ferguson for exmaple 

1 hour ago, Granite95 said:

Agree with all of this.

Got folk in a job simply cause they've been here for a while (Steve Gunn and Jim Fraser for example) or they're mates with McInnes (Richardson for example) 

Need to have a full re-structure and try to identify young talent either through the club or around the UK/Europe to bring in for cheap and sell for a good fee (see McKenna and Cosgrove).

Also need a pathway to the first team for younger players who are good enough, outiwth Mckenna and Wright (fuck him) very few youth players have had sustained first team minutes, with gash like Main, Ojo etc getting more chances. By showing we can give younger players a chance in the first team it may encourage others to join us, wether that's at youth level or similar to how we got Ferguson for exmaple 

I think re Main, Ojo etc he probably has to make those signings. Granted, they didn't work out, but if you want to compete for trophies etc you do need to sign experienced and reliable pros. 

The issue comes when you've signed too many. Ojo was just another shirt and probably took playing time away from someone who desperately needs it, like Campbell. 

One thing that did irritate me was earlier in the season, when we had Ferguson and others out due to covid/injury, and we played the Huns at Ibrox. We all knew the probable outcome was a hiding, yet we played an unfit Greg Leigh in midfield, and shoehorned others in. Surely to fuck, there are young lads who could've came in and done a job? At worst we still get a hiding, and they gain valuable minutes against a top side, or one of them actually looks decent, and becomes a selection possibility going forward. 

That's when it annoys me, he'd rather shoehorn in a LB to CM, when there are probably young boys raring to go in those positions. Many, many youth products are stumbled across by accident, either they get in the team through injuries, or the manager takes a punt on them in a match after a terrible result (see McKenna v Motherwell.) 

Main (or May or a catalogue of others) to press - Tick.

Ojo as a desperately needed sitting midfielder in a Shinnie-less midfield- Tick.

He knows where some of the gaps are, albeit he has a massive set of  blinkers as regards full backs.

He just, for whatever reason, makes a massive cunt of filling them.  Or doesn't have courage in his conviction.  Or something.  And Id add to that that he doesn't even have the excuse this year of being 'forced' by a crowd to do something.  

5 minutes ago, strachanmcgheegoal said:

Main (or May or a catalogue of others) to press - Tick.

Ojo as a desperately needed sitting midfielder in a Shinnie-less midfield- Tick.

He knows where some of the gaps are, albeit he has a massive set of  blinkers as regards full backs.

He just, for whatever reason, makes a massive cunt of filling them.  Or doesn't have courage in his conviction.  Or something.  And Id add to that that he doesn't even have the excuse this year of being 'forced' by a crowd to do something.  

He definitely seems to find it difficult to build a balanced squad.  There's always a shortage of options in some areas and too many in others. Relies too much on these players who can 'cover a number of positions' to try and hide glaring gaps. 

His attitude to the left back position during his entire tenure has been very strange.  Max Lowe was the only time he has got it right (albeit on loan). 

He's either got too much power or needs better help than he is getting at the moment with recruitment

100%, especially in the examples you cite.

But he also assumes a continuation of the status quo.  That somehow miraculously other teams won't spot and exploit those longstanding weaknesses.  Rodgers did immediately.  Griffiths versus Considine - how many fucking times...  But now Goodwin (and Martindale and Mellan etc) is coming and I could write St Mirren (yes Saint fucking Mirren's) team talk myself.

Get at them early.  Unnerve them.  Keep the ball in their half by going wide.  Force the ball to the central un-pressed Taylor (funny that).  And dont worry about the new front three because they wont have the ball anyway.  Oh, and stand on Ferguson's toes a couple of times, see what happens. 

51 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

He definitely seems to find it difficult to build a balanced squad.  There's always a shortage of options in some areas and too many in others. Relies too much on these players who can 'cover a number of positions' to try and hide glaring gaps. 

