If not DM, What is the Alternative?

I am on record as stating that DM has earned right to continue managing Dons.

However it would appear that several of you disagree.

If you could appoint a logical and attainable replacement tomorrow, who would it be?

Its the chairman's job to find a replacement. A competent chairman would be more than capable of finding a replacement if required, but because we generally lack that as well then its probably why we still have DM in charge. 

When i speak to other fans about us replacing DM, its usually met with "oh, but we remember what it was like under Mcghee". However, folk cant keep using as an excuse to accept mediocrity. 

• Upvote 10

Its the chairman's job to find a replacement. A competent chairman would be more than capable of finding a replacement if required, but because we generally lack that as well then its probably why we still have DM in charge. 

When i speak to other fans about us replacing DM, its usually met with "oh, but we remember what it was like under Mcghee". However, folk cant keep using as an excuse to accept mediocrity. 

Excellent post.  The string of absolutely incompetent retards that we've employed since Willie Miller left is staggering.  So much so, that a semi-competent manager, capable of organising an Aberdeen XI slightly above a rabble, is hailed by some as a messiah.  Wait until McInnes leaves Aberdeen - see how the rest of his career pans out... 

I'd put the job out there... see the type of applications we receive, see who impresses under interview.  We need a progressive manager, capable of taking the bull by the horns and riding home our financial advantage in this league.  Like it or not, football is dictated by finances today.  We should be very dominant as the third team in the division - there are no excuses - that should be 'even par' for Aberdeen.

Yes, it could be worse.... we could have McGhee, Paterson, or some other clown/jakey in charge!   Is that how we want AFC to be defined?  'Ach, it could be worse! At least we're not a complete laughing stock anymore!'

• Upvote 8

Two defeats on the trot coupled with the arse cheeks being rampant = mass discontent (understandably). McInnes and Docherty have just signed contract extensions so a hefty compensation fee would be incurred if a change was to happen, at a time when the club will be looking to plough every available penny into the ongoing training facilities / stadium. If we'd received a few million from the Ryan Fraser situation and a further few million from sale of McKenna, maybe something would happen. It'll take the threat of relegation to make the board act. And no, I can't think of anyone we could afford that I think could do a better job with the budget currently available. We just have to suck it up for the time being I'm afraid.

Excellent post.  The string of absolutely incompetent retards that we've employed since Willie Miller left is staggering.  So much so, that a semi-competent manager, capable of organising an Aberdeen XI slightly above a rabble, is hailed by some as a messiah.  Wait until McInnes leaves Aberdeen - see how the rest of his career pans out... 

I'd put the job out there... see the type of applications we receive, see who impresses under interview.  We need a progressive manager, capable of taking the bull by the horns and riding home our financial advantage in this league.  Like it or not, football is dictated by finances today.  We should be very dominant as the third team in the division - there are no excuses - that should be 'even par' for Aberdeen.

Yes, it could be worse.... we could have McGhee, Paterson, or some other clown/jakey in charge!   Is that how we want AFC to be defined?  'Ach, it could be worse! At least we're not a complete laughing stock anymore!'

The buck really does stop with SM.

In any other business, if you were to approach your manager and say " Aye, that boy isn't pulling his weight and keeps making mistakes", is your boss going to turn around and say, Aye, but the boy before used to make 100's, so it could be worse. Nah, fuck that. Any decent boss would turn around and tell the boy things need to improve or they will be looking for a replacement.

Football should be no different and the fact that its more performance based, then DM should be under more scrutiny. He appears to be under no threat at all and when that is the case, you would pretty much please yourself. Only with a massive run of negative performances, will he ever be questioned and even then, im not convinced that Milne has the cajones to actually do anything about it. 

Some of our fans have beaten wife syndrome.  They'll settle for some average as fuck dude because hey, at least they dinna get a hiding.

Yes, I just compared some bad football results to domestic violence.  @mumsnet

Nail on the fucking head. 

And I say that as someone who actually quite likes McInnes (still, although patience starting to wear a bit thin). 

Bizarre, but not unexpected, of us to extend the management team contracts before the season started. Had we not done so then they'd be 10 months away from being OOC and much easier to get rid of.

Shows clearly that Milne and the other directory are happy to settle for mediocrity.

Someone who will look after the day to day running of the club, keep the players happy and produce a team on the field who will get top 6.

Milne is the main problem at the club and has been for the last 20 years. Look at the incompetents he has employed as manager.

Correct.

Looking very much like the old firm monopoloy is back - that's what Milne wanted and helped set up.

Lickspittle cretin that he is