Summer Football

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/56709798

Reading the above article about the lower leagues reignites the question in my mind why don't we consider piloting a League season between February and November?

Just because we have always played through the shitey winter months doesn't mean that format is right.

I am sure that if a different format was piloted with the lower leagues the League and Scottish Cups could still be competed for with teams from the top two leagues, without too much change to the traditional schedules.

Who knows should the lower leagues change to playing matches in better climatical conditions on better pitches the quality at lower league level may improve and ultimately feed through to the higher leagues in the form of increased player development opportunities.

In hindsight the above approach might be too radical for the dinosaurs who run the game in this country ?

Never catch on. New Year’s Day arse cheeks game. The be all and end all of Scottish football. 

I’d be all for it tho. More chance of getting new fans through the doors. Kids on holiday and nothing else to do let’s go watch a football match, you never know the kids might like it and want to go back. Something needs to be done to ignite the youth of today into liking football again

50 minutes ago, Hoofball said:

Never catch on. New Year’s Day arse cheeks game. The be all and end all of Scottish football. 

I’d be all for it tho. More chance of getting new fans through the doors. Kids on holiday and nothing else to do let’s go watch a football match, you never know the kids might like it and want to go back. Something needs to be done to ignite the youth of today into liking football again

Not sure that works. There's absolutely loads to do in summer with kids compared to winter

23 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Not sure that works. There's absolutely loads to do in summer with kids compared to winter

What, with kids who continually complain they have fuck all to do, at anytime of the year?

An arguement put up by the dinosaurs was that folk go away on holiday during the summer, thus affecting crowds ?. People seem to go away in October more than July nowadays, in my experience anyway. And the traditional Trades fortnight and Weegie Fair fortnight went out decades ago.

Let’s face it, if we were to invent football from scratch in Scotland, would we play Aug to may? Would we fuck 

1 hour ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Parents are more likely to take children to football in the summer than the freezing cold with wind, sleet and snow in the winter. 

I think it would also help Scottish teams in Europe. They’d be match fit come play off time and not just coming back from end of season break

1 hour ago, Hoofball said:

Parents are more likely to take children to football in the summer than the freezing cold with wind, sleet and snow in the winter. 

I think it would also help Scottish teams in Europe. They’d be match fit come play off time and not just coming back from end of season break

Lets face it, summer is generally wind and constant rain. 

I do think it is daft playing football when pitches are at their absolute worst through the winter and early spring, but I'm not convinced crowds would be any higher.

I do like the idea to start the season in March and end around New Year though

26 minutes ago, shooftahmooftah said:

What a bunch of wimps.      There’s nothing like watching a game of football in a blizzard freezing your balls off, drinking a hot bovril and getting stuck into a greasy hot mince pie.     

My eldest has been to Pittodrie in the pissing rain and freezing cold. I feel it’s a learning experience and I went through the same experience but most parents nowaday’s wrap kids in cottonwool and don’t want poor wee whoever getting the sniffles.

Seen a survey where parents were asked if they’d want their kids doing apprenticeships and most said no because they didn’t want them sweeping up and the likes. Football may need to change with the times to keep crowd numbers up and one day the over pampered youth of today will be the people buying tickets as adults. It’s a poor state of affairs but it could well happen

2 hours ago, Hoofball said:

I feel it’s a learning experience and I went through the same experience but most parents nowaday’s wrap kids in cottonwool and don’t want poor wee whoever getting the sniffles.

Aye its shocking. As a loon, my Pittodrie experience was a freezing cold Wednesday night hearing all the mannies swearing and going for a pish round the back at the fence.... you'd be pishing on someones car if you did that now right enough

18 minutes ago, NEM said:

Summer football definitely the way ahead. European nights in shorts and t.shirt are infinitely better than midweek games in January where no matter how many layers you wear you end up cold with numb feet by start of the second half 

Is part of that the appeal of football being back from the break and playing against teams you aren't used to though? 

If you get invited to a BBQ sesh or the dons are playing Hamilton at Pittodrie, probably for the 3rd time in 6 weeks the way it often works out, you might have a tough decision to make

20 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Is part of that the appeal of football being back from the break and playing against teams you aren't used to though? 

If you get invited to a BBQ sesh or the dons are playing Hamilton at Pittodrie, probably for the 3rd time in 6 weeks the way it often works out, you might have a tough decision to make

Of course but the better weathers definitely a part of it.

Aye whether or not to nip into the bar for a swift pint en route from the game to the BBQ ? 

You could turn that argument round  - weathers absolutely horrendous do you bother your arse leaving the house or bar to go watch us play Hamilton for the 3rd time in a  few weeks

23 minutes ago, NEM said:

Of course but the better weathers definitely a part of it.

Aye whether or not to nip into the bar for a swift pint en route from the game to the BBQ ? 

You could turn that argument round  - weathers absolutely horrendous do you bother your arse leaving the house or bar to go watch us play Hamilton for the 3rd time in a  few weeks

To be honest, on both occasions I'm not going to watch Hamilton. So they are the problem. Not the weather. Get them relegated once and for all. 

53 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

To be honest, on both occasions I'm not going to watch Hamilton. So they are the problem. Not the weather. Get them relegated once and for all. 

Fair point ?

1 minute ago, TheRock said:

Summer games and beer back in stadiums. I'm all for that. 

