Taking the knee

Joe pike

41 minutes ago, Ohjimmyjimmy said:

If you are watching lower English league highlights on Quest then I think you need to take a long hard look at your life Joe min.

Fucking hell - who cares about that pish.

Just happened on them a few weeks ago.

It's actually a decent programme ,it just rattles through every championship,1st and 2nd div game showing only the goals and any highlights about 2 mins a game. 

19 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Parky chum, I think I my main problem with the knee thing is the emotional blackmail behind it. This  “ you have to do this or it means you dont agree with it’

17 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Also it’s becoming a really tired gesture . The movement behind it seems to have lost any momentum it had at the start . 

I don't disagree. I've said previously that I think it's lost it's impact and that it just feels like a going through the motions thing now. 

However old white guys telling young black men to stop it because they're bored won't make them stop. People like Les Ferdinand, who I've referenced before on this, speaking on it and highlighting how these people protesting can effect change is what'll perhaps make them think that there's better ways that this. 

@Joe pike

I trust you’ll be standing right down the front of the stand booing and not just doing it like a pussy up the back of the stand in amongst a crowd? 

The taking a knee is a fucking nonsense but i dont feel strongly enough about it to do anything other than just let those that do get on with it.

Funny how poppy day/minutes silences/etc and who supports it or doesnt, brings out the easily offended mongs, normally huns and tims. 

23 minutes ago, Simply Red said:

@Joe pike

I trust you’ll be standing right down the front of the stand booing and not just doing it like a pussy up the back of the stand in amongst a crowd? 

The taking a knee is a fucking nonsense but i dont feel strongly enough about it to do anything other than just let those that do get on with it.

Funny how poppy day/minutes silences/etc and who supports it or doesnt, brings out the easily offended mongs, normally huns and tims. 

Why do you assume I would be booing?

I never said that what I would do.

I was on about freedom of speech,which the players don't even have.

Poppy Day and a minutes silence are one off,not forced on everybody every game.

I don’t understand why it’s still going on either - I think there are better ways to progress racial equality that engages more people than these gestures that aren’t intended to but do result in creating division.

But it isn’t  exactly forced on people either - no-one is expecting people in the crowd to take a knee so fail to see why you’d get worked up to the point of booing it.

14 minutes ago, Joe pike said:

Why do you assume I would be booing?

I never said that what I would do.

I was on about freedom of speech,which the players don't even have.

Poppy Day and a minutes silence are one off,not forced on everybody every game.

I jumped the gun assuming you’d be booing.

Whether you agree or disagree with the blm movement and the knee, its a sensitive situation and doesnt need countered by right wing fitba fans imo. But like you say, everyone has the freedom of speech.  

As has been mentioned already, Les Ferdinand nailed it. 

8 hours ago, NEM said:

It’s hardly a surprise English football fans are booing a far left Marxist organisation who want to abolish capitalism that have been vandalising historical British statues and burning the countries flag over the summer. 

Although I thought the Millwall fans might have been keen on the defunding the old bill bit ?

Virtue signalling nonsense has gone on long enough. Not sure what the death of a career criminal in America has to do with football in the UK

Rather than write a page, I'll just go ahead and say that's a very discouraging reply on a number of levels. 

1 minute ago, Grays Babylon 1875 said:

One of my mates Dads was an old racist.

Nice old fella. Loved his cars, Del Shannon and drinking cider.

Hated brown people though.

One of his daughters shacked up with one and has a couple of kids - one of them is called India.

L

O

L

haha

did the old fella runaway?

2 minutes ago, Grays Babylon 1875 said:

One of my mates Dads was an old racist.

Nice old fella. Loved his cars, Del Shannon and drinking cider.

Hated brown people though.

One of his daughters shacked up with one and has a couple of kids - one of them is called India.

L

O

L

Was it Ash Taylors old man?

1 hour ago, Grays Babylon 1875 said:

I don't even know what he means but I think it's safe to say he's mental.

And racist. 

I'll keep it as  concise as I can.  

What's disheartening to me is that I think this "It’s hardly a surprise English football fans are booing a far left Marxist organisation who want to abolish capitalism that have been vandalising historical British statues and burning the countries flag over the summer." probably has a lot of truth to it. 

EDIT: Turns out THAT is as concise as I can keep it. 

8 minutes ago, Dad said:

What do you mean by that fridge you wee prick?

I'm an inspirational figure to young uns - I may be rough around the edges where language and so on is concerned; otherwise, wholesome upon wholesome - layer after layer of respect and dignity.

I’m winding you up, but just incase. Are you a scout leader?