Brewdog

phoenix

That does not compute , Bluto.

Please explain.

i think aberdeen is lacking in the specialist beer pub stakes.

well to be honest i havent seen many of them in scotland full stop.

when brew dog opened i thought it gave aberdeen something to offer taht other scottish cities didnt have - and that doesnt happen very often.

but obvioulsy not now.

when brew dog opened i thought it gave aberdeen something to offer taht other scottish cities didnt have - and that doesnt happen very often.

but obvioulsy not now.

Good to see a local company doing well and expanding.

but obvioulsy not now.

Microbreweries are all the rage Bluto - Brewdog , Aberdeen and perhaps Scotland( nae done any investigation ) are playing catch up. I was so impressed with a Pub in Denver , Colorado in 1989 where as you stood on a glass-panelled part of the floor drinking your beer( chosen from an extensive menu , including McEwans Heavy ) , you could witness the brewing process at work in the basement , in-house , all-in-one.

Often when real ale breweries start up they are taken over by the big guys who don't like the competition( they want us to drink their bland coporate p i s h for greater profit ) and they disappear , incorporated , a bittie like bigger clubs poaching away a smaller clubs better players who are often never seen again.

If it's part of a quality over quantity trend then I love it and the more pubs around selling better beer then the better it is for everyone. Every town should have one.

Good to see a local company doing well and expanding.

true, i agree. just wanted something good for aberdeen, thats all.

one of my locals over here sells brewdog.

pretty good going cause its a really good beer pub, with belgian, dutch and german beers as well as american microbrews.

currently its stocking - arise prince willie. the brewdog beer for the royal wedding. barman told me they only made a couple of thousand bottles for the retail market.

Their produce tastes like dishwater, the marketing drips with pretence, and their open windowed bars, so the whole world can see your mohawk and G-Star Raw clobber, as well as your disappeared up her own arse so far she's swallowed herself whole girlfriend, are the very anathaema of what a bar should be, especially if you're trying to have a quiet pint and keep your head down.

Hope they go bust.

true, i agree. just wanted something good for aberdeen, thats all.

one of my locals over here sells brewdog.

pretty good going cause its a really good beer pub, with belgian, dutch and german beers as well as american microbrews.

currently its stocking - arise prince willie. the brewdog beer for the royal wedding. barman told me they only made a couple of thousand bottles for the retail market.

Last summer, I bought a pint of brewdog in a pub in Fremantle, Western Australia! I personally thought it was dreadful stuff! Tasted like dirty dishwater!

Their produce tastes like dishwater, the marketing drips with pretence, and their open windowed bars, so the whole world can see your mohawk and G-Star Raw clobber, as well as your disappeared up her own arse so far she's swallowed herself whole girlfriend, are the very anathaema of what a bar should be, especially if you're trying to have a quiet pint and keep your head down.

Hope they go bust.

Hard to disagree with any of that.

Hope they go bust.

why do you care about their marketing.

as with sky t.v. marketing are you unable to filter through p.r. bullshit?

why do you care about their marketing.

as with sky t.v. marketing are you unable to filter through p.r. bullshit?

Can I have this in plain English and I'll attempt to answer it then.

They're 'controversial' - oooooohhhh, Sink the f**king Bismarck, undrinkable ridiculous strength lager, where they engineered a faux spat with the licensing authorities, in order to generate publicity for the product. Controversial of course in the very contrived, snobby sense.

This is not pretentious?

If the product was any good, it would market itself. They ken fine it's not, so they go to all these lengths to promote it.

And their bars are all about the image and nothing to do with drinking.

Can I have this in plain English and I'll attempt to answer it then.

They're 'controversial' - oooooohhhh, Sink the f**king Bismarck, undrinkable ridiculous strength lager, where they engineered a faux spat with the licensing authorities, in order to generate publicity for the product. Controversial of course in the very contrived, snobby sense.

This is not pretentious?

If the product was any good, it would market itself. They ken fine it's not, so they go to all these lengths to promote it.

And their bars are all about the image and nothing to do with drinking.

i know what you mean about the marketing but why do you get so annoyed by it?

take your word about the bar, never been.

that might just be a sign of the state of youth today rather than the brewdog corp, no?

i know what you mean about the marketing but why do you get so annoyed by it?

take your word about the bar, never been.

that might just be a sign of the state of youth today rather than the brewdog corp, no?

I get annoyed by everything, I'm in a permanent state of annoyance, it's what drives me on.

All accusations are valid and if I still drank beer , I might agree( I still enjoy the occasional Innis & Gunn ). Some of Brewdog's range is better than others , I forget which but I imagine the brews can only get better - they are young and have got to start somewhere. Fortunately they appear to be successful , if not to everyone's taste. Some people actually like to hang out in 'designer bars' , abuddy tae their ane taste. Like the pub , prefer the Prince.

In bottles , I think. They do sell other beers...and wines...and spirits...and food.

Nae jukebox tho'.

I bet you there's no f**king bandit either, or pool table.

Just like Wetherspoons, w*nkers pubs, more than two pints and you get horsed out the door, treated like some kind of filthy tramp, argue and the faggot behind the bar bricks it, the place lights up like a f**king Christmas tree, and you get lifted.