Thread O Bloke Shit

Ke1t

Got it into my heid that it would be a good idea to roast/barbeque a whole pig. 

Been looking into the requirements for this project, and it seems like it's not all that hard. I'll need to dig out a fire pit, build a rudimentary scaffold/cage, and cook it for 12 - 15 hours over an open fire... rotating and basting it periodically using a mop and bucket with some kind of fat or marinade. Can probably hook up something to catch a lot of the pig fat. 

Obviously the Muslim and Jew contingents of the family won't be invited, but a 100lb hog should feed 20 of us and the neighbours pretty handily. Throw in a few kegs of home made beer and some Wardruna and you have the makings of a decent Viking funeral. 

Anyone here roasted a whole pig or other medium sized farm animal, and if so what kind of things should the amateur pig-roaster prep for?

Tips and potential pitfalls?

Pig+Roast+3.jpg?format=1000w

I've seen it done at Glen Clova Beer festival and it was bloody fantastic. Give them a call.

Make sure there is plenty of aipple sauce.

And that Nat Fraser didn't have a hand in rearing the squealer

Post pics if you get it done!

This'll be something I do in July when we have our regular gathering up in the wilds of northern Michigan... we also have a get together around Christmas and New Year, but temperatures will be about -10, and I'll be fucked if I'm trying to roast a pig for 12 hours in 3 feet of snow with a blizzard blowing in off the water.  

Saw it done a few weeks back at some fake Oktoberfest shindig (in September) and it was fucking brilliant, as you say. Since we BBQ/Grill/Smoke  about 60-70 lbs of meat over July 4th anyway I figured this would be an interesting project to attempt. 

Plenty time to get the pit dug out and source a pig supplier.  But there'll be pictures all right.

7-8 hours with the proper hog roast oven. Perfect meat and marvelous crackling.

I've a feeling you want to build/do this whole shebang yourself though @@Kelt. Therefore no idea.

Just looking at them on Amazon... that's actually very interesting.  Didn't even realise those were a thing, because the way I'd seen it done was over a pit with coals.  There's actually a machine that does all the turning and is basically a self-contained fire pit... good shout, DF... these are the kinds of ideas I'm hoping for. Cheers, min!

:thumbup1:

I'm going to spend some time on the YouTubes seeing how the rednecks do it. They usually have innovative ways of doing this sort of thing inna. 

Just looking at them on Amazon... that's actually very interesting. Didn't even realise those were a thing, because the way I'd seen it done was over a pit with coals. There's actually a machine that does all the turning and is basically a self-contained fire pit... good shout, DF... these are the kinds of ideas I'm hoping for. Cheers, min!

I'm going to spend some time on the YouTubes seeing how the rednecks do it. They usually have innovative ways of doing this sort of thing inna.

No problem, just send me a portion of the hog home delivery and we'll call it quits.

Trouble we the Elmers and Jethros is when they go on a hog hunt they pour so much lead into the piggy there is fuck all left to roast. That is why the rednecks are all skinny cunts. Far better to go down the Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall route. Happy roasting pardner and for fuck sake remember and put an apple in porkies gob or your reputation will be in tatters forever.

Just looking at them on Amazon... that's actually very interesting. Didn't even realise those were a thing, because the way I'd seen it done was over a pit with coals. There's actually a machine that does all the turning and is basically a self-contained fire pit... good shout, DF... these are the kinds of ideas I'm hoping for. Cheers, min!

There’s some beauties of videos of rednecks cooking stuff in barrels of fat that are at insane temperatures. Have a googleof those. Cooking stuff instantly. Mad bastards.

A pigs cheek is the tastiest bit, straight off the hog roast.

Nom nom

have been offered some of the sheep's brain straight out of the skull off the spit.  got out a "no thanks" before starting to gag at the thought. 

Croatians. go figure. 

i attend a pig and beef roast once a year (friends own a large, well-used unit that rotisseries and host a couple events each year). 

if you're not sure you want to do it more than the once, you may want to check into just renting a unit, @@Ke1t?

have been offered some of the sheep's brain straight out of the skull off the spit.  got out a "no thanks" before starting to gag at the thought. 

Croatians. go figure. 

i attend a pig and beef roast once a year (friends own a large, well-used unit that rotisseries and host a couple events each year). 

if you're not sure you want to do it more than the once, you may want to check into just renting a unit, @@Ke1t?

Sounds good Lgir. Whats your thoughts on a decent marinade? are you a fan of spit roasts in general?

Croatians. go figure. 

I'm not a fan of renting, to be honest. I'd rather build something that'll suit the purpose or buy what I need outright. I'm looking for a new welding torch for a project I plan on doing over the winter, so if I can find a viable design I'd probably buy the sheet metal and have a crack at making my own roaster. 

There are roasters available on Amazon for a few hundred bucks, and it seems like they'll cut down the cooking time and auto turn the spit too.  I might invest in one of those, just for the sake of simplicity.  It could also be repurposed to cook kebabs, turkey, duck, or whatever medium sized animal wanders across my property. There are otters, coyotes, beavers, wild turkeys, deer, bear, partridge and eagles routinely trespassing on my shit, so if I could snare one of them... or blast it out of the sky, either or... then I'd have a go at  roasting/smoking one of those bastards.  Probably illegal to eat an eagle, but they look delicious. 

On a side note, I just saw this in the news today.... mental. But understandable. 

Luggage Pig

CPB_HardyPig_101518_1539650231198_622653

I bought back a full iberico ham, holding stand and knife after I came back from southern Spain.

It sat in the living room covered in a linen cloth. After a while Mrs breeks was like get that stinking thing tae fuck. So I ate it quickly. A lifetimes worth of salt in about a week.

This might seem like an obvious question... but do you not have a fridge?