Donside By-Election

cow

Outwith this forum, do people care that much about independence?

Not really spoken to anyone who is really arsed barring when I come on here.

Older generation very much so, they are pro independence but other than that haven't met people who discuss it much or give a fuck.

Most of the older folk I've spoke to don't seem to care too much about independance, like many 'NO' voters all they come out with is 'things are fine at the moment, why bother'

It shouldn't really be a question of how much better or worse off you'll be it should be about whether you think it's acceptable for a country to be ultimately governed by political party that not very many Scots voted for. Not very democratic is it?

It's rather obvious you have no interest in politics or current affairs min. I'm using your posts as evidence.

Au contraire my mixed up friend, I have an interest in most things including politics and current affairs, I'm just not that bothered about them, tell me Asda has a two for one offer on Stella then I would be. :cheers:

Most of the older folk I've spoke to don't seem to care too much about independance, like many 'NO' voters all they come out with is 'things are fine at the moment, why bother'

It shouldn't really be a question of how much better or worse off you'll be it should be about whether you think it's acceptable for a country to be ultimately governed by political party that not very many Scots voted for. Not very democratic is it?

the smoking ban in pubs isn't democratic, no one asked me, that's why I'll never vote for independence.

Au contraire my mixed up friend, I have an interest in most things including politics and current affairs, I'm just not that bothered about them, tell me Asda has a two for one offer on Stella then I would be. :cheers:

yeah but youve got a life DT.

dont be so hard on these loners mate, its not their fault theyre lifeless dweebs with zero social skills.

True pal, why worry about crap stuff when you can go have a beer instead, makes no sense. :dontknow:

too many monday morning politicians on here min dayts, thats the problem.

ahbdy thinks they ken their stuff; internet experts min.

bet they wouldnt debate it down the local face to face over a keg of stella min.

:cool:

:beer:

impossible to derial this thread cow min.

nae cunt knows what theyre on about, its hardly paxman stuff min.

You know what your doing. But, I, COW are venturing into the world of alcohol. I'm combining Politics with beer. Kinda like a younger Charles Kennedy.

*Opens first bottle of the weekend*

Cow, i found this and thought of you.

SOCIALISM: You have 2 cows, and you give one to your neighbour.

COMMUNISM: You have 2 cows. The State takes both and gives you some milk.

FASCISM: You have 2 cows. The State takes both and sells you some milk.

NAZISM: You have 2 cows. The State takes both and shoots you.

BUREAUCRATISM: You have 2 cows. The State takes both, shoots one, milks the other and then throws the milk away.

TRADITIONAL CAPITALISM: You have two cows. You sell one and buy a bull. Your herd multiplies, and the economy grows. You sell them and retire on the income.

SURREALISM: You have two giraffes. The government requires you to take harmonica lessons.

AN AMERICAN CORPORATION: You have two cows. You sell one, and force the other to produce the milk of four cows. Later, you hire a consultant to analyse why the cow has dropped dead.

ENRON VENTURE CAPITALISM: You have two cows. You sell three of them to your publicly listed company, using letters of credit opened by your brother-in-law at the bank, then execute a debt/equity swap with an associated general offer so that you get all four cows back, with a tax exemption for five cows. The milk rights of the six cows are transferred via an intermediary to a Cayman Island Company secretly owned by the majority shareholder who sells the rights to all seven cows back to your listed company. The annual report says the company owns eight cows, with an option on one more. Sell one cow to buy a new president of the United States, leaving you with nine cows. No balance sheet provided with the release. The public buys your bull.

FRENCH CORPORATION: You have two cows. You go on strike, organize a riot, and block the roads because you want three cows.

JAPANESE CORPORATION: You have two cows. You redesign them so they are one-tenth the size of an ordinary cow and produce twenty times the milk. You then create a clever cow cartoon image called 'cowkimon' and market it worldwide.

GERMAN CORPORATION: You have two cows. You re-engineer them so they live for 100 years, eat once a month, and milk themselves.

ITALIAN CORPORATION: You have two cows, but you don't know where they are. You decide to have lunch.

RUSSIAN CORPORATION: You have two cows. You count them and learn you have five cows. You count them again and learn you have 42 cows. You count them again and learn you have 2 cows. You stop counting cows and open another bottle of vodka.

SWISS CORPORATION: You have 5000 cows. None of them belong to you. You charge the owners for storing them.

CHINESE CORPORATION: You have two cows. You have 300 people milking them. You claim that you have full employment, and high bovine productivity, and arrest the newsman who reported the real situation.

BRITISH CORPORATION: You have two cows. Both are mad.

IRAQI CORPORATION: Everyone thinks you have lots of cows. You tell them that you have none. No one believes you, so they bomb the **** out of you and invade your country. You still have no cows, but at least now you are part of a Democracy.