Ridiculous we can't get a beer at the game cause the scum can't behave.  Just ban them from having it and let the rest of us crack on

44 minutes ago, Byrne Baby Byrne said:

Still don't get the hate for them. Are they really any less of an asset to the SPL than Livi? They live within their means and develop young players on a far more consistent basis than we have for at least the last 20 years. And they've survived constantly in spite despite having to live in the backyard of the arse cheeks. Similar sized clubs like Falkirk, Partick, Raith, Morton and Dunfermline have stayed down for years but they seem to be "loved" or at least tolerated by everyone.

Hearts coming up is obviously better for the league, although it's only a matter of time before they take the drop down again, yo-yo club that they are (and the sheer comedy value that it brings is always worth any "loss" they might be to the league)

As for summer football.....I just can't see it working unless every league in Europe follows suit. Ireland do it and it works well for them, but for any league with members that have serious intentions of going on a deep European run, it's just too risky for them to possibly face a EL round of 32 or CL round of 16 tie in February in what would be pre-season for them. If they managed somehow to still get through, the next round in March against even better opposition would come right at the start of the season, still lacking match sharpness.

2 minutes ago, Ten Caat said:

As for summer football.....I just can't see it working unless every league in Europe follows suit. Ireland do it and it works well for them, but for any league with members that have serious intentions of going on a deep European run, it's just too risky for them to possibly face a EL round of 32 or CL round of 16 tie in February in what would be pre-season for them. If they managed somehow to still get through, the next round in March against even better opposition would come right at the start of the season, still lacking match sharpness.

The counter argument to that would be that you increase your chances in the qualifying rounds by having summer football as you are mid season and playing against most other teams who are in pre season. 

1 hour ago, Ten Caat said:

Still don't get the hate for them. Are they really any less of an asset to the SPL than Livi? They live within their means and develop young players on a far more consistent basis than we have for at least the last 20 years. And they've survived constantly in spite despite having to live in the backyard of the arse cheeks. Similar sized clubs like Falkirk, Partick, Raith, Morton and Dunfermline have stayed down for years but they seem to be "loved" or at least tolerated by everyone.

Hearts coming up is obviously better for the league, although it's only a matter of time before they take the drop down again, yo-yo club that they are (and the sheer comedy value that it brings is always worth any "loss" they might be to the league)

Fucks the huns over - even more reason to go for it.

6 hours ago, Hoofball said:

My eldest has been to Pittodrie in the pissing rain and freezing cold. I feel it’s a learning experience and I went through the same experience but most parents nowaday’s wrap kids in cottonwool and don’t want poor wee whoever getting the sniffles.

Seen a survey where parents were asked if they’d want their kids doing apprenticeships and most said no because they didn’t want them sweeping up and the likes. Football may need to change with the times to keep crowd numbers up and one day the over pampered youth of today will be the people buying tickets as adults. It’s a poor state of affairs but it could well happen

As an aside I encouraged my loon to take a 4 year apprenticeship, start to finish, good times and bad.

He flew to Canada with his girlfriend last Thursday to take up a job offer there, originally made before lockdown.

I actually totally agree with you. Most parents, particularly mothers, wrap their kids in cotton wool, which is sowing the seeds for disaster in the years to come.

Rightly or wrongly I was too old school for that pish and the loon certainly recognises the benefits of his upbringing now.

11 hours ago, Woody21 said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/56709798

Reading the above article about the lower leagues reignites the question in my mind why don't we consider piloting a League season between February and November?

Just because we have always played through the shitey winter months doesn't mean that format is right.

I am sure that if a different format was piloted with the lower leagues the League and Scottish Cups could still be competed for with teams from the top two leagues, without too much change to the traditional schedules.

Who knows should the lower leagues change to playing matches in better climatical conditions on better pitches the quality at lower league level may improve and ultimately feed through to the higher leagues in the form of increased player development opportunities.

In hindsight the above approach might be too radical for the dinosaurs who run the game in this country ?

Agree.

Worth a try for a couple of seasons. 

But the authorities on this country shite themselves about moving a cup final away from Hampden let alone move the season. 

3 hours ago, Woody21 said:

As an aside I encouraged my loon to take a 4 year apprenticeship, start to finish, good times and bad.

He flew to Canada with his girlfriend last Thursday to take up a job offer there, originally made before lockdown.

I actually totally agree with you. Most parents, particularly mothers, wrap their kids in cotton wool, which is sowing the seeds for disaster in the years to come.

Rightly or wrongly I was too old school for that pish and the loon certainly recognises the benefits of his upbringing now.

You talk as if moving to Canada is a massive deal. 

If he ends up like the Canadians on here you’re fucked. He’ll come back with a boyfriend. 

• Haha 3
8 minutes ago, 1903Fitba said:

You talk as if moving to Canada is a massive deal. 

If he ends up like the Canadians on here you’re fucked. He’ll come back with a boyfriend. 

It is min.

Company he worked for in Aberdeen got feck all work and likely to pay folk off post furlough.

Company in Canada have a significant order book and pay a much higher wage.

No brainer surely ?

I fear the opportunity has come and gone. When the season was cut short due to Covid it was the perfect opportunity to bring in summer football. Just don't see how they can make it work now. Would next season finish early in January? How would you play all your games from July to August? There may be an opportunity with the Qatar world cup depending when leagues plan to run.

2 hours ago, Durrant Dived said:

I fear the opportunity has come and gone. When the season was cut short due to Covid it was the perfect opportunity to bring in summer football. Just don't see how they can make it work now. Would next season finish early in January? How would you play all your games from July to August? There may be an opportunity with the Qatar world cup depending when leagues plan to run.

The  opportunity is very unlikely to be exercised whilst the current powers at be regime continues to exist.

The only changes they ever think about is when David Bowie is on their boardroom wireless.....