Coronavirus

Henry

23 minutes ago, BrianFaePerth said:

Studies from reputable organisations (and the WHO) say it makes no difference, but these studies were done in the less enlightened times before daily changes in government policies to gain more power.

What about Fubar and Aberdeen Guardian? What have they got to say? Most of the North East seems to worship these illiterate jumped up morons so I'd assume they have more clout than anyone up here.

6 hours ago, Parklife said:

There's very little the ordinary person can't do now 

Apart from go out and meet a group of mates, go to the football, travel freely, attend gigs, make a living without fear your business might be locked back down at any minute, live a life without fear and propaganda being shoved down your threat. And many more. It’s pretty obvious you’ve dug your heels in to the extent you’re too stubborn to change your views but people’s human rights are far from back to normal. 

3 hours ago, Quagmire said:

Apart from go out and meet a group of mates,

I done just that on Sunday. 

go to the football,

Trials with fans likely to start this Sunday. 

travel freely,

We can travel to any country that will accept us. We may have to quarantine either side though. 

attend gigs,

Can't do that. 

make a living without fear your business might be locked back down at any minute,

Not sure what your business is, so I can't comment on that. 

live a life without fear and propaganda being shoved down your threat.

You can ignore whatever you don't want to hear. However I think you may be branding what you don't agree with/ want to hear as "fear and propaganda", rather than anything that is actually propaganda   

And many more. It’s pretty obvious you’ve dug your heels in to the extent you’re too stubborn to change your views but people’s human rights are far from back to normal. 

What views? I try and base my views on scientific evidence and research. Not the incessant whinging of a few dafties on here. 

We're progressing well at this point. The precautions we are taking every day appear to be preventing any big spikes and clusters have so far been relatively well contained. 

The biggest disappointment is the stopping dead of support. A furlough scheme tailored to industries such as hospitality, which will continue to suffer, should've been extended IMO. 

9 minutes ago, Ohjimmyjimmy said:

I’m with Parky on this one. Some of you lot are whinging paranoid fuds.

Some sort of conspiracy theory for  Government to “grab power” over the subservient masses? 

Fucking hell, listen to yourselves you plums.

Aye, no power grab here in to what for most people is a barely noticeable cold

47-D38988-F78-D-4344-8-CA4-888-E952-C376

1 minute ago, Lencarl said:

Agree.

Never heard so much rubbish from Covid-19 deniers.

The reason that cases have gone down is because of the measures taken by the Scottish Government.

To stop these measures so a few folk can go for a drink is insane.

The pubs open today so behave.

If the Scottish government hadn't punted a load of untested patients into care homes a lot of people might still have their grannies and grandads around. They've restricted the freedoms of perfectly healthy people who would barely be affected by it, lost people their jobs and businesses, fucked up a lot of young people's educations at the same time as exposing the people most vulnerable to the disease to it. 

Using those numbers as a tool to prolong this madness is ludicrous. Both governments, UK and Scottish have made an almighty cunt of it and expecting people to just keep on blindly accepting that they know best is just stupid. 

I'm not a conspiracy theorist but I strongly suspect Sturgeon knows she's made a huge cunt of it and we'll have to put up with more of this nonsense just so she doesn't have to admit it. 

16 minutes ago, Ohjimmyjimmy said:

I’m with Parky on this one. Some of you lot are whinging paranoid fuds.

Some sort of conspiracy theory for  Government to “grab power” over the subservient masses? 

Fucking hell, listen to yourselves you plums.

Agree.

Never heard so much rubbish from Covid-19 deniers.

The reason that cases have gone down is because of the measures taken by the Scottish Government.

To stop these measures so a few folk can go for a drink is insane.

The pubs open today so behave.

1 hour ago, Parklife said:

I done just that on Sunday. 

Trials with fans likely to start this Sunday. 

We can travel to any country that will accept us. We may have to quarantine either side though. 

Can't do that. 

Not sure what your business is, so I can't comment on that. 

You can ignore whatever you don't want to hear. However I think you may be branding what you don't agree with/ want to hear as "fear and propaganda", rather than anything that is actually propaganda   

What views? I try and base my views on scientific evidence and research. Not the incessant whinging of a few dafties on here. 

We're progressing well at this point. The precautions we are taking every day appear to be preventing any big spikes and clusters have so far been relatively well contained. 

