Taxi Driving!

daytripping

Anyone ever been involved in the taxi business?

At the Cloggy house every day I see a load of them parked up in their BMW'S and AUDI'S drinking tea, must be some good money involved in the daytime airport stuff, wouldn't mind giving it a blast myself in the future.

Meeting different people, seeing a bit of the area and being paid not bad money, got to be better than sitting in an office. Not sure if the town centre stuff on a Saturday night would be much fun but it couldn't be that bad.

Anyone know how long it takes to get qualified and set up and how much it costs?

Costs a fair bit as im sure you need to change your car every 3 years?

Dont need to own your car though. My girlfriends dad is a taxi driver. He hires his car off of Rainbow. Had about 5 different cars last year, Has the advantage that if your car is off the road you get another one straight away rather than be off the road.

At the Cloggy house every day I see a load of them parked up in their BMW'S and AUDI'S drinking tea, must be some good money involved in the daytime airport stuff, wouldn't mind giving it a blast myself in the future.

Meeting different people, seeing a bit of the area and being paid not bad money, got to be better than sitting in an office. Not sure if the town centre stuff on a Saturday night would be much fun but it couldn't be that bad.

Anyone know how long it takes to get qualified and set up and how much it costs?

2 of my uncles are taxi drivers, usual stories of nae half as good as it used to be because of petrol prices etc but they still manage to spend 3 days working and 4 on the piss every week.

Would probably be OK doing the airport run but it takes years to get into that. For most its dealing with drunken pricks on a Saturday night and knocking back sluts fae northfield that think a toothless bj will make up for the 15 quid they dont have for their fair.

if she genuinely didn't have the money it's better than nothing.

I'm a bit concerned about doing the knowledge, I know Aberdeen well but have a crap memory, how would one go about recalling all the street names??

Do you need that these days?

Sat Nav with "shortest route" disabled is how most taxi drivers find there way about these days.

Was thinking of taking early retirement and doing this until they stopped final salary pensions , dt.

So I went along to ComCabs , who take you through the process. They may still do.

I decided against it and still 'tough it out' here and doubt whether I'll bother now.

Phone them up and ask if they are still taking guys on.

ComCab (Aberdeen), Burnside Drive, Dyce, Aberdeen, AB21 0HW01224 35 35 35

Stuff like insurance is expensive if you're going down the own car route , you're working the first two or three days of the week just to pay off your expenses...and it's handy if you are a mechanic or know one.

Despite being BT's highest paid employee, funtime Frankie has looking into this in the past. :D

http://www.afc-chat.co.uk/forums/index.php?showtopic=9079&st=0&p=152932&hl=delivery&fromsearch=1

As a front for heroin dealing no doubt.

I always used to think to myself when growing up, these weegies are maniacs, total savages.

Torching each others houses over ice cream FFS.

I'd hate to see what they would do over something valuable I was thinking to myself, the mivvy market is savagely competitive down there.

Then the penny dropped.

P,

Just thinking about my options right now, have been in this job 15 years and the thought of doing the same job for another 15 drives me bonkers, own boss, own business ideas, that's the obvious one that jumped out but i'm open to all ideas offers.

Aye , it's attractive the thought of a change , if you are stuck in a rut( a rut that most of us have to endure sooner or later , in later in life especially ).

It's a gamble tho'.....the reward might not be worth the effort. Mebbe better to spice up your recreational time.....or try a little part time work before commiting.

Better the devil you know etc etc

Dayts,

its a perfick job for you.

i can picture it now. grizzled ASC vet daytripping, trawling round the mean steets of aberdeen in the wee small hours looking for some utility crew or tufty club to ambush.

still, with the tax benefits you'lll be able to get yourself a nice automatic panzer wagon like all the other insomniacs.