Aberdeen FC confirm Jimmy Thelin appointment ✍️ ×

Aberdeen V Celtic (0 - 2)

I don't think this is the big one.

At some point we're going to have a setback, and it's entirely down to how we respond to that that will determine what kind of season we're in for. I see what you mean about momentum, but momentum will only last so long, whether it stops on Saturday or beyond.

For sure Bri, but a win and the momentum from it can the have a huge impact on how they do react when they have the inevitable set back.

I suppose we'll find out in time :)

To my mind this is a big game, a huge game. Where it stands comparative to other big games we've had, who cares.

Of course it's only 3 points, and 3 points we normally wouldn't even expect to pick up.

But its what winning would do for everyone, from the team, to the fans. Win this, even if its a weakend Celtic team, the belief should be sky high going forward if we can beat Celtic we can beat anyone on the league. The players will know that they are a good side, and have confidence that they can and will win matches. Further to this the buzz that it would help create around the whole place would be fantastic. Last but not least, win this, with Pittodrie bouncing, and how many of the fans will enjoy the buzz and the atmosphere and be back for the St Johnstone game, how many would want to go down to Tynecastle and roar us on the following week.

Our fan base has been slipping away, due to the mind numbing dross served up in recent years, that can't be addressed over night, and will be very difficult to ever fully repair, but a win this weekend, and the momentum that could then give the team and the fans for the following weeks could really help to bring the fans back.

As others have said, if we lose, but play the right way and don't get the breaks, I'll be dissappointed, but its all you can ask of the team, if we put in the limp kind of display that we did in the same fixture last year, I'll be gutted.

100% spot on. +1

Aye, fingers crossed we can keep the feel good factor up.

You driving up early doors Saturday I take it?

Usually would be but I'm actually staying in the Holiday Inn out in Westhill on the Friday night, my parents come over from Lochaber, and I'm taking my brother and eldest son up, so we kind of make it a wee family meet up, and means we can have a lie in after a few Peronis :)

You and your "crew" getting the train? Is there many Tims on the train when you do that?

Haha aye, we never usually get the train due to the amount of Tims on it (usually drive or minibus) so it'll probably be a "dry train" all the way up, need to make some special cola on Friday night ;)

Last time I got the train was that time you saw me with Stewart for the United game, getting the train back with lots of jutes on it when you've won was quite enjoyable, wouldn't fancy the train with a bunch of gloating tims, IF they somehow beat us!

I didn't know you had so many you sometimes needed a minibus!!!!!!!!

Hopefully they are overlooking us and focusing on their far more important game in borat country.

CB's are vulnerable and this could be the game where zola becomes a cult hero - I'm nae holding my breath though.

Would keep the same team that started against Motherwell. I have no doubt that mcinnes will motivate the lads in front of a full crowd, something that I'd have no faith in any of the recent previous managers doing...

You don't like Aberdonians yet support our team, you defend fellow weegies & huns I.e. Calderwood, Langfield etc. Makes me wonder that's all. ;)

He does support Aberdeen...although the reason is probably more to do with "being different"...you have probably noticed he likes "being different"