Coronavirus

Henry

6 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

IMO the only thing worse than outright COVID deniers are the cunts who police everyone's activity, and constantly go on about how strictly they've followed the rules. 

I work with a few folk like that, it's proper irritating. As I said in the post above, what we're being asked to do is totally unnatural, I wouldn't chastise anyone who's let their guard slip once or twice, we're being asked to deal with this in a very inhuman way.

I think it's impossible to have adhered to the rules all of the time. That's why I'm quite comfortable pleasing myself. Everyone does it. Like parking on a double yellow for ten minutes.

enjoy the parties min

9 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

I'm not justifying it either way. I've been to about two house parties a few months apart. I also work in a building with hundreds of folk coming through it daily, and tens of folk working in different departments, my own logic (maybe flawed) was that I'm so exposed to it potentially getting it anyway, what would it matter if I mingled with a few more people. That logic was also when I pissed, hence why it's not very sound logic. 

Im not judging folk for doing what they do, what we're being asked to do is totally unnatural. All I was trying to provide was a reason as to why they are doing the lockdowns. Lockdowns of which I think are lazy, lacking strategy and damaging. I was just describing the reasons why. 

You get your outright COVID deniers, who are idiots. You get your folk who've done whatever they wanted from the start, and then you get folk like me. I've been working all the way through it, generally just been shutting between the house and work, and on a few occasions I cut myself some slack. 

Like I've said many times, I'm not perfect, and would never claim to be. 

Agreed it isn't sound logic!  Very selfish if anything, your first though about being so exposed to it is that adding more exposure for yourself makes no difference, and not that you are in fact potentially exposing even more people to the exposure you have!

Jesting apart, I don't give a fuck.  I just thought it funny after the tone of most of your other posts.  Almost felt like one of those reveals about an adviser who advocates lockdown breaking it, except you did it yourself.

3 minutes ago, Poodler said:

I think it's impossible to have adhered to the rules all of the time. That's why I'm quite comfortable pleasing myself. Everyone does it. Like parking on a double yellow for ten minutes.

enjoy the parties min

I agree it's impossible to have consistently adhered, but I also don't think you should just please yourself all the time. For example, if you've been mingling with folks at parties and that, just dinna see anyone you know that's susceptible, or stay inside, provided you can, for as long as you can. 

It is a fucking miserable existence at the moment, though. 

5 minutes ago, Foster14 said:

Agreed it isn't sound logic!  Very selfish if anything, your first though about being so exposed to it is that adding more exposure for yourself makes no difference, and not that you are in fact potentially exposing even more people to the exposure you have!

Jesting apart, I don't give a fuck.  I just thought it funny after the tone of most of your other posts.  Almost felt like one of those reveals about an adviser who advocates lockdown breaking it, except you did it yourself.

Like I said, not sound logic. A few hoose parties in 9 months, working through the whole thing. 

How could you get tone from my posts, I wasn't lording anything over anyone, I was just explaining the reason the governments are being extra cautious. To protect the elderly and those at risk. 

If you read my posts again, I'm not advocating lockdowns, I was explaining the reasoning. I think the lockdowns are a result of obvious incompetence from our govs failure to strategise and all the inconsistencies within the rules. 

Can't stress enough, was not casting judgement, just trying to explain why they are locking down so hard!

Just now, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

Like I said, not sound logic. A few hoose parties in 9 months, working through the whole thing. 

How could you get tone from my posts, I wasn't lording anything over anyone, I was just explaining the reason the governments are being extra cautious. To protect the elderly and those at risk. 

If you read my posts again, I'm not advocating lockdowns, I was explaining the reasoning. I think the lockdowns are a result of obvious incompetence from our govs failure to strategise and all the inconsistencies within the rules. 

Can't stress enough, was not casting judgement, just trying to explain why they are locking down so hard!

You were 100% advocating stronger lockdown restrictions surrounding schools.  

47 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

So you think the schools should be open? 

Quite the reverse from 'parents are just moaning because they have to look after their own kids' 

26 minutes ago, manboobs109 said:

So you think the schools should be open? 

Quite the reverse from 'parents are just moaning because they have to look after their own kids' 

No, I don't. I think the gov have put themselves in a situation where they have to do lockdowns, due to their previous mismanagement and poor strategising. On the principle that everywhere else is closed, schools should be closed too. 

I don't think the lockdowns are the most effective long term strategy to deal with this, but because they are so incompetent they give themselves no choice. So aye, schools should be closed to stop the spread in as many places as possible, and during that time, we can all sit and hope that they'll find an effective way of dealing with it, that doesn't mean life has to stop completely. 

You don't really do nuance, do yi Moobs. 

1 hour ago, rocket_scientist said:

How can anyone not get tone from all posts?

The bigger question however, what makes you more qualified than the rest of us to explain? Where did you get the hotline to government rationale? What can you see that assumes our observations need you to explain them for us?

Haha what? 

The UK governments have explicitly stated many times they are trying to protect the vulnerable and the elderly. If watching the news or listening to the radio makes me an expert on government rationale, then so be it.

1 hour ago, Foster14 said:

You were 100% advocating stronger lockdown restrictions surrounding schools.  

