Welcome back Stephen Glass

1 minute ago, G31DON said:

I'm sure he cries himself to sleep every night at what might have been...

Inzaghi played as a striker for several Italian clubs, and spent the most notable spells of his club career with Juventus and Milan, winning two UEFA Champions League titles (2003, 2007), and three Serie A titles (1998, 2004, 2011). He is the seventh highest scorer in Italy, with 313 goals scored in official matches. He is currently the fifth-highest goal scorer in European club competitions with 70 goals, behind only Robert Lewandowski, Raúl, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. He is also Milan's top international goal scorer in the club's history with 43 goals. He also holds the record for most hat-tricks in Serie A with 10.

What’s your point? 

I wasn’t questioning his career, was I?

Your Googling had fuck all to do with my point about him being caught offside 

36 minutes ago, maryhilldon said:

Your two thoughts contradict each other,  I think your just confused. Stop whining about racism,  it's boring as fuck and you seem to be the only one that cares. There's far worse things happening in the world than wealthy footballers calling each other names. 

Are they? how so? 

Shut up you idiot 

10 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

The best news out of all of this for me is that we are bringing in a specialist attacking coach. 

It's the biggest signal yet that we are going to be committed to an attacking philosophy. 

I agree. The boy Russell has a very impressive coaching CV, some top level players really rate him. 

He's a set piece maestro as well, so hopefully it all works out and we see some fucking goals.

23 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Think I answered my own question in my post. 
if we don’t offer him one he leaves for nothing.

Not sure what the training compensation is, I’d imagine low six figures. 
Based on length of time at the club & the value of contract offered (I think?) 

He'll be on a bit more than Ferguson was getting at Hamilton. And is older

We ended up paying £238k for him so theoretically we should get more. But in the current climate it's difficult to imagine clubs who might be interested in him coughing up such a fee. There will be plenty strikers going for free. We will be doing well to get £100k from anyone

10 hours ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

He's a set piece maestro as well, so hopefully it all works out and we see some fucking goals.

Hopefully end the short corners routine that never really works out and ends up with the opposing team breaking away.

I dont see England doing that ? They could as they only play the dross of europe and win all their games comfortably. 

Just now, WesthillWanderersFC said:

Is he not just regurgitating what a lot of folk said on here before his appointment? 
Look at earlier pages on this thread.

Maybe, certainly not myself however. 

He mentions an "old pal" says the USL is muck. 

That's Gordon Parks who's highlight was nae getting a game for Dundee United and a few fleeting appearances for Clyde in the mid 90s. 

Smacks of a slight hint of jealousy that and how dare we appoint outwith the usual merry go round of absolute crep 

34 minutes ago, Zeus said:

Maybe, certainly not myself however. 

He mentions an "old pal" says the USL is muck. 

That's Gordon Parks who's highlight was nae getting a game for Dundee United and a few fleeting appearances for Clyde in the mid 90s. 

Smacks of a slight hint of jealousy that and how dare we appoint outwith the usual merry go round of absolute crep 

I don’t think you can argue with most of it to be honest.

The perception IS that it’s an old pals act. Glass wouldn’t have been even quoted for the job but for the Atlanta “partnership”.

The USL is muck.

His caretaker stint didn’t work out.

3 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

The perception IS that it’s an old pals act. Glass wouldn’t have been even quoted for the job but for the Atlanta “partnership”.

The USL is muck.

You can't but it's not really a new or interesting point of view. 

9 minutes ago, Sheeptastic said:

You can't but it's not really a new or interesting point of view. 

Stopped buying Daily Retard and Scum an eternity ago. 

Predominantly because of non-sport absolute pish but their sport coverage is usually complete drivel at the best of times.

If Glass can end up winding them up even 50% of the time Fergie did, that'll more than do me?.

7 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

The USL is muck.

How do we know the USL is muck though?  The usual dour negative view as per usual.  Doing my heid in. 

