Scottish Independence Referendum 2

Henry

Should Scotland be an independent country?  

272 members have voted

1. 1. Should Scotland be an independent country?

• Yes
    • No

You really dinna do yourself any favours with shite like this and that's from somebody who supports independence. Take a day off.

Says the man who wanted to stone no voters to death a few posts back

Wise up its a fucking joke

And anyway i will post what the fuck i want when i want i dont answer to you.

It's not really comparable is it?

Firstly it is 99% likely the SNP will be part of a majority government with the same interests. So any deal should easily pass through parliament once it had been decided.

England really do have a lot to lose in this case. Oil revenues back up the strength of the £ massively.

Scotland has a large number of exports and is very self sufficient when it comes to water, power, oil, food etc.

England also has no where else to keep the trident submarines so until they build a base else where 10? 20? 30 years? We are in complete control.

'we are in complete control'

Except of course that, in the case of an independence referendum, we had a white paper outlining what people were voting for and in the case of Brexit, we had a lie printed on the side of a bus. You're comparing apples to oranges, but of course you know that and are just being deliberately obtuse as usual.

The white paper contained some massively optimistic statements and commercials ($115 pboe or similar) did it not that ultimately proved to be incorrect?

Who gives a fuck all other independent countries manage just fine

Get to fuck off yer knees man and stop being negative looking for every excuse ever from aliens to the price of beans

See if you can manage to answer this

What country ever had to justify every aspect of everything before they went independent.

Who gives a fuck all other independent countries manage just fine

Get to fuck off yer knees man and stop being negative looking for every excuse ever from aliens to the price of beans

See if you can manage to answer this

What country ever had to justify every aspect of everything before they went independent.

But that's the fucking crux of it, who gives a fuck - yer average voter I reckon who does not want to see their property, pension, savings all potentially plummet in value.

You can see it as being negative, however others will see it as wanting to know the facts in order to make an informed decision.

As for your question, well to quote you "who gives a fuck" about other countries. We're talking our country here no other.

Oh and Quebec had to justify their case for going independent.

But that's the fucking crux of it, who gives a fuck - yer average voter I reckon who does not want to see their property, pension, savings all potentially plummet in value.

You can see it as being negative, however others will see it as wanting to know the facts in order to make an informed decision.

But that answer can't be given about either the status quo or independence. Hence why it's nonsense.

Look at how the UK economy has struggled between now and 2014. It's hard to sensibly argue that an Indy Scotland's would've performed as poorly.

The UK of the 21st Century is Schrödinger's Union. On one hand, it's biggest advocates tell us it's the most successful political union of all time (which may have been true until the start of it's terminal decline in 1945) while simultaneously telling us Scotland is, uniquely among Western countries, incapable of running its own affairs and surviving on its own.

Considering the logic, for the UK to be the most successful political union of all time, all four of its constituent parts would have to be punching above their weight, yet Wales and Northern Ireland are two of the poorest states in Western Europe (the former is a post-industrial backwater, while the latter had a huge head start over its Republican neighbour, yet with the exception of healthcare has lagged well behind it for decades) and Scotland is, allegedly, running huge deficits and subsidised by the generosity of its southern neighbour.

So, I ask, is the UK still the greatest political union of all time, or is it a failed state which has impoverished two of its members and turned a third into a resource-rich but failing basket case?

It can't be both.

Just realised that FFS was referring to pension savings plummeting in relation to indie. Which is private pensions but they have already plummeted due to brexit. They've gone up again a bit but only back to the levels they were almost a year ago. Almost a year of growth completely gone. That's fucked up.

You still pretending to be open-minded on Independence, FFS?

Aye would vote again for independence without a doubt, just get fed up hearing the propaganda about how easy and brilliant it would be as all of our problems are as a result of Westminster.

Its the previous no voters that need convincing and no amount of propaganda of the likes of removing stains or some of the other pish Caledonia posts is going to be effective.