I was advocating them being closed, along with everything else that's closed. If you're trying to suppress a virus I don't think sending kids to more or less explicitly indoor places, with or without social distancing and masks etc, is a good idea. The same way many people are being told to work from home, to suppress the spread. 

54 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

If that was too difficult to process, try this;

Who the fuck do you think you are?

A cunt with an opinion, like every other poster on here. 

If relaying information the governments have made knowledge for 9 months makes you think I'm acting a cunt, then fair doos. 

Who the fuck do you think you are? The way you make huge assumptions about folk, based off fuck all, the way you're desperate for anyone to talk to you, anyone at all. 

I really hope you're not spending Christmas alone, for your own sake. 

10 minutes ago, ConsiCanBoogie1903 said:

I was advocating them being closed, along with everything else that's closed. If you're trying to suppress a virus I don't think sending kids to more or less explicitly indoor places, with or without social distancing and masks etc, is a good idea. The same way many people are being told to work from home, to suppress the spread. 

I wasn't really looking to get in to a debate.  I was just amused at someone who seemed to be promoting ideas of harshening lockdown restrictions then casually mentioning they went to house parties.  Tis all.  

6 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

But you present your opinions as if they were facts, like you know better than the rest of us and you have to "explain" everything to us.

From what I'm reading, you've yet to say anything at all to justify your superiority position, self-ascribed. 

Absolutely not made myself superior.

The reason why I'm explaining is because folk are still coming away with "well they are old anyway" when that's never really been a fair reason to justify an anti lockdown position anyway. 

How do I present them as they are facts? Should I say 'IMO' after everything I say? 

I'm just a cunt posting on an Aberdeen FC Internet forum, just like you, it should be fairly obvious I don't think everything I'm saying is a bonafide fact. It's just an opinion I've garnered based on evidence I've read, and I would argue it's much better to have those type of opinions than the ones who just say "this is shite" or refuse to back up any point they make with any substance at all. 

Clearly though, I'm getting to you. It's very enjoyable. 

5 minutes ago, Foster14 said:

I wasn't really looking to get in to a debate.  I was just amused at someone who seemed to be promoting ideas of harshening lockdown restrictions then casually mentioning they went to house parties.  Tis all.  

It maybe seemed that way, but I'm not a promoter of lockdowns. I'm just of the opinion if they are gonna do them for the reason of suppressing the spread, then schools should 100% be closed along with that. 

Edit: Keeping some things open and not others, is largely why they've struggled to suppress the spread. They've been spinning too many plates at once in the hope it will all work out. If they want control of the virus, close all areas where people meet indoors that aren't their homes or essential businesses. Even if only for a period of time, keeping schools open will keep the spread going. 

1 minute ago, rocket_scientist said:

You're not "getting" to anyone. You're just being challenged on the shite you speak and you don't like it.

Clue; stop speaking shite.

Where am I speaking shite? 

You've got to be fairly thick to think that anything anyone says in here is thought of as fact. Or that the individual poster thinks it's fact. 

The only person on here who dictates their opinions as facts are you, and when called out on it, fail to respond. 

Remember the tirade you had against me where you suggested I wasn't hit enough as a child, and I'd never been punched in the face? Both turned out to be false? Never got a response from that. 

21 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

So what is your "long term strategy" now that you've done a BlowJob U-turn on schools?

Not done a U-Turn in any way, you clearly aren't capable of understanding someone with a bit of nuance in opinion. 

It is possible to think lockdowns aren't the ideal strategy going forward, and also think if they are going to persist with them, it's nonsensical to keep some areas where people convene inside open, and others not. 

Edit; 

As for my strategy, not that it matters, I would build community bubbles for those who need help and also need to shield. It could be arranged so that these people only come in close contact with others who are shielding and those delivering food/necessities etc would only do that, and wouldn't enter the house etc. 

Naturally, this is easier said than done, and you're relying on the public taking it more seriously. My opinion is that they would be more inclined to listen with more black and white measures, rather than the notable inconsistencies in the current guidelines. 

For example, last week I could've went to an indoor cinema, masked up etc, but we can't get 2,000 people in a 20,000 outdoor seated stadium, where the risk is almost 0. 

That's just an idea, but as someone who's voted, and a taxpayer, I'm entitled to suggest they could be handling it better. I think that's plain for everyone to see.  

Just now, rocket_scientist said:

No I don't. You are misquoting.

MT said you sounded like someone who hadn't been punched in the face. I followed his post with "this is a relevant point actually" and spoke about the modern era frowning on corporal punishment, not allowing winners and losers at school sports days etc.

I wasn't talking about you. I did notice you responded to MT and said you had been hit. I didn't think it interesting enough to continue with, having already made my point to back up his. 

The great explainer!!!

6 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

Just pointing out you speaking shite again. I've been doing it - pointing out fakes, thick cunts and lies on these forums - since before you were out of nappies. It's nothing personal. 

See you'll says something like that, then ask me "who the fuck" I think I am. 

Self awareness not a strong point. 

4 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

C'mon Consi. Prove your worth as the poster who feels the need to explain it all to us?

I've explained it previously, and in another post. 

Should also be said I'm not just posting explanations etc, folk are saying daft things, and i'm responding to them with a reason why they maybe shouldn't think like that. 

Chances are they will continue to think that way, anyway.