The biggest disappointment is the stopping dead of support. A furlough scheme tailored to industries such as hospitality, which will continue to suffer, should've been extended IMO. 

You’re starting to sound like a politician yourself now Parkie. All of the points I made above have heavy restrictions which make life far from normal. 

It’s not really whinging dafties either. There’s plenty of evidence and research that back up the concerns MB, Dayts (altho they’re obviously on the wind up sometime) etc, it just doesn’t suit your viewpoint.

A few weeks ago you said along the lines the new priority should be to completely eradicate COVID from the country. You still believing that’s possible and do you think it’s need judged by the high infection rates yet low deaths/hospital admissions? 

9 minutes ago, Quagmire said:

A few weeks ago you said along the lines the new priority should be to completely eradicate COVID from the country. You still believing that’s possible and do you think it’s need judged by the high infection rates yet low deaths/hospital admissions? 

Aren't the infection rates relatively low at the moment? (Dundee chicken factory aside)

2 minutes ago, Sooper-hanz said:

Read Mongochops latest pish . 

I agree with his last part to a point. Not just Sturgeon tho, the whole of the UK has made a mess of this but are they going to admit to it? 

From the article in the Express the other day, I’d say NS has been more than guilty of this...

“I am concerned people have become overly frightened and throughout this pandemic, the fear instilled in people has been a real problem. 

“Many people misunderstand and overestimate their risk of Covid. This uncertainty is leaving them highly anxious and affecting schools, offices and how we go about our daily lives. The government needs to intervene to explain to people their true risks."

He also called for an end to local lockdowns without better evidence of their need. 

He said: "We now have more data which shows the disease is not as deadly as we first thought, and despite coming out of lockdown and the small increase in the detection of infections in certain areas we have not seen a corresponding increase in hospital admissions or critical care beds, or deaths.

Can't really say it's normal just now. 

Can't holiday abroad without the threat of potential quarentine...surely Airport testing could avoid this? 

Holiday in Scotland and Teuchters and yokels go wild "stop bringing the virus here" 

Can't go to the fitba. 

Can only see pals in limited numbers 

Curtain twitching mentality and folk fear to leave the house... To list a few. 

Also not a denier, know its out there but this is unsustainable. A zero covid scotland isn't happening. 

So what is the way out of this, the UK or Scottish government haven't got a plan.  Continue in this sub standard way of living forever more? 

Surely keeping fit and healthy being is the best was of fighting off a virus. Not having us cooped up in the house 99% of the time like it was back in March / April /May. 

Life is full of choices and risk, maybe we just have to get on with it. If the 0.4% chance of me dying means getting back to normality then so be it.

As I keep saying we ain't all going to agree on this. Everyone's situation is different. 

The thing is who is stopping people with Covid-19 going out drinking. Nobody

By all accounts that is what started the Aberdeen lockdown in the first place.

The solution is monetary ankle bracelets for everyone who is tested positive.

That will keep them at home for a few weeks.

12 hours ago, Parklife said:

Not that odd surely, given much of the country are working from home, Vulnerable people are shielding, people are wearing masks in enclosed spaces and keeping distance from others where possible. 

Early in the year we were doing nothing to counter the spread. Now most are taking precautions to Avoid spreading. There's very little the ordinary person can't do now, as long as we take pretty basic precautions like putting a mask on. If we'd taken these earlier, we may even have avoided the heaviest restrictions totally. There's certainly evidence from the Far East that it was possible to do so, if the right decisions and guidance had been given by governments. 

Around half of our Covid deaths have been in care homes. Did the Far East governments put Covid patients into care homes?

1 hour ago, Quagmire said:

You’re starting to sound like a politician yourself now Parkie. All of the points I made above have heavy restrictions which make life far from normal. 

It’s not really whinging dafties either. There’s plenty of evidence and research that back up the concerns MB, Dayts (altho they’re obviously on the wind up sometime) etc, it just doesn’t suit your viewpoint.

The infection rates are pretty low. A few clusters that have hopefully been controlled. I believe we should have a "zero covid"strategy where we track and trace to isolate anyone that's been in contact with an infection in order to break the chain of transmission. 

I think that's what we're doing. 

28 minutes ago, NEM said:

Around half of our Covid deaths have been in care homes. Did the Far East governments put Covid patients into care homes?

