Reserve & Youth Teams Thread

I think the club make a fair point though, they can now arrange games at times which are actually suitable for the team's development.

Yeah. We seem to have given a full statement on why we're leaving. Other teams were a bit vague, from memory. Looks like we are all in agreement it was a shambles.

It's a sad day when clubs are walking away from the national development league.

Surely as a nation we can design a development set up that works for the clubs?

Or are they only interested in the latest ruse to shoehorn colt teams into the senior set up?

You have got it in one!

The comment from the club reads more that they were unhappy with the lack flexibility on dates on kick-off times - which perhaps didn't allow them use the fringe players as intended. Which probably explains why we never saw many first team players turning out last year...

The moan complaining will be the same folk who haven't read the clubs statement.

I'm biased obviously, but the "reserve" league is a shambles, and no one suffered more than young Dean last season because of it. Didn't kick a ball for almost three months at one point because he was required for the first team squad and the reserve games were usually so close to the first team fixtures

Had this same discussion with my mate about it. Ideally the likes of gleeson, deano, Forrester (RIP) would have played reserve football to keep themselves fit. Mcinnes wouldn't let it hence at times when called upon, they were lacking in match fitness. The players can't be blamed for that.

Certainly the lower league sides youth development now seems to have turned inwards on itself again - they appear to be striving to produce their own players (understandably) with the higher quality lads left in a bit of a limbo just hoping a scout picks them up.

I understand it from both sides, the producing side and the acquiring ‘aspirational’ side but for the late developers not selected early it puts a lot of onus on the player himself to basically work hard and hope.

That is absolutely bonkers!

No wonder we've bailed oot.

Good, clear statement put out from the club inna.

Hard to judge, lot of potential in all 5. Seems to be a promising amount of players coming through. Even the U10's won a tourney abroad.

One of the loons in that under 10's is apparently hugely talented and has a rake of clubs after him. Friend of my sister's loon.

Apparently when they do the skills training, he's had the fitba taken away and does it with a tennis ball. Nae bad for not even 10.

One of the loons in that under 10's is apparently hugely talented and has a rake of clubs after him. Friend of my sister's loon.

Apparently when they do the skills training, he's had the fitba taken away and does it with a tennis ball. Nae bad for not even 10.

Hopefully his family are Dons fans!