Redundancy

mavv1903

Well after 25 years at Raytheon systems I am being made redundant 30th March 2018..FFS

Full closure of the semiconductor department the wanks..

Had my 1st interview in 25 years last week, no fun at all..

Going to be a weird feeling on that date walking out..

I know a lot have experienced this in the oil industry, it sucks.

Well after 25 years at Raytheon systems I am being made redundant 30th March 2018..FFS

Full closure of the semiconductor department the wanks..

Had my 1st interview in 25 years last week, no fun at all..

Going to be a weird feeling on that date walking out..

I know a lot have experienced this in the oil industry, it sucks.

Its shit at the time but having experienced it twice myself you may eventually look back at this as being a good thing. Hope you find something else soon.

Indeed aye ideal scenario is starting another job in April and having some redundancy cash behind me. AT this time if I get another job think its a good thing went a bit stale in one job for 25 years. But its a pay.

have another interview tomorrow so hopefully that goes ok, so many employers just don't get back to you nowadays.

Redundancy pay isn't great paying statutory weeks pay for every year plus 30% on top.

burger van sounds like a plan. :)

Chin up mate.

It's a bollocks situation but as you've already had some interviews you're already up and about, ready to move on.

That takes some doing by itself.

I'm guessing you're around mid-40s-ish so you've still at least another 20 good working years in you.

As others have said; this could be a blessing in disguise.

Wouldn't mind hearing how it all pans out, if you have the time of an evening to post it up on here.

Sounds like you're in a decent position to be finding a job from Mavv.

With 25 years behind you, you'll be very experienced and well capable of stepping in to a new job without the need for extensive training that would put a perspective employer off.

In addition you've got plenty notice to find a new job within and will also receive a lump-sum.

Best of luck.

Sorry to hear this Mavv,

But you have a lot going for you, with 25 years with raytheon, you have strong experience and are obviously a solid and loyal employee.

This is obviously a factor in the 3 interviews you have secured so far (good going). So, while its an unsettling time, you should be positive about the way things are going.

Its difficult to go back to interviews after a long time without one, but with one under your belt already you are well placed for the next ones.

I am sure you will get sorted soon - and remember, it might be that something less than ideal will do as a short-term stop gap, so don't rule anything out.

As others have said, this could be a blessing in disguise, in that you might end up in a better post or even making a positive career move you would never have dreamed of.

What methods are you using to look? Im in engineering and always found that recruitment agencies were great, because they were always up to date and they did the work for you, given they are on commission!

Keep your chin up and good luck with your interviews tomorrow!

I don't even know what a semiconductor is (!) but I google them and found this lot near Glasgow* (argh!) who are "actively recruiting" for these roles:

Equipment Engineer

Test Engineer

Epitaxial Growth Engineer

Backend Operator

Test Operator

Facet Coat Operator

Wafer Fabrication Operator

Senior BEOL Process Engineer

Process Engineer

https://www.cstglobal.uk/careers/

(sorry if you have already seen these adverts Mavv)

*its based in blantyre, so you could always visit the david livingston centre too - an attractive bonus ;)

Indeed aye ideal scenario is starting another job in April and having some redundancy cash behind me. AT this time if I get another job think its a good thing went a bit stale in one job for 25 years. But its a pay.

have another interview tomorrow so hopefully that goes ok, so many employers just don't get back to you nowadays.

Redundancy pay isn't great paying statutory weeks pay for every year plus 30% on top.

burger van sounds like a plan. :)

Take your redundancy pay and head to the Today’s Bet thread. Feet up.

Is a cunt, of that there is no doubt

Depends a lot, I think, on what kinda guy you are. If you've been with that company for 25 years, then you are not one for moving around, and having to mix and get to know a different workforce every year or so - as some folk are, and have no problem with being so. Not me, I hate first day in the new office, only been in that situation 4 times in my entire 39 year career.

I got made redundant in 1991, and took me ages to recover from it, both financially, socially, mentally etc etc. But I came out the other side, as it forced me into situations that I was previously uncomfortable with

I wish you all the best.

aye but it wis awricht ye went intae toon shoappin fir mare stuff. but aye, day seshes oan the vod, ye stert tae feel bad by tea time n jist want yer scratcher. eh hink wit ye mix it wi kin chinge yer buzz, eh yist tae drink it wi milk hinkin it wis a white Russian. best hing yeh kin day is neck it straight but it nae tae every cunts taste

Eh boat sim funcee vod yir mint tea drink wi waater.

Nae tried it yet like.

How are you getting these interviews ? I've been trying for 14 months and only now starting to get a sniff . Made redundant after 19 years

I suppose it all depends on geography skill set industry jobs applied for etc

What he does could be an in demand skill

I get at least one recruiter contacting me a week and I'm not looking to move at the minute

I suppose it all depends on geography skill set industry jobs applied for etc

What he does could be an in demand skill

I get at least one recruiter contacting me a week and I'm not looking to move at the minute

Its doing my head in . I have a lot of experience , applied for loads of jobs , some out with my skill set admittedley but get very few replies . Agencies are a waste of time , was getting plenty calls when times were good but nothing now . Got an email last week that gives me a ray of hope but word is there are over 90 applicants for 12 positions

Most of us are here to help with advice and strategies.

What type of stuff you looking at / in etc