Jump to content



Photo
* * * * - 28 votes

Sevco Thread


  • Please log in to reply
26289 replies to this topic

#26281 OFFLINE   shut up meg

shut up meg

    Cult Hero

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,176 posts
  • Joined 14-August 16

Posted 12 November 2018 - 05:52 PM

His first booking was a joke though.


  • 0

#26282 OFFLINE   Shinniesta

Shinniesta

    Fan's Favourite

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,116 posts
  • Joined 10-March 17

Posted 12 November 2018 - 05:53 PM

Michael Stewart and Stephen Thompson disagreed on Sportscene on whether it was a penalty or not. What they did both agree on is that McHugh was very harshly treated in being sent off for his two offences. I actually thought it was a pen but no way did McHugh deserve to be sent off in that game.

But when Craig Thomson is the ref nothing surprises me.
  • 0

#26283 OFFLINE   Millertime

Millertime

    Chairman

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 31,164 posts
  • Joined 14-January 06

Posted 12 November 2018 - 06:44 PM

hun ^


Bore
  • -4

#26284 OFFLINE   RUL

RUL

    Director of Football

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,929 posts
  • Joined 14-October 07

Posted 12 November 2018 - 07:39 PM

It was a fucking penalty, end of

 

I've seen it and still think it was a fucking dive.


  • 1

#26285 OFFLINE   mcdougall(4)

mcdougall(4)

    Dons Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,503 posts
  • Joined 07-February 17

Posted 12 November 2018 - 07:43 PM

That's as blatant a penalty as you'll see... the guy had both arms above his head FFS. 

 

His first booking however was an absolute nonsense, he won the ball fairly against Morelos who then proceeded to jump in the air like a scalded cat. Ref: "oh, eh, that'll be a yellow then". 

 

 

 

Agree with this. 


  • 0

#26286 OFFLINE   BWG

BWG

    #TopDon

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,392 posts
  • Joined 01-June 15

Posted 12 November 2018 - 07:48 PM

That's as blatant a penalty as you'll see... the guy had both arms above his head FFS. 

 

His first booking however was an absolute nonsense, he won the ball fairly against Morelos who then proceeded to jump in the air like a scalded cat. Ref: "oh, eh, that'll be a yellow then". 

 

Motherwell's defending after the red card was reminiscent of ours at Parkhead in The Game Which Must Not Be Mentioned*, absolutely hideous stuff. 

 

 

 

 

 

*Aye, that 9-0 disaster... thanks McGhee. 

 

I think you'll find it was a dive sir.  We are all in agreement.


  • 0

#26287 OFFLINE   robbojunior

robbojunior

    All Time Great

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,075 posts
  • Joined 19-October 07

Posted 12 November 2018 - 11:01 PM

It was 100% not a pen.

The rules for handball are that it must be deliberate. If anyone is saying he deliberately handled that ball then they do not know what they are talking about.

No other consideration matters. Position of arms, outcome etc are all irrelevant. It has to be deliberate.
  • 0

#26288 OFFLINE   Dr_Manhattan

Dr_Manhattan

    Breakthrough Player

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 195 posts
  • Joined 21-June 18

Posted 12 November 2018 - 11:08 PM

It was 100% not a pen.

The rules for handball are that it must be deliberate. If anyone is saying he deliberately handled that ball then they do not know what they are talking about.

No other consideration matters. Position of arms, outcome etc are all irrelevant. It has to be deliberate.

 

Agreed. This 'unnatural position' pish is wide open to interpretation and needs to be dropped.

 

Hypothetical... a through ball is played to the striker who is borderline offside. Defender has his arms in the air claiming for offside. Meanwhile, the striker's shot is saved and rebounds to another player who blooters it off the defender's raised arm who isn't even looking in the direction of play.

 

Penalty?


Edited by Dr_Manhattan, 12 November 2018 - 11:09 PM.

  • 0

#26289 OFFLINE   Reed or deed

Reed or deed

    Dons Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,070 posts
  • Joined 23-September 15

Posted 12 November 2018 - 11:20 PM

Agreed. This 'unnatural position' pish is wide open to interpretation and needs to be dropped.
 
Hypothetical... a through ball is played to the striker who is borderline offside. Defender has his arms in the air claiming for offside. Meanwhile, the striker's shot is saved and rebounds to another player who blooters it off the defender's raised arm who isn't even looking in the direction of play.
 
Penalty?


Against the Huns,yes. For the Huns, no.
  • 0

#26290 OFFLINE   strachanmcgheegoal

strachanmcgheegoal

    1st Team Manager

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,885 posts
  • Joined 29-September 11

Posted 13 November 2018 - 10:51 AM

I can accept the unnnatural position thing for the penalty. If his arms aren’t there the balls not hitting them. Booking him for the deliberate intent is where Thomson loses the plot. I assume that was Robinson’s point.
  • 0




3 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users