WELSH CORPORATION: You have two cows. The one on the left looks very attractive.

AUSTRALIAN CORPORATION: You have two cows. Business seems pretty good. You close the office and go for a few beers to celebrate.

INDIAN CORPORATION: You have two cows and you worship them.

Excellent point. Scotland has 73 MPs in Westminster Parliament... only ONE is Tory. Yet, they govern us.

Democratic? Fucking shambolic, more like. How anyone can see this as a system that is representative of Scotland and its interests is beyond me.

Excellent point. Scotland has 73 MPs in Westminster Parliament... only ONE is Tory. Yet, they govern us.

Democratic? Fucking shambolic, more like. How anyone can see this as a system that is representative of Scotland and its interests is beyond me.

Another excellent reason to vote YES.

Do you see a trend min?

Cow, this is 'the pub'.

See if you came into my pub with your pringle jumper tied round your neck and your stinking attitude I'd make sure fatty Thelma sat on you.

I never thought I would see such a terrible Internet persona again after Millertime but you take the biscuit.

Outwith this forum, do people care that much about independence?

Not really spoken to anyone who is really arsed barring when I come on here.

Older generation very much so, they are pro independence but other than that haven't met people who discuss it much or give a fuck.

If true, I'm surprised to hear this. Old people hate/fear change. No?

Cow, this is 'the pub'.

See if you came into my pub with your pringle jumper tied round your neck and your stinking attitude I'd make sure fatty Thelma sat on you.

I never thought I would see such a terrible Internet persona again after Millertime but you take the biscuit.

Hmmm.

Let me guess, you're actually bothered, you are a hard 'No'. Bothered enough to vote Scottish independence thread, but you can't come up with any reason to justify your illogical stance, so you resort to personal abuse.

It must be horrible to be so bitter.

Another excellent reason to vote YES.

Do you see a trend min?

Too many people still don't seem to get it, though... Ruth Davidson let it slip that her party will see to it that there will be no Referendum in future. People must ask themselves, HOW this can be achieved, other than limiting the powers of the Scottish Parliament?

Put simply, there will be no "devo max". Ca-moron took it off the table and insisted on an "In/Out" vote only. Now Davidson has confirmed that her party will take drastic measures to shut us up.

Wake up, people.

Scotland has 59 MPs in Westminster and 20% of them (12) are in government.

Onionists, as Cow calls them, might point out that only 10% of the Scottish MPs support Independence and yet there is to be a referendum on that issue and they might ask how anyone can see that as a system that is representative of Scotland and its interests?

Was interesting to see President Clinton's observations about the importance of there being an honest effort to list the consequences of the vote, one way or another and perhaps tellingly

When you get a question like this, how you respond to it, and how respectfully you treat it, and how honestly you try to listen to other people and then come to the practical conclusion, is sometimes as important as the decision that’s made.

Wise words from the cigar lover there.

• Downvote 3

Scotland has 59 MPs in Westminster and 20% of them (12) are in government.

Onionists, as Cow calls them, might point out that only 10% of the Scottish MPs support Independence and yet there is to be a referendum on that issue and they might ask how anyone can see that as a system that is representative of Scotland and its interests?

Was interesting to see President Clinton's observations about the importance of there being an honest effort to list the consequences of the vote, one way or another and perhaps tellingly

Wise words from the cigar lover there.

Far too sensible a post for this thread monkey!

Jocky Balboa, on 21 Jun 2013 - 16:04, said:snapback.png

Excellent point. Scotland has 73 MPs in Westminster Parliament...

Jocky, I think you will find there have NEVER been 73 MP's from Scotland (according to Wiki).

If you cant even be arsed to search the web for accurate info then it is obvious you will not have an accurate argument.

The number of MP's from Scotland (as opposed to the number of Scottish MP's) was reduced from 72 to 59 in 2005 to partially address "The West Lothian Question", because with the creation of the home for useless ex-councillors (Holyrood) the electorate in Scotland were (are) over-represented.

Jocky Balboa, on 21 Jun 2013 - 16:04, said:snapback.png

Jocky, I think you will find there have NEVER been 73 MP's from Scotland (according to Wiki).

If you cant even be arsed to search the web for accurate info then it is obvious you will not have an accurate argument.

The number of MP's from Scotland (as opposed to the number of Scottish MP's) was reduced from 72 to 59 in 2005 to partially address "The West Lothian Question", because with the creation of the home for useless ex-councillors (Holyrood) the electorate in Scotland were (are) over-represented.

Apologies, I forgot about the reduction to 59.

Still, 1 out of 59 MP's being Tory... hardly democratic, is it?