Aberdeen 3 - 0 Kilmarnock

Aberdeen are in a class of their own. And by that I mean, Rangers and Celtic are a class above ATM, we're in the next tier, then there's the Motherwells and Killies etc, then the rest.

It's going to be a pretty dire next few seasons as the bigots get stronger and pull away even further whilst we just plod away looking to make semis/finals and a European spot.

I’d agree and whilst we could spend a shitload to not draw with Hibs or get beat in Paisley the reality is we could do that and still be third.

Of all the things we can address in terms of bang for buck I still say it’s Europe.

Don't agree with that at all

If we were a class above Motherwell and Killie we wouldn't be drawing with St Johnstone and Hibs at home and getting beat by St Mirren. 

Although I do agree with us plodding away and it being very boring for the next few seasons if McInnes stays. Quite honestly, if I had to guess, I think it will get worse if McInnes goes. But I'd still like to take the risk... if he stays I don't see trophies or getting closer to celtic/therangers. So at worst it will just be the same but without getting to play 2 or 3 rounds of European pre-qualifiers

We will always lose the occasional game against teams below us. There's not a huge gap between us and the sides below us, not compared to Celtic and the us. 

I can't see us getting much closer to Rangers and Celtic regardless of the manager the way things are going currently, unless we have an injection of cash from somewhere.

Another manager might make us more competitive in the games against them though, giving us a chance in the cups. We really need to gain traction in Europe. The money from that alone would be massive and could push us on. There's no reason why we shouldn't be getting into the group stages every few years.

There’s no reason why we don’t get into the euro groups every couple of years?,REALLY,in context of euro qualification, we are one of the worst teams to try and qualify,so let’s see.burnley had a team 3 times the cost of our team at least, they then played baseksihir who had spent 50 million on players over the course of 2 seasons and both didn’t make it olympiakos made it through that year with a 100% failure rate if we were to play them,FACT.porto,Milan,levski Sofia,legia Warsaw etc didn’t qualify either, there’s teams that consistently spend over 30 million per year on players that don’t qualify for Europe proper, but aye there’s no reason why we get in 2nd rate English journeymen on free transfers and struggle to qualify every year, a right head scratcher that

• Downvote 3

There’s no reason why we don’t get into the euro groups every couple of years?,REALLY,in context of euro qualification, we are one of the worst teams to try and qualify,so let’s see.burnley had a team 3 times the cost of our team at least, they then played baseksihir who had spent 50 million on players over the course of 2 seasons and both didn’t make it olympiakos made it through that year with a 100% failure rate if we were to play them,FACT.porto,Milan,levski Sofia,legia Warsaw etc didn’t qualify either, there’s teams that consistently spend over 30 million per year on players that don’t qualify for Europe proper, but aye there’s no reason why we get in 2nd rate English journeymen on free transfers and struggle to qualify every year, a right head scratcher that

I feel a BOOM incoming.

Later that year olympiakos sold one of there mediocre players to Southampton for 16 million and we all love that wee prick,there’s only been 1 year that we would have realistically qualified and it was the apollon year as they got somebody on par with them in the qualifying round (last round) and beat them,would have still only served up a 50/50 if we beat apollon.think it was mijtilland they beat.

We lost to Maribor, a team we should have beaten comfortably.

We lost to Rijeka, a team we allowed to bend us over and do us without a wimper

We lost to Almaty, another team we should have beaten.

Yes, we can quality every few years, but it depends on who we face obviously! Hence why I said every few years. 

I think it is far easier winning a cup against the arse cheeks as long as one of them take each other out leaving one of them and winning in a one of game against them,winning over a period of 38 games is nigh on impossible as it stands due to the superiority of the squads!, qualifying the 4 rounds of Europe is almost a pipe dream as we will be unlucky on the draw in at least 2 out of 4 rounds,or not unlucky per say but in round three and four we will automatically be unseeded for those rounds!,and realistically get far better teams than ourselves and it’s over 2 legs of course so makes it even harder! Yes we have in recent times got the better of an arguably a harder Groningen and Rijeka although not in the same year so to do that in 4 straight games is asking a lot of our players!,and of course lightning doesn’t strike twice as Rijeka proven that fact.as a said teams like cska Moscow,baseksihir,Milan,braga,Ajax,Partizan,Dynamo Kiev,Burnley who have a much bigger budget and are massive clubs financially have all failed in recent years,euro league is like the champions league we’re it is set up for the same big clubs to compete with the usual 2-3 that managed to qualify somehow,the rest is the same teams that were in it the year prior, until our chairman ploughs in serious cash which would be unsustainable for us that haven’t a huge support or a great tv deal to subsidise that if we did spend big but didn’t qualify for Europe or challenged the title seriously.we could end up like the rat fucks and titanic it!

The only saving grace for clubs like ours,genk,slovan bratislava,vitoral,zorya,s of this world will really benefit from the euro league 2 as we should mostly qualify from that tournament when it comes into force in a few years, it is what it is unfortunately

We lost to Maribor, a team we should have beaten comfortably.

We lost to Rijeka, a team we allowed to bend us over and do us without a wimper

We lost to Almaty, another team we should have beaten.

Yes, we can quality every few years, but it depends on who we face obviously! Hence why I said every few years.

But we haven’t qualified in 5-6 attempts have we?