No. As I've said many times, that decision was a disgrace and summed up how totally unprepared we were for this. 

Covid didn't seem to be taken seriously In the UK at all by March, by which time it was already too late. 

46 minutes ago, Millertime said:

I'm not saying its not real

I am saying you are no more likely to die from that than you are cancer and we don't pish ourselves over that 

you sure about that? Why is that there's a huge number of charities for cancer? There's literally posters up asking people to check themselves and get checked for cancer. Woman get smeer tests frequently.

There are literally cancer wards and companies set up to look after cancer patients.

But aye, we don't pish ourselves over it.

41 minutes ago, Parklife said:

The infection rates are pretty low. A few clusters that have hopefully been controlled. I believe we should have a "zero covid"strategy where we track and trace to isolate anyone that's been in contact with an infection in order to break the chain of transmission. 

I think that's what we're doing. 

Depends, 500 a week and then I presume with your strategy everyone who’s been in contact with those new infections would need to isolate for two weeks. You’ll probably say that infections will drop with the track and trace method but eventually we’re going to have to open up the world again and that’s going to mean people traveling for work or leisure and the likelihood the virus will spread again. Which means if we want to get anywhere back to normal, it isn’t realistic to ask people to continually isolate for that length of time. 

Anyway again the gadjie Heneghan puts it far better than me....

“He believes coronavirus should now be seen in the context of other respiratory pathogens, all of which can cause complications.

And he called for the government to focus on shielding vulnerable groups and properly explain that the risks are minimal to those outside this group. 

He said: "As a million children go back to school, and people start to go back to offices, we need to explain how the risks compare to other risks people may face in life. 

“For Covid it's incredibly low. People need to understand this. Risk drives our behaviours, and if we don't understand them, then it gives rise to an overcautious - just in case - approach. 

“Only if the impact of the disease worsens should we consider putting in local measures shown to slow down the spread of the disease.”

He said we need to learn to live alongside Covid-19 as we can no longer eliminate it. “We need to reorientate our thinking on how to live alongside it.

“Right now, we are seeing below average excess deaths for all causes for the eighth week in a row. The messaging stay at home save lives throughout the pandemic led people to be more fearful than they have ever been, one can say it worked too well, but the current data shows it is currently safer to go out than it has ever been."

33 minutes ago, StandFree1982 said:

you sure about that? Why is that there's a huge number of charities for cancer? There's literally posters up asking people to check themselves and get checked for cancer. Woman get smeer tests frequently.

There are literally cancer wards and companies set up to look after cancer patients.

But aye, we don't pish ourselves over it.

Please stop using literally like that. 

14 minutes ago, Quagmire said:

Depends, 500 a week and then I presume with your strategy everyone who’s been in contact with those new infections would need to isolate for two weeks. You’ll probably say that infections will drop with the track and trace method but eventually we’re going to have to open up the world again and that’s going to mean people traveling for work or leisure and the likelihood the virus will spread again. Which means if we want to get anywhere back to normal, it isn’t realistic to ask people to continually isolate for that length of time.

What's the alternative? Just ignore it and allow it to spread through the population again? 

I think the hope is that sooner rather than later we have an effective vaccine. Until then, what do we do? Sick people don't produce economic activity, so I don't see just allowing it to spread as a solution. 

14 minutes ago, Quagmire said:

“For Covid it's incredibly low. People need to understand this. Risk drives our behaviours, and if we don't understand them, then it gives rise to an overcautious - just in case - approach. 

I guess my problem with that is we don't fully know the risks. We don't know the long term affects (remarkably little data so far) and we don't even know that people can't get it multiple times. 

7 minutes ago, tutankamun said:

that's an awful lot of people to focus on shielding; old, fat, smokers, diabetics, cancer patients etc. etc. millions of people to focus on never mind the people that live with them

Two classes of society. The old and sick hiding in their house, the young not giving a fuck. Dunno who's going to look after the old and sick, given the levels of infection amongst the general population will Sky-rocket? 

20 minutes ago, Quagmire said:

And he called for the government to focus on shielding vulnerable groups and properly explain that the risks are minimal to those outside this group. 

that's an awful lot of people to focus on shielding; old, fat, smokers, diabetics, cancer patients etc. etc. millions of people to focus on never mind the people that live with them