First Drivers' Strike Goes Ahead Saturday

K-9

It was also understood that the action included drivers returning to the depot before completing journeys if they had worked their full hours for the day or were due to have a tea break.

The move saw passengers told to get off the buses before their stop.

arseholes

That has a hunnish aroma to it.

Friggin pr!cks.

• Replies 235

It was also understood that the action included drivers returning to the depot before completing journeys if they had worked their full hours for the day or were due to have a tea break.

Aye, that's indefensible, what if it was an old wifie with no change to catch another bus and no mobile to phone a taxi? Or a visitor to the city who had no idea where they were being forced off? I hope those responsible get the sack and have a miserable Christmas.

Just got the bus home and for some reason that even the driver didn't explain, the bus took a different route and went near its final destination before turning to go back into town leaving several people (some elderly) with a bit of a walk home.

Also the driver didn't seem to care to much after I told him about the neddles lying up the back of the bus, so health and safety can't be that big an issue.

• Admin
The drivers insisted on routine safety inspections on buses and refused to carry on driving buses, after spotting faults with windscreen wipers and headlights.

The union claimed more than 60 buses had not left the depot due to the work-to-rule safety checks, with 20 later taken off the road when passengers were aboard the vehicles and told to get off.

This is utterly disgraceful and disgusting. They should be fully ashamed of themselves. It's not exactly been summer weather lately, and forcing people off the bus before their stop is making me rage. How dare they! A bunch of bast@rds. You pay for a service and you damned well follow through with it. You buy a ticket from destination A to B, and if that has not been fulfilled you should have the right for a refund or compensation.

I'm sure there were plenty of old folk and people with young kids left by the side of the street because of this action.

The drivers have no sympathy from me, they are vile friggs..

Been down in Glasgow for a couple of days so not up to date with the latest. What is the current situation? Going back to work after a couple of days off so don't want to get caught out tomorrow. Are the bus drivers essentially being as disruptive as possible right now? :laughing:

I only got back into town like an hour ago and walked back to my flat from the centre of town as there were massive queues for the bus. Not sure if it was Xmas shoppers, bus driver actions or a combo of the two.

They're on a work to rule. So getting safety checks on buses for something like a window wiper not working properly. If a drivers shift is finished he'll just return to the depot...etc.

Oh and they're striking Friday/Saturday too. Quite ironic that they'll be worse off after the strike even if they do get the 5% rise :laughing:

Just got the bus home after for some reason that even the driver didn't even explain the bus took a different bus and went near its final destination turning to go back into town leaving several people (some elderly) with a bit of a walk home.

Also the driver didn't seem to care to much after I told him about the neddles lying up the back of the bus, so health and safety can't be that big an issue.

:laughing::hysterical:

Loons, the whole point of a work to rule is to be disruptive without falling foul of your contract of employment. It sounds to me that these drivers are regularly forced to work hours in excess of their regular hours in order to service customer demand. Reading between the lines I'd say that this is an issue that they have felt aggrieved about for some time, while Mr Firstbus did fxck all to alleviate the situation. The drivers therefore are trying to force the issue.

Of course passengers are inconvenienced and will be angry, but don't take all that anger out on the drivers. They are the public face of the company and it is always they who get the flak. Direct some of your anger also towards Firstbus.

From experience ( albeit many moons ago ), I'd suggest that this dispute will either be resolved quickly, with Firstbus then making longer term plans to screw the drivers, or it will escalate to all out strike after Firstbus start suspending drivers who refuse to work normally.

Up The Revolution, Wolfy!

ran to catch a bus home today got to the stop just as the lassie with the buggy was putting in her money and the driver closed the door and drove off,now he can't claim not have seen me as i was running directly at the bus plus a old lady never got on,so they have probably lost someone else's support (not mine as they never had it) still got the feeling the union is leading them up the garden path

Loons, the whole point of a work to rule is to be disruptive without falling foul of your contract of employment. It sounds to me that these drivers are regularly forced to work hours in excess of their regular hours in order to service customer demand. Reading between the lines I'd say that this is an issue that they have felt aggrieved about for some time, while Mr Firstbus did fxck all to alleviate the situation. The drivers therefore are trying to force the issue.

Of course passengers are inconvenienced and will be angry, but don't take all that anger out on the drivers. They are the public face of the company and it is always they who get the flak. Direct some of your anger also towards Firstbus.

From experience ( albeit many moons ago ), I'd suggest that this dispute will either be resolved quickly, with Firstbus then making longer term plans to screw the drivers, or it will escalate to all out strike after Firstbus start suspending drivers who refuse to work normally.

Lang bar min, thats far too sensible an opinion on here - lets be a little more hysterical in your posts next time please

Aye right enough, the rest of don't have to do that either. Bring back Maggie!!!!

Where is the guy that works for the First bus, he seemed to have disappeared after I made my point........well there is a surprise.

I wanted to find out who they are thinking about when these sort of things are going on, i.e. the strikes, the dropping off before end of route, driving off without picking up passengers.........is it just young ones that is being thought of when this sort of thing is being done? I'm just keen to find out because my mates gran is actually in the hospital right now suffering (bad chest infection) big style because of the cold and why? Because the bus never turned up...........nice one lads! All respect I MAY have had for you lot has completely and utterly disappeared, you bunch of selfish arrogant PRICKS!!!! So I ask again, are you actually thinking of anyone but yourselves, in situations like this. I couldn't really care if a bus never turned up for me, because I'm sure I can stand the cold and I won't end up in hospital over the heads of it..............but others that just isn't the case.