His attitude to the left back position during his entire tenure has been very strange.  Max Lowe was the only time he has got it right (albeit on loan). 

He's either got too much power or needs better help than he is getting at the moment with recruitment

Cause he's got shit for scouts. If Curtis Main is being recommened as a striker and you sign him thats a sackable offence straight away. For every good signing we've had there's plenty of duds too. We often just bring in more duds to cover the other duds we let go (See Ojo for Forrester and Gleeson)

One thing that did irritate me was earlier in the season, when we had Ferguson and others out due to covid/injury, and we played the Huns at Ibrox. We all knew the probable outcome was a hiding, yet we played an unfit Greg Leigh in midfield, and shoehorned others in. Surely to fuck, there are young lads who could've came in and done a job? At worst we still get a hiding, and they gain valuable minutes against a top side, or one of them actually looks decent, and becomes a selection possibility going forward. 

Agree - and it never happens

Being thrown in at the deep end and making a cunt of it is absolutely horrible in any job. But you fairly learn from it, fast. No kid would get a hard time after being thrown into that game either

I think re Main, Ojo etc he probably has to make those signings. Granted, they didn't work out, but if you want to compete for trophies etc you do need to sign experienced and reliable pros. 

The issue comes when you've signed too many. Ojo was just another shirt and probably took playing time away from someone who desperately needs it, like Campbell. 

That's when it annoys me, he'd rather shoehorn in a LB to CM, when there are probably young boys raring to go in those positions. Many, many youth products are stumbled across by accident, either they get in the team through injuries, or the manager takes a punt on them in a match after a terrible result (see McKenna v Motherwell.) 

Any player we are signing from another spl side and the fans are laughing at us signing them shouldn’t be even on our radar (see main).

Ojo was a player that a lot of fans at Scunthorpe had good things to say about him and he did actually start to play well towards end of last season. But he was terrible in every game this season basically. I don’t blame Mcinnes for signing him. 

We need to be signing the best players in our league from the bottom half teams. Kenny McLean style even if it means we have to pay a bit of money so be it. Should be all over pre contracts every season for the stand out players but it’s something we very rarely do, either that or they reject us straight off bat. When was last quality players we signed on pre contract? Shinnie? Campbell, Findlay etc should all be spoke to start of year. 

5 minutes ago, slippers said:

Any player we are signing from another spl side and the fans are laughing at us signing them shouldn’t be even on our radar (see main).

Ojo was a player that a lot of fans at Scunthorpe had good things to say about him and he did actually start to play well towards end of last season. But he was terrible in every game this season basically. I don’t blame Mcinnes for signing him. 

We need to be signing the best players in our league from the bottom half teams. Kenny McLean style even if it means we have to pay a bit of money so be it. Should be all over pre contracts every season for the stand out players but it’s something we very rarely do, either that or they reject us straight off bat. When was last quality players we signed on pre contract? Shinnie? Campbell, Findlay etc should all be spoke to start of year. 

Yep and I would add the best teenagers from lower division sides to that list. 

2 hours ago, slippers said:

I think kenny mclean is probably been the biggest player we are missing. The players that we have in midfield are all to similar in styles and the team is missing a player who had the range of passing as him but could also unlock a stuffy defence, but you don’t realise how good he was until he’s gone as he used to get slaughtered a lot. 

Now hedges is injured and Wright is gone the creativeness in midfield has gone with quick passing so it’s work it wide put a cross in hope someone is there to get on the end of it and opposition teams know this will keep a solid defence so they can get on the end of crosses and clear 

21 minutes ago, ericblack4boss said:

I was listening to last night sportsound and they asked Ian mcacall who was mcinnes manager at Dundee utd about the sleekit cunt. And him turning down the huns and Sunderland, 

The shoe shitter said that those were the jobs we knew about there were others he had turned down that werent made public, 

Interesting. 

There won't be many he'll be turning down if he gets offered them now I wouldn't have thought