Have we all got insider knowledge? I'd wager a good bet they are all coached to a better standard than that of the championship. 

It was the same when Cathro was appointed at Hearts ( :laughing: ) , the Weegie cunts jumped all over it cos it was something different. He was a complete drip of a man with zero presence or personality which didn't help but to me so far Glass speaks well and has something about him. If we get Alan Russell in then even better. 

These bastards just canna wait to jump all over us. Fuck them. 

10 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

The USL is muck.

You cannot argue with some of the facts but it is the tone that is my problem. None of this when Gerrard and Lennon were appointed. The USL I am not sure of but the MLS is probably on a par with the SPFL. The only difference being that they try to play better football in the MLS across the board. Most of the Weegie media clearly do not like Cormack and they will be happy if Glass fails. I just hope we start using this kind of thing to motivate the club to have a bit more balls 

3 minutes ago, Sheepo said:

You cannot argue with some of the facts but it is the tone that is my problem. None of this when Gerrard and Lennon were appointed. The USL I am not sure of but the MLS is probably on a par with the SPFL. The only difference being that they try to play better football in the MLS across the board. Most of the Weegie media clearly do not like Cormack and they will be happy if Glass fails. I just hope we start using this kind of thing to motivate the club to have a bit more balls 

Correct. 

They dinna like someone mixing it up. 

The USL could well be muck but this pal of Gordon Parks? Probably some bitter arsehole who never made the grade. 

I'm not looking too much into his caretaker stint either. He didn't sign any players, brought through some youth after de boer leaving them in a bit of a shambles by all accounts... Sounds a bitty familiar eh? 

6 minutes ago, Sheepo said:

I agree with the bit about the tone, it’s almost sneering.

But he’s accurate in what he is saying. A lot of us have said the very same thing. 

20 minutes ago, Sheepo said:

I’m sure it was Cormack who compared the USL to the Scottish Championship in standard.

What Gordon Parks failed to do was say that Glass main (possibly sole) role whilst in charge of Atlanta 2 was to produce players for Atlanta’s first team.

It’s all irrelevant anyway. We’ll find out soon enough if he’s up to it or not. 
My gut says no, I really hope I’m wrong. 

48 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

I’m sure it was Cormack who compared the USL to the Scottish Championship in standard.

What Gordon Parks failed to do was say that Glass main (possibly sole) role whilst in charge of Atlanta 2 was to produce players for Atlanta’s first team.

It’s all irrelevant anyway. We’ll find out soon enough if he’s up to it or not. 
My gut says no, I really hope I’m wrong. 

He mentions Cormack's Scottish Championship comparison in the column. 

I used to watch the MLS and USL a lot a few years back. The former is a strange one because of the gulf in quality you see even in the same team, but overall the standard of play is certainly not worse than the Premiership. Some teams would beat most of the top flight here. 

I think the USL-Scottish Championship comparison is fair from what I saw, although it's been a few years since I've consistently watched it. Would imagine it has improved since then though. 

On 3/27/2021 at 10:41 AM, Yorston Vasey said:

We've already established this guy puts his training drill videos on YouTube for free. I can watch them and tell the players what to do. The club might need to spring for a YouTube Premium account because the adverts would get fucking annoying, but yes I absolutely could do that.

14 hours ago, G31DON said:

I'm sure he cries himself to sleep every night at what might have been...

Inzaghi played as a striker for several Italian clubs, and spent the most notable spells of his club career with Juventus and Milan, winning two UEFA Champions League titles (2003, 2007), and three Serie A titles (1998, 2004, 2011). He is the seventh highest scorer in Italy, with 313 goals scored in official matches. He is currently the fifth-highest goal scorer in European club competitions with 70 goals, behind only Robert Lewandowski, Raúl, Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. He is also Milan's top international goal scorer in the club's history with 43 goals. He also holds the record for most hat-tricks in Serie A with 10.

Cheers Wikipedia. He was born offside he'll die offside.