Also, elderly use your service every other day...........they use the NHS every day also. Now, say you take ill one day and you are really requiring to go to hospital, and your only way is to get there is bus, but wait they are on strike...........so you manage to get up to the hospital, and when you get there, Nurses / Doctors / staff a like are standing outside because they have gone on strike, now what would your comments be on that?

All the NHS being on strike, because they want a 5% wage increase, but have only been given 4%, feelings then First bus poster?

P.S. The bus strikes are off on Friday, neighbour was saying last night that there was 6 hour talks so reckons it might be off.

SELFISH b*stardS!!!!! VERY GOOD!!!!!

He's maybe driving his bus?

last night was a joke

"broken down" bus bloking st macher round about another two "broken down" busses on king street blocking the road that leads to bouly and traffic backed up king street in both directs then another "broken down" bus on holburn street.

god forbid anyone was in need of medical assistance in any of these places last night, also dumping passengers right left and center after taking money from them, if they wernt going to carry out THEIR jobs why take the passengers money

f**king scumbags

every single first poster asking for staff have the wages on them, they KNEW what they were going to work for so why complain about it.

hope they all get sacked

If a driver left a bus blocking a busy junction on purpose and abandoned it there inflicting misery on hundreds if not thousands of people just trying to get home from work, I hope he loses more than his job, I hope someone knocks every single one of his teeth out and feeds them back to him. There is absolutely no excuse for doing that, none.

Lang bar min, thats far too sensible an opinion on here - lets be a little more hysterical in your posts next time please

heres a tip for you. dont use or read the site then if you dont like it.

on topic. i spoke with someone from the hospital last night. 2 cancer patients who did not know the strikes would carry on after saturday went to get the bus on Monday and missed their chemotherapy treatment as they did not get on a bus on time.

i have no idea if this guy was being truthful or not. he seemed rather angry about it before we played fives last night.

I was at the bus stop the other day and two old ladies were going on about missing doctor appointments because of the busses and couldn't get one for another week.

The bus that was 'parked' on King Street was a bit dodgy. Surely the bus could have managed to move about 100 yards up the road and clear the road. Police having to block off the road and divert traffic etc, I bet they were chuffed about it aswell.

Aye right enough, the rest of don't have to do that either. Bring back Maggie!!!!

Yes RTYD many of us do have to work excess hours on a regular basis.

However some employers take the pxss and don't recognise that their employees may have things to do with their own time, like go to a doctors appointment, go pick up kids etc etc. I suspect that First are one such employer. Remember it is not so long ago that First employees in the anti socialist US of A were looking for support against First.

However recognising that I am in a minority, I will give up all my principles and will change my stance on this issue. I now believe that all these drivers should be strung up by the bxlls. How dare they try and make life a bit easier for themselves by exposing the frailties of their employer.

Even better give them a huge pay rise to say

However some employers take the pxss and don't recognise that their employees may have things to do with their own time, like go to a doctors appointment, go pick up kids etc etc. I suspect that First are one such employer. Remember it is not so long ago that First employees in the anti socialist US of A were looking for support against First.

However recognising that I am in a minority, I will give up all my principles and will change my stance on this issue. I now believe that all these drivers should be strung up by the bxlls. How dare they try and make life a bit easier for themselves by exposing the frailties of their employer.

Much better

Cheers for that sterling tip VDA, actually quite like this site however I dinnae necessarily have to agree with fit a'body else says, it would be kinda boring if we all thought the same eh?

agreed it would be boring.

but is there any need to generalise the whole site just because you dont agree with the opinions of a few posters

It's not as if these drivers are being asked to work exceptionally long shifts for minimum wage.

There are some company's who do not care about their employee's social life/family life, however you'd have to be stupid not to realise that being a bus driver is gonna involve anti social hours.

This recent action by the drivers, coupled with the terrible service First bus provide in Aberdeen is not helping their cause.

I'm all for workers rights, but guys like the lad from the union are a throw back to the 70's.

Much better

Cheers for that sterling tip VDA, actually quite like this site however I dinnae necessarily have to agree with fit a'body else says, it would be kinda boring if we all thought the same eh?

Too phvckin true. Vive la difference

In 30 years time somebdy will mak a filum aboot some kid fae Mounthooly that wants to be in Strictly Come Dancin.

His auld man winna be happy cause he ay wanted him tae be a bus driver.

The music score could include hits like "Bus Stop" by the Hollies, Barry White "Your my First......." and The Jacksons with "Don't Stop Till You Get Enough".

While the kid is birlin through the streets o Aiberdeen they could re-enact scenes of busses abandoned on West North Street and auld folk being thrown aff on King Street. Plus they could hae a scrap between 2 young mothers over the last remaining buggy park on the number 17 to Garden City or the number 4 to Sea Beach, just to mix current trends with nostalgic names.

They could call it Wullie Duncealot.

The final scene could see Wullie in the the show duncing an American Smooth, while the band belt oot The Beautiful Souths " Perfect 10", just as he finishes, bending his sexy partner oer his knee, the scene fades oot to be replaced by images of a number 11 coming doon Mid Stocket Road and being pelted by bricks and sna ba's by wee cxnts oot o Oakbank. The driver is taken by surprise and swerves uncontrollably into a wall, and topples over.

Wullie draps the sexy bird and stands bolt upright as if in sudden shock. A tear rolls doon his cheek.

The scene floats back to an image of the deid bus driver...............it's Wullies da.

Still in tears, Craig Revel Hollywood tells him " that wis shxte min, now fxck off back to Aiberdeen, I hear they are a driver short ".

Have I just teen that too far?