We have no right to beat Rijeka your under selling them as shite when there far better than us,you also forget there’s another round to qualify after beating the likes of Maribor,kairat and Rijeka who are far better rated than us so no not at all,the 3 qualifiers the one we keep getting beat in is a lot weaker rated than the teams we could face in the playoff round

You also said that it's a 50/50 when it comes to the play off.

The point being, if we had a bit of luck, and, for the Maribor especially, a competent ref, we'd have been in the play offs a couple of times out of those 5/6 times. Which gives us a chance.   The money from making it into the Europa league would help push us on and look at doing it again.

Look at the Huns, they've had a much easier run of games than we've had. Had we that path, we would have been kicking ourselves for not qualifying. 

You also said that it's a 50/50 when it comes to the play off.

The point being, if we had a bit of luck, and, for the Maribor especially, a competent ref, we'd have been in the play offs a couple of times out of those 5/6 times. Which gives us a chance.   The money from making it into the Europa league would help push us on and look at doing it again.

Look at the Huns, they've had a much easier run of games than we've had. Had we that path, we would have been kicking ourselves for not qualifying. 

You honestly think this Aberdeen team would have beaten Midget Land and Legia Warsaw?? 

Good een

Oh I'm sitting somewhere in the middle on this debate btw

And as a said when entering the competition we are one of the lowest rated teams going into the Europa league,and by the 3rd round we definitely are in the top 5 of lowest rated teams so realistically we have no right to think we should qualify for Europe at all!,it’s sad but it’s true we as a club players wise simply aren’t good enough and barring 4 lucky draws where some big teams have had a mare and fucked it themselves (Rijeka in 2015)Groningen as well and then get the weaker teams that got through luckily!,that’s about it,in theory we could get a wolves,milan,psv,frankfurt,Basel every single 3rd round draw in the future, the gap is only getting bigger

What a load of nonsense. 

Excuses excuses. Are you actually Stewart Milne??

Yeah it's difficult to qualify for Europe but it's definitely something we should be aiming for. We should have at least made the play off round in one of the last 5 seasons.

Course it is something we should be aiming for or then what’s the point as I said it’s all about luck,some Irish mob made it to the playoff round last year for fucks sake but got beat,made it farther than us in recent terms but we are far better than the Irish mob, historically we are unlucky and the arse cheeks are lucky with there draws, better believe if they got Milan braga sporting psv they would have also succumbed,am just really realistic when it comes to Europe qualification,as I am interested in a lot of European football,

Just a quick stat for us all

Apollon the team we should have beat had a right good LB by the name of Jandor,moved to Italy the year later,when he was playing for apollon he was on 35 thousand pounds per week playing for apollon,what Aberdeen player gets even close to that in wages?none that’s who,Cypriot football top clubs do not buy players,only do they get them on free transfers and pay them big wages instead and sell on for a transfer fee for them,it’s a good model to have if you haven’t got money to spend on transfer fees and let’s you get better talent than you could normally afford,upping the level of qaulity within your team while giving you a chance of getting good money for them when they leave.

The load of nonsense comment was about us beating Groningen and Rijeka was because they fucked up, rather than us doing well and beating them.

Was a bit of both really,we took them by surprise as they were technically better teams with bigger budgets and they underestimated us and we had the weapons to hurt them ie the speed of Hayes,and our better players on form McLean,McGinn.look what happened when Rijeka knew what they would be up against,didn’t even lay a glove on them

The first time we played Rijeka the first leg away we caught them by surprise took the game to them and just attacked from the get go resulting in us scoring first.at home they had a splendid home European record of not getting beat there including results against,dortmund and Real Madrid not Beatin in years there,pressure was on them to respond with the crowd getting agitated,so they started to open up and press us leaving holes in there back line which we took full advantage of with the pace of McGinn and Hayes and the outball of McLean to create killer 60 yard passes.after the second went in they were shell shocked and lost all composure,the second leg was more of the normal Rijeka 2-2 draw at Pittodrie we’re they looked very dangerous,was one of McInnes better tactical performances and really is the barometer in which you can see McInnes slide as we went into the game this year with no intention of attacking them but meekly sitting back and defending against a team that can hurt you by giving them time,sadly this time we didn’t have the pace on the wings or a player that could retain the ball and pass,was a shocking tactical performance by a manager that appears to give in when the realisation sets in that we are playing a more qaulity opposition ie (arse cheeks) instead off giving it a go at least,so no different mentalities between the 2 Rijeka games the first one when he was up and coming,excited,invested,just after a cup win and now tired,disheveled,Beaton down accepting of his fate instead of coming up with new solutions to problems when they arise,now he puts on the trusted players and blames anything he can when it goes tits up ie injuries, sickening

I am in no way a McInnes fan now, I was when he first started his tenure but as his stock slid as did his effort,tactical nous,ability to create a strong dressing room mentality, and getting the best out of his players has now turned to ridiculous stubbornness on picking his same 11,making transfer mistakes repeatedly,buying in players with rizla paper legs then moans that there is always a injury crisis at Aberdeen,and the worst attribute he has picked up and that is folding like a cheap suit when playing against better teams, a miss Ferguson did nae give a fuck what was in front of him be it Bayern or Brechin

Weegie clown in talking shite shocker.

The huns were marginally better than us last season and managed to not only qualify for the groups but get out of them as well.

Away take your face for a shite you loser