Neds (The Film)

Big Man

I thought the film was brilliant! Only seen it once in the cinema, and would like to see it again.

I think living in Glasgow, and working with young people who come from Scheme's like in Ned's (some of the scene's filmed near my work) makes you see that in the last 40 or 50 years not much has changed in working class Britain. Gang culture still exists, and especially in Glasgow - carrying of a weapon still a major problem. I also liked how the story showed schools labelling people, and it eventually coming true. The guy was a bright young lad, but because he came from a known family he never got the same chance with teachers, or parents, as is still the case today.

I thought the film was brilliant! Only seen it once in the cinema, and would like to see it again.

I think living in Glasgow, and working with young people who come from Scheme's like in Ned's (some of the scene's filmed near my work) makes you see that in the last 40 or 50 years not much has changed in working class Britain. Gang culture still exists, and especially in Glasgow - carrying of a weapon still a major problem. I also liked how the story showed schools labelling people, and it eventually coming true. The guy was a bright young lad, but because he came from a known family he never got the same chance with teachers, or parents, as is still the case today.

I thought the film was absolutely superb! Masterful.

The use of imagery and surrealism was fantastic.

Like you say, the school scenes especially stood out in my mind. I liked how the tribalism of gang culture was reinforced visually by the idea of separation. Class 3A and 3B are separated by that thin dividing wall, when he delivers the paper to canta's house they are separated by a thin wall, class R are cocooned in their own separate hut.

I love that scene where John moves up to class 3A and the door swings surrealy of its hinges for a second and you just catch that split second glimpse of him looking back into his old class...

Oh, and the ending :cry:

Borderline 10/10 material for me.

:itch-chin:

Wonder where your from :itch-chin:

Film is a rack of shite. Full of the byraway culture and the dregs of our society. Who wants to watch a bunch of minks throw glass bottles at eachother.

Weegies are well up themselves, think they're all arty farty and stuff, and love to bang on about Glasgow as if it's some sort of cultural mecca, look at Billy Connolly for a start, what a bellend of the highest order, talks all posh and stuff now and his wife is full of the most annoying and patronising shit it's enough to make your ears bleed.

Pair of cunts is what they are in reality.

It's all false bonhomie. They're weegie bastards to me, and they're never gonna shake that off, no matter how much they try and re-invent themselves.

I've never seen this film, I dinna want to see it, it will be full of people like those outlined above, thinking they're Erchie as they nasally whine their way through some shite which glorifies the violent scummy behaviour of their habitat.

If I directed such a film, I'd show the true picture, there's no glory in it, just behaviour that would make a snake look like Mother Theresa 24/7 fae every cunt in it.

the ending was utter pish.......

Explain yourself?

Weegies are well up themselves, think they're all arty farty and stuff, and love to bang on about Glasgow as if it's some sort of cultural mecca, look at Billy Connolly for a start, what a bellend of the highest order, talks all posh and stuff now and his wife is full of the most annoying and patronising shit it's enough to make your ears bleed.

It's all false bonhomie. They're weegie bastards to me, and they're never gonna shake that off, no matter how much they try and re-invent themselves.

I've never seen this film, I dinna want to see it, it will be full of people like those outlined above, thinking they're Erchie as they nasally whine their way through some shite which glorifies the violent scummy behaviour of their habitat.

If I directed such a film, I'd show the true picture, there's no glory in it, just behaviour that would make a snake look like Mother Theresa 24/7 fae every cunt in it.

That's what Peter Mullen did tup:

Peter+Mullen+Premiere+NEDS+2011+Tribeca+Film+9oL9gfqQ-Rll.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kr7Opycx_yY

You're tremendous! :thumbup1:

Great post Tup especially the bit about Connolly nothing but a mink who thinks he's upper class

Wonder where your from :itch-chin:

Film is a rack of shite. Full of the byraway culture and the dregs of our society. Who wants to watch a bunch of minks throw glass bottles at eachother.

I'm from Huntly, whats your point :dontknow: ??

Tup I don't think the film glorifies it at all. Certainly didn't for me anyway! and spoken to some folk that have seen it, and they say it made them feel uncomfortable and embarrassed as it showing Glasgow in such a horrible, horrible way and portrayed it very accurately. Inner City problem exist all over Britain, and could have been set anywhere and been relevant.

I also liked how the story showed schools labelling people, and it eventually coming true. The guy was a bright young lad, but because he came from a known family he never got the same chance with teachers, or parents, as is still the case today.

That's a common wishy-washy excuse do-gooders use to explain away failure of the underclass... Weegies are to Scotland what the Black Hip-hop community is to America - failures of their own accord, despite the many opportunities afforded them. Whether it's "bigmanbyrawayspareabitochange" or "hey mudda fugga, da man be keepin' us down fo sho, y'all" the excuses are the same and equally nauseous.

I'm from Huntly, whats your point :dontknow: ??

Tup I don't think the film glorifies it at all. Certainly didn't for me anyway! and spoken to some folk that have seen it, and they say it made them feel uncomfortable and embarrassed as it showing Glasgow in such a horrible, horrible way and portrayed it very accurately. Inner City problem exist all over Britain, and could have been set anywhere and been relevant.

I know you, unless there are two Deco lookalikes in Huntly. I used to work with KB. Played against you at Lumsden tournament too.

Anyway, I think I will watch this film, it sounds funny.

• 2 months later...

I thought the film was absolutely superb! Masterful.

The use of imagery and surrealism was fantastic.

Like you say, the school scenes especially stood out in my mind. I liked how the tribalism of gang culture was reinforced visually by the idea of separation. Class 3A and 3B are separated by that thin dividing wall, when he delivers the paper to canta's house they are separated by a thin wall, class R are cocooned in their own separate hut.

I love that scene where John moves up to class 3A and the door swings surrealy of its hinges for a second and you just catch that split second glimpse of him looking back into his old class...

Borderline 10/10 material for me.

That imagery and surrealism sounds brilliant. Just amazing, truly out of this world.