Films

i take back my earlier comment.

The Dark Knight was FANTASTIC and Heath Ledger genuinely was oscar-worthy as the joker.

played him perfectly and im one more than satisfied batman fan right now!

just kinda makesyou wonder what they'll do if theres a 3rd...

In the next film that Harvey character turns into 2 face does he not?

He turns into two face in The Dark Knight. Though what do they do about the Joker in a 3rd film if they make it??

I wonder who the baddies will be in the next film? I heard Killer Croc would be one, although I would like to see the Riddler.

Saw Dead Mans Shoes on Film 4, thought it was great.

This is England likewise Film 4 - nae sae impressed.

Flags of our Fathers / Letters from Iwo Jima, you need to be in the right mood to sit doon and enjoy them.

Box set of Band of Brothers worth getting if you haven't seen it. Never get bored watching the series over again.

One to go and see with the girlfriend must be Mamma Mia!

I'll probably let the wife tak me in, canna wait.

Everyone on here is always going on about how good Dead Mans Shoes and This is England are but I was very underwhelmed by both. I had really high hopes too, as they're definitely my sort of films usually. Don't think I like Shane Meadows work much tbh...

Went to see 'Wanted' tonight (Donkey Punch wasn't showing anywhere in Glasgow bizarrely) was better than I expected. Decent Friday night action fodder.

i dont think i can say anymore about Batman than already said! Superb and as a big Batman fan it pisses all over anything beforehand!

...............and Health ledger is a shoe in for an Oscar! ............i was thinking beforehand it was a sympathy vote but the guy is truely amazing! Cant big him up enough!!!

I thought Ledger's interpretation of the Joker had heavy influence from both Nicholson's and Romero's previous performances. Didn't enjoy this as much as Batman Begins, Gyllenhaal didn't quite cut it, Eckhart and Ledger were good but thought Bale and Oldman didn't have enough screen time...

I didn't get the sense of enough sleuthing going on - Batman is a detective as well as a crimefighting bad ass.... Just seemed a bit gadget heavy....

Will definitely require a second viewing but I'm at B- just now...

Well, I let the wife take me in to see Mamma Mia.

If you let yourself relax and don't let Pierce Brosnans singing or Julie Walters overacting get to you, it is possible that you might enjoy this corny story.

The place was predominantly full of groups of women, laughing at what I found fairly unfunny scenes / dialogue, but I must admit it is quite amusing ( verging on farcical really ) how they crafted ABBA songs into the plot.

I recommend you take the wife / girlfriend to see this. Maybe have a few drinks first though!

Anyone seen the "new" Rambo movie? Mate let me borrow it. Now admittedly I was half doing something else at the time; but at 50% attention span it was unwatchable. Turned it off after about 40 mins. Was I being to hasty?

its a typical Rambo movie.

he gets mad, takes on a nation and blows sh*t up

its a typical Rambo movie.

he gets mad, takes on a nation and blows sh*t up

From the bit I saw it looked very much like that last one, which was shit also.

The first one was a classic though. Great film. Much like Rocky was. Someone should really tell Sly that sequels aren't a great idea.

From the bit I saw it looked very much like that last one, which was sh*t also.

The first one was a classic though. Great film. Much like Rocky was. Someone should really tell Sly that sequels aren't a great idea.

Rambo 4 is the most violent movie I've seen in a long time. Some might say that it's just violence for violence sake, but I disagree. It makes many a good point about the goings-on in Burma (aka Myanmar), while we turn a blind eye, for whatever reasons. Kudos to Stallone for highlighting this.

Rocky 6 was a lot better than I expected too. For a 60yr old, he is in incredible shape, although by his own admission he does rely a lot on *ahem* supplements (ie. growth hormone, etc.) to maintain his incredible physique.

On-topic:

I watched Casino Royale on Blu-Ray recently and was blown away. I had it on DVD previously, but the step up from DVD to Blu-Ray is as great as DVD was from the (by the late 90's) antiquated VHS format. All we need is for the prices to drop and Blu-Ray will be the future, as long as downloads don't kill the format first, like they have CDs.

Just another shout from me for The Dark Knight and for Heath Ledger's terrifying Joker. Absolutely outstanding and if any of you haven't seen it yet then get yer erse down to the cinema - you're in for a treat.

