Enthusiast

Enthusiast (6/14)

• Conversation Starter Rare
  • First Post
  • Collaborator
  • Reacting Well
  • Dedicated

Recent Badges

1. Weirdly enough, so do I. The neighbour part, at least.
  2. I’m willing to be there’ll be an announcement very soon.
  3. That’s the boy. Don’t think he’s got that one TBH, but you might also try retrofcshirts on Instagram.
  4. Nailed on he’ll do that one too. Couple of others already offering it as well, short sleeves and long.
  5. That’s pretty much the photo he showed me bud, all I said to him was that we lost that game, and he’d be better just putting 1989/90, because that’s the one we won, rather than 1987/88. I told him the size and font were exactly the same, but he still wants to see it. Got to give him his due, he wants to get it spot on.
  6. His stuff is top notch bud, he’s just brought out the 1985 shirt, which I’ve seen others make an absolute mess of. Leighton’s 1983 jersey too. I don’t disagree with your assessment of that Dunotter guy btw, I’m surprised to hear he’s still going.
  7. Looking for a wee bit of help here if possible. There’s a fella who is looking for a close up picture of the “squares” shirt we wore that day, specifically the “League Cup Final” embroidery just under the badge. He does remakes, very good ones at that, and he wants to run that one soon. I can’t seem to find a clear enough image, so if anyone has one and can post it, that’d be great. 👍👍
  8. Especially if Lewandowski retires after the Euros, as rumoured. Talking of potential retirees, surely Modric will go as well, then you have to wonder if Croatia aren't beatable. Not going to be easy this, it never was going to be, but we can be cautiously optimistic. Either way it'll be an interesting experience following a newly-promoted top division side. Can't imagine we'll ever experience that with the Dons.
  9. Portugal, Croatia and Poland. Could have been a lot worse, fancy us to stay in League A at least, cautiously optimistic about getting through to the quarter-finals.
  10. If I were you I'd start by going up to the Grampian and either ask for Stitch, or anyone from the Tartan Army Club that they have up there. They're not all Aberdeen fans in the TA Club, but plenty are. There was an unofficial AFC Supporters Club running out of there for years, but in the 1980s they linked in with something called the Metrodons, which ran out of London and picked up in Corby on the way. Bear in mind though that not everyone of North-East heritage has got any time for the Grampian and the people who run it. I personally wouldn't go within 100 yards of the place if I still lived in Corby, and there's others that feel the same way, so you've nowhere near tapped the full potential just by going in there. I'm 20 years away from Corby but I could still give you a decent list of names of Dons fans in the town; obviously I'm not going to put their personal details on here without permission, but I will gladly point them in the direction of this thread as and when I speak with anyone. Pity you didn't post 24 hours before you did; I was down for the day yesterday and sharing a dram with an old Dons supporting pal. I'm sure social media would spread the word quickly and effectively as well.
  11. Believe it or not it is in the right thread! I'm over a year late responding mind, and it was the arrival of the new poster from Corby which prompted me to fire off a long overdue reply to Betty Swallicks. The post from him I've quoted here was a response by him to an earlier comment by myself, in which I had said that Corby is perhaps somewhat less Scottish than in the days when it was known as "Little Scotland". Although I didn't quite put it as diplomatically as that at the time (around about page 44 or 45, if you can be bothered).
  12. I know pal, I was one of that 18.9%, I moved away later that year. Naturally it’s a much smaller number now, the auld yins are dying off, but the “Scottish as Morris Dancing” comment was more to do with how different they are in character and attitude these days. I’d characterise the town as West of Scotland in the 1980s, not the Scotland of today. I lived in Corby from birth until I was 31. My dad moved there as a teenager, and my brother and sister were born there. The only reason I have the privilege of being Scottish born, I strongly suspect despite his denials, is that Dad insisted, because back then you could only play football for the country of your birth. The rules changed in 1970, when I was a baby. As a measure of how Scottish the place used to be, at school we didn’t have to waste time picking sides at playtime, it was just Scotland v England, but it only took a couple of English kids to be off school, and they didn’t have enough for a side. At Corby Town FC (one below the Conference, level 6, in those days), during the half-time break the tannoy announcer would start the half-time scores with the SPL, very few people were bothered about the old English First Division. You mention the biggest “Rangers” Supporters Club outside Scotland and Northern Ireland. They had a huge venue and quite a nice function suite until, wait for it...…..it went bust! Not long after the actual football club, as it happens. It’s far from only Weegies though. There were a substantial number of North-East families who migrated, and the Grampian Club, formerly Aberdeen and North-East Counties Association, is still the biggest social club in town. Word to the wise, though, don’t bother going in if you happen to visit the town, I would only ever go in there if I was guest at a party or function. Unless you like Billy Brits that is, and standing for a rendition of Good Save the King at last orders, then you’ll fit right in. Once I was old enough to go to football by myself and got a car, I rarely had a problem filling it with other Dons fans for an away game in the Central Belt, doing what we called an “up and downer”. Plenty of folk with North-East ancestry in the town, then and still now. I have issues with the place and no longer call it my hometown, but I would respectfully disagree with idea of nuking it! p.s. I am embarrassed by the tardiness of this reply!
  13. Plus a 2nd big wave in the mid-60s. Mainly Weegies but no shortage of North-East families as well. Including my grandparents.
  14. I'm after one if your man doesn't want to make use. I've emailed as per Burrows' tweet that I want one of the extra 2,500 when they arrive, but I'm not confident, I bide in England so my loyalty points are not as high as others who'll doubtless want them. A couple of other irons in the fire, but I'd welcome the certainty. Cheers!