Butteries

daytripping

Had Northsound on coming into work this morning and they were discussing resolutions, the DJ'S sidekick said she was on a diet and the DJ was tempting her with things to eat, one of which was a Buttery/rowie!

A woman then called in and said there was more fat in one buttery than there is in two fish suppers! :blink:

Surely that can't be right, I have 2 butteries for my mid morning break most days, does that mean I'd be healthier eating 3 fish suppers every morning.

Regards,

Confused fae Bucksburn.

Can anyone put my mind at ease.

Aye, I heard the same thing.

I didn't believe it to be honest - but hey, you never know.

Greigsy is a pleb though. His jokes are terrible.

The bird who's on the show with him needs to go on a diet, and she has a face for the radio!

The girl sounds so hot, I always imagined her to be a young blonde model type.........till I googled her one day. She isn't bad but not what I expected.

Aye i think they were originally made for the fishermen as its the only thing that would keep for that length of time at sea.

exactamundo.

just liek the locals miners in deon/cornwall who got their share of main meal and desert in equal measure from their pasty.

many other examples of food that has evolved to meet its local needs

Rowies are ace. Bad for you, but a North East delicacy.

As for Northsound :ThumbsDown:

If I listen to a local station it's Original.

Northsound go to Glasgow after a certain time, weegie cants.

The in demand in the evenings is great when they switch to Glasgow, Romeo fae Glasgow on the decks, the people who phone in are hilarious..........aye can ah get a wee tune for my girlfriend Chardonnay, am jist hinging aboot in ma motor........ :laughing:

Butteries were designed to have a high calorific value. First used at sea by fishermen , they were supposed to be an efficient means of taking nutrition( energy ) away to sea for days at a time. Long before the obesity epidemic like.

What goes in , must come out( or on ).

Rowies are ace. Bad for you, but a North East delicacy.

As for Northsound :ThumbsDown:

If I listen to a local station it's Original.

Northsound go to Glasgow after a certain time, weegie cants.

But also adored down south too. Whenever i travel down to see my uncle in Rochdale, he always asks if i can bring down a heap of rowies for him and his neighbours. They fucking love them down in Guffland :thumbup1:

I have relatives in Motherwell that used to ask us to take a few dozen down when we visited.

I took some on holiday to Cyprus and had with a cup of tea by the pool, wonder if any "real" (nae supermarket shite) rowie has been eaten further afield?

Had Northsound on coming into work this morning and they were discussing resolutions, the DJ'S sidekick said she was on a diet and the DJ was tempting her with things to eat, one of which was a Buttery/rowie!

A woman then called in and said there was more fat in one buttery than there is in two fish suppers! :blink:

Surely that can't be right, I have 2 butteries for my mid morning break most days, does that mean I'd be healthier eating 3 fish suppers every morning.

Regards,

Confused fae Bucksburn.

Can anyone put my mind at ease.

The average fish supper has about 600 calories

The average butterie has about 300 calories

Conclusion, the caller was a fat cow who can't count calories.

A fish supper also has less fat than a bigmac and chips and a lot less than a whopper and chips. Thats why yanks are fatter than us...

but she wasn't talking calories, only fat. there's a lot of fish in a fish supper too.. but how much fat?

Theres about 15g of fat in a buttery before its cooked so you'll probably be looking at around 10g once they are cooked.

There's about 9.5g of fat in every 100g of a fish supper. A haddock far Mike's is 250g minimum so I'm reaching the same conclusion as above, fat fuck without a clue.