Aberdeen City Centre

daytripping

3 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Reports today of Aberdeen suffering the worse job losses and/or reduction in available employment opportunities will be a major factor in the deadness of the city centre these days, not just the Chyna virus.

London this weekend was vibrant and despite widescale mask-wearing (except on buses weirdly), shops and hospitality were buzzing and maybe not quite as busy as average, still very busy. Jamaica-on-Thames where we spent Saturday afternoon a couple of miles south of Twickenham was fantastic with folk a'wye, (deer a'wye too weirdly, tame fuckers), the first feeling of normal life I'd come across for many months. There's an optimism and a total lack of fear on the streets down there. The dour negative Scots are too ready to accept the worst case scenario most of the time although in Aberdeen's case, perhaps with justification. Without hope, fight and energy, our city can only continue the trajectory it is on. 

We're being robbed of hope by the scottish assembly, the tier system even has strict rules at stage zero, fear is being pushed out daily, furlough away to end, jobs being lost, businesses being forced to close, oil price in decline, £2 billion wind farm manufacturing contract being lost abroad as the government won't help, can't even get a pint inside with your mates. I'd dread to think about how many lives this will cost and ruin, suicides will be through the roof, mental illness as well. This isn't any way to live. People can't see any light in the tunnel. In England it isn't being rammed down their throats every day and opportunities to pick up new work are not a problem. 

2 minutes ago, Poodler said:

If your bonus is cut, steal stock and sell it.

Ive benefitted massively from this scheme.

Should have done it earlier in the year, had masses of hand sanitizer when it was gold dust and test kits aplenty. Settled for a tube of superglue and some batteries, I'm just too honest. Tin of varnish as well, got a new bird table that needed treating, have become quite the lover of feathered birds this last few Months. Goldfinches are beautiful.

3 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

They're nice enough but you need at least three for a decent meal. 

Cat called squeeks comes into my garden from next door, pretty red ribbon with bell, looks so sweet, fucker is lethal, I've moved the table a few times to get it in the safest position, little cunt is always stalking birds. Even the neighbour says the bell doesn't work great, thing probs slays 3 a day!! Takes them home to her. Find feathers on the grass all the time. Love cats as well so it's a tough one.

6 hours ago, daytripping said:

Cat called squeeks comes into my garden from next door, pretty red ribbon with bell, looks so sweet, fucker is lethal, I've moved the table a few times to get it in the safest position, little cunt is always stalking birds. Even the neighbour says the bell doesn't work great, thing probs slays 3 a day!! Takes them home to her. Find feathers on the grass all the time. Love cats as well so it's a tough one.

Fuck cats*.

Poison the cunt.
Insidious, antisocial vermin.

*Not in a literal sense.

On 9/25/2020 at 4:17 PM, Simply Red said:

Psychocandy/JAMC

Possibly my favourite debut.

A phenomenal record.

Also:

Close Lobsters - Foxheads Stalk This Land

Pale Saints - The Comforts Of Madness

McCarthy - I Am A Wallet

Interpol  - Turn On The Bright Lights

Wedding Present - George Best

Pixies - Come On Pilgrim

Fuck, heaps more. Ran out of steam tho'.

4 minutes ago, Dad said:

Come on now MH son

Next one you see - give it a wee chance to form a bond - and that's you regretting speaking of the terrific wee bastards in this way

Heroes they are

Well, was bit tongue in cheek.

They are everywhere here in Cyprus, and did encounter a few yesterday on the beachfront on my daily morning exercise.

Couple of v friendly meowers, but I can;t get too friendly as allergic to the fuckers.

They were brought to the island to eradicate snakes, but population has exploded nae handy.

I have friends who are involved daily, herding up strays to hack their bollocks off / tie their tubes.

Ridiculous amount of work they do.

Many rescues end up strangely on a plane for adoption in Sweden and Germany.

Problem here, the kittens can get pumped at 4 or 5 months old, then subsequently pluff oot another 10 of the wee fuckers.

Oot of control.

1 hour ago, muttonhumper said:

Possibly my favourite debut.

A phenomenal record.

Also:

Close Lobsters - Foxheads Stalk This Land

Pale Saints - The Comforts Of Madness

McCarthy - I Am A Wallet

Interpol  - Turn On The Bright Lights

Wedding Present - George Best

Pixies - Come On Pilgrim

Fuck, heaps more. Ran out of steam tho'.

Good shouts?

I see theres a romanian wifie (professional beggar*) still begging on union street. Can the cops not lift her and deport the whole lot of them? She lives in a flat in torry paid for by us. As does her massive family. I can handle them being here but dont just beg you fucking smelly mutants. 

(*loved that Tori Amos banger)

35 minutes ago, cheesepipes said:

Theres an unassuming busker on Union Street around the UT Bridge area. Playing a selection of bluesy rock riffs etc and much more worthy of a pound than any of those filthy Romanian cockroaches. 

Plugged in amped up ready to rock. 

Id expect the maggots of ABZ to mostly ignore him. 

I heard him the other week....in Waterstones doorway...very good ?

Stevie Ray Vaughanesque?

38 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Watched a dude in Kelvingrove Park the other day. Nice wee Marshall practice amp hooked up to a car battery  Similar to what you describe, 12 bar blues and some bluegrass as well. Had a wee audience watching . Nice sunny day. Great vibe.

Id have given him a coupe of quid but I generally don't carry cash. . 

He probably had contactless 

1 minute ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Some East European tramp said to me in Sauchiehall St , when I told them I had no change " There's a cash machine over there, outside Tesco"  . 

I have had that outside Sainsbury's next to Mcginty's.....cheeky sod.  i just popped in and bought a whoopsie 5p sandwich and gave him it.....he wasn't impressed...Cant

36 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Lazy cunts. Looking back I wish id have given him directions to the nearest job centre. 

Im always thinking up great comebacks retrospectively.

There is nothing worse than this. When 2 hours after an event that has fucked you off you think of a hilarious comeback to destroy the perpetrator.

Then you contemplate going back to find them but realise the moment has gone.

Ah no.

4 hours ago, Simply Red said:

I see theres a romanian wifie (professional beggar*) still begging on union street. Can the cops not lift her and deport the whole lot of them? She lives in a flat in torry paid for by us. As does her massive family. I can handle them being here but dont just beg you fucking smelly mutants. 

(*loved that Tori Amos banger)

Can she play guitar?

On 10/27/2020 at 10:56 AM, cheesepipes said:

Theres an unassuming busker on Union Street around the UT Bridge area. Playing a selection of bluesy rock riffs etc and much more worthy of a pound than any of those filthy Romanian cockroaches. 

Plugged in amped up ready to rock. 

Id expect the maggots of ABZ to mostly ignore him. 

I think he works in Books n Beans. Or did. Nice guitar