BTW I reckon they could get another actor in to play the Joker in a subsequent movie - it's been done before. Any actor worth their salt could use Ledger's performance as a 'template' but play it sufficiently differently to bring out other aspects of the character.

Just another shout from me for The Dark Knight and for Heath Ledger's terrifying Joker. Absolutely outstanding and if any of you haven't seen it yet then get yer erse down to the cinema - you're in for a treat.

BTW I reckon they could get another actor in to play the Joker in a subsequent movie - it's been done before. Any actor worth their salt could use Ledger's performance as a 'template' but play it sufficiently differently to bring out other aspects of the character.

Seconded. Ledger's performance is worth the admission fee alone, from the first iconic scene of the Joker waiting on a crowded Gotham street, back to the camera, holding a clown mask and the subsequent bank robbery to the last confrontation with Batman 'I feel like you & me were meant to fight forever', he is absolutely mesmerising. When he's not on screen you are waiting for him to appear. 'A psycholpatic clown with zero empathy' is exactly what you get. He is absolutely terrifying, in my opinion Ledger would be absolutely deserving of his posthumous Oscar.

The film itself looks stunning, the action sequences are superb. My one criticism is it's probably half an hour too long and the confused allegory with the war on terror is well... confused and a little disjointed. Still, I suppose that lends depth to a series of films that prior to Chris Nolan taking over as Director had absolutely no depth or meaning to them at all. The Dark Knight tries to engage your head as well as being visually stunning, and there's lots of interesting themes & ideas - the breakdown of society, the common good etc.

I think I was the last person in the country to have seen The Dark Knight, but I saw it last night and it was fantastic. Even at 150 mins long, I still wanted more by the end of it. Good effort.

Also I advice against having 5 pints beforehand.

I think I was the last person in the country to have seen The Dark Knight, but I saw it last night and it was fantastic. Even at 150 mins long, I still wanted more by the end of it. Good effort.

Also I advice against having 5 pints beforehand.

No wonder you wanted more, you probably only saw 30 minutes in total between your toilet breaks.

just seen dark knight.

agree with what (almost) everyone is sayin about Ledger, epic performance. I absolutely loved the dry mouth thing he did. Was such a small thing but it just gave the character that X.

Bale is rank rotten actor though. He is absolutely BALLS as batman. His batman voice just sounds like hes trying too hard to sound gruff. Keaton IMO is still the best Batman.

Very good film but there was just something missing at the end.

For my mrs film studies dissertation she did it on comic book movies so watched the 1st 3 batman movies several hundred times and she says from the way it ended

SPOLIER

Rachel isnt dead. We didnt see any indication whatsoever that she was dead. Its now set-up so that if they cant find the right person to play Selena Kyle, they can bring Rachel back as Catwoman. This ending being her 1st life. It wont be true to the comics but then so much of this Batman story was adapted that it could make it a better movie to have the woman the Bruce loves come back as the supervillain that Batman loves. Interesting theory, could be good if it worked that way.

cant wait for that "dont mess with the Zohan". Also dying to see "Tropic Thunder" wi Stiller, Black and Downey Jr. Both look bloody terrible but will be hillarious.

'Don't Mess With the Zohan' looks like it actually might be the worst film of all time. I don't really get why Adam Sandler is so popular.

I agree though that "Tropic Thunder" looks good, anything with a blacked up Robert Downey Jr has to be amazing.

just seen dark knight.

agree with what (almost) everyone is sayin about Ledger, epic performance. I absolutely loved the dry mouth thing he did. Was such a small thing but it just gave the character that X.

Bale is rank rotten actor though. He is absolutely BALLS as batman. His batman voice just sounds like hes trying too hard to sound gruff. Keaton IMO is still the best Batman.

Very good film but there was just something missing at the end.

For my mrs film studies dissertation she did it on comic book movies so watched the 1st 3 batman movies several hundred times and she says from the way it ended

SPOLIER

Rachel isnt dead. We didnt see any indication whatsoever that she was dead. Its now set-up so that if they cant find the right person to play Selena Kyle, they can bring Rachel back as Catwoman. This ending being her 1st life. It wont be true to the comics but then so much of this Batman story was adapted that it could make it a better movie to have the woman the Bruce loves come back as the supervillain that Batman loves. Interesting theory, could be good if it worked that way.

EH?