Films

Winnie the Pooh:Blood and Honey.

Weird concept for a movie and think it could have been done a bit better overall, but not too bad. Will give it a 6/10. I read somewhere that the maker of it got death threats for making the beloved character into a killer. People really need to get a life, no one is forcing them to take their kids to see it. Same people who get offended over literally anything...

Anyway, I digress.

Saw X.

Was told this was an upgrade on the previous half dozen so went with it and yeah it is. Had an actual storyline instead of just a succession of folk being ripped apart in different ways. In terms of timeline I think it seems to be placed after Saw I. 

Was looking forward to Killers Of The Flower Moon coming out but just noticed the run time is 3h 26m. Not so sure now.

3 hours ago, Jigsaw666 said:

Saw X.

Was told this was an upgrade on the previous half dozen so went with it and yeah it is. Had an actual storyline instead of just a succession of folk being ripped apart in different ways. In terms of timeline I think it seems to be placed after Saw I. 

Was looking forward to Killers Of The Flower Moon coming out but just noticed the run time is 3h 26m. Not so sure now.

Scorcese loves a long film.

I watched Old Dads last night. Written and directed by stand up comedian and creator of the animated show, F is For Family, Bill Burr.

Bill Burr's a great comedian and he knows how to make a good movie. I hope he makes loads more films. Wouldn't mind seeing him do a dark comedy or 805 drama with dark comedy at some point.

The film is on Netflix, but here's a link to a pirate site for it, but make sure you have a good adblocker, ie...

https://adblockplus.org

Link to film: https://actvid.rs/watch-movie/watch-old-dads-full-101791.10023790

Enjoy! 😀

On 10/11/2023 at 2:24 AM, Jigsaw666 said:

I know. I saw The Irishman in the Belmont (now closed, grim) and that was long. I found Avatar 2 more of a slog, all those blue cunts yammering away did my head in, no way I'm watching the next three sequels. 

Killers of the Flower Moon was even longer at over 4 hours, but Scorsese and his longtime editor, Thelma Schoonmaker, know how to edit a film, mastered that art decades ago on Raging Bull, they spent almost a year editing that masterpiece.

I'll go and see Killers of the Flower Moon next week. There are 11:30 am screenings. Not exactly in the mood these days for depressing films, though.

On 10/21/2023 at 4:25 PM, GAME OF BILLIONS said:

I know. I saw The Irishman in the Belmont (now closed, grim) and that was long. I found Avatar 2 more of a slog, all those blue cunts yammering away did my head in, no way I'm watching the next three sequels. 

Killers of the Flower Moon was even longer at over 4 hours, but Scorsese and his longtime editor, Thelma Schoonmaker, know how to edit a film, mastered that art decades ago on Raging Bull, they spent almost a year editing that masterpiece.

I'll go and see Killers of the Flower Moon next week. There are 11:30 am screenings. Not exactly in the mood these days for depressing films, though.

Killers Of The Flower Moon

...all the way to the end. Didn't do it for me. I think the story could be told more effectively as an hour long documentary. Nothing in the telling of the story in this film made it worthy of its extreme length. 

9 hours ago, Jigsaw666 said:

...all the way to the end. Didn't do it for me. I think the story could be told more effectively as an hour long documentary. Nothing in the telling of the story in this film made it worthy of its extreme length. 

The truth is, Art is timeless. In every definition of the word. The Art either speaks to you' in this moment' or it doesn’t. The length of the experience doesn’t matter.

13 hours ago, Jigsaw666 said:

This is just it. Most of these 160+ minute films these days just play like the cut of a film before what is known as the, "fine cut" is made. Most films ever made came in at 3-4 hours and were then meticulously, finely, cut down to 90-120, sometimes 140 minutes. Thor 3 and 4 felt like that. Guardians of the Galaxy 3, as well. Avatar 2 was unreal, so many yammering dialogue scenes in the first two hours. This is why people do, "fan edits" of long-arse films. They trim them down, change music, cut dialogue, maybe add a cool deleted scene. Pearl Harbor (2001 film) is the best one I can recommend like that. The official version is 3 hours long, has all these terrible romantic subplots, yammering dialogue scenes, but the fan edit I saw is noting but war, action. 

I think I'll just watch Killers of the Flower Moon on my telly at some point. 

Ridley Scott's, Napoleon is out on November 22. 157 minutes, not bum number! It's mainly about Napoleon and Josephine but has spectacular battles...

Not sure why, "War Pigs" by Sabbath are on this trailer. 

I don't know. Rod Steiger as Napoleon was a bit weird, the lack of French accent doesn't exactly made for convincing Napoleon. That would be like Boaby Carlisle playing Hitler.

On 10/28/2023 at 11:16 PM, King Street Loon said:

Sleepers. On now on channel 148.

Excellent filum. 

Cracking movie that.

Retribution

Liam Neeson is unconvincing in a bog standard "bomb under car seat so canny get oot" type thriller. Disappointing.

Suitable Flesh

Absolutely no idea what they were trying to do with this. Maybe making the thing "in the style of" something or other but I can't be arsed looking it up. Some kind of ancient curse not well explained with a spirit that can move from body to body after it chants something indecipherable. Think its a horror or maybe you're meant to laugh fuck knows. TBH half the time it looked and sounded like a soft porn movie from the 70s. I just thought it was boring.

5 hours ago, Arabian Knight said:

stick tae hell hoose llc 4 gramps

I'll assume you're talking about my opinion of Suitable Flesh. If its a horror its no scary, neither is it gory, the story was unengaging as were the characters, I didn't enjoy the way it was told nor how it was shot/edited/directed. 

Hell House? Found footage not my thing really so not seen any of them. 

If I got the wrong gist of your post well you could have elaborated.