Scotland u19s

• Replies 97

Terrific win for the Scotland u19s tonight at Firhill.Dean Campbell outstanding,save for a slightly late tackle early on ! Very calm and composed, superb reverse pass to set up Josh McPake winner.Frustrating night for Ethan Ross,very quiet,denied possible penalty and also denied taking free kick that was tailor made for him.Think Queen of the South Reserves at Palmerston last season.A wee mention for Archie Mair,strong and commanding in goals,took crosses no bother and vital saves.A very encouraging night for Scottish football and all at Aberdeen Youth Academy.

Not one single person remembers that Poods. Horrendous amounts of drink and drugs had to be taken during that period to wipe it out.

See the Ebbe years. Actually enjoyed them because I had to get so fucked out of my face to go I thought I was watching Barcelona. Only to be told on the Monday we had been done 6-1 at home by Livingstone.

Think even Wikipedia had to get pished to forget.

Guest the shepherd

Not one single person remembers that Poods. Horrendous amounts of drink and drugs had to be taken during that period to wipe it out.

See the Ebbe years. Actually enjoyed them because I had to get so fucked out of my face to go I thought I was watching Barcelona. Only to be told on the Monday we had been done 6-1 at home by Livingstone.

Think even Wikipedia had to get pished to forget.

You must have had some session on the recreational beverages and substances if you were told on a Monday we lost 6-1 at home to Livingston as it was a midweek game min

The reason they become shit is because over the years, we've ignored young players for shite journeymen from the lower English leagues. Over the last few years there looks to be a shift in mentality where teams are starting to give young players a chance, so maybe the future is a bit brighter.  

It might be that being priced out by every English side from League 1 onwards will actually benefit Scottish football long term, if we're all sensible and promote youth rather than paying over the odds for shite. 

haha who am i kidding. We'll still be paying 2k a week for pish like Gleeson 5 years from now. 

Cracking night for the young lads.

Wish we put more faith in Youth rather than pay gleeson 2k a week in wages like someone mentioned, of our current squad - Gleeson, Main, Taylor, Gallagher - i'd like to all see replaced with youngsters in their place. They probably take up somewhere between 6-9k of wages.

Boys like Deano, Ethan, Bruce need game time - Bruce Anderson is 21 now and he's played a handfull of minutes for us.

It’s difficult as you say that and I agree but how much abuse has deano taken on here this season alone

A lot of the abuse is from people who don’t go to the games.

Black, Simpson, Cooper, Hewitt and Simmie proved that youth does work when played with experienced players.

It’s up to McInnes to start playing the younger lads regularly and reap the benefits long term.

Cracking night for the young lads.

Wish we put more faith in Youth rather than pay gleeson 2k a week in wages like someone mentioned, of our current squad - Gleeson, Main, Taylor, Gallagher - i'd like to all see replaced with youngsters in their place. They probably take up somewhere between 6-9k of wages.

Boys like Deano, Ethan, Bruce need game time - Bruce Anderson is 21 now and he's played a handfull of minutes for us.

If them 3 started every game I'm not convinced we'd get on any better. It's about finding a balance. Anderson has been unlucky not to get more minutes but Campbell is getting a very good chance just now. Mclennan is another who is getting a good crack at it and Ross started the last game.

A lot of the abuse is from people who don’t go to the games.

Black, Simpson, Cooper, Hewitt and Simmie proved that youth does work when played with experienced players.

It’s up to McInnes to start playing the younger lads regularly and reap the benefits long term.

Got to take the bad results to reap the benefits then. These boys will make mistakes and have bad performances.

It's hard for a manager to persist with young players to gain the rewards. They need to step up really quickly because if they don't we can't wait around for them to come good. The fans demand success now and aren't willing to wait.

We should follow a similar model to Ajax or even Brentford, try to implement an actual philosphy with the emphasis on promoting youth players and selling them on.  I'd rather we put some good money in to youth and recruitment instead of what we currently have where we've got 3 scouts and a fucking computer game to try find players.  Also the club have made it pretty clear they've got no interest in challenging the old firm so they should look to get enough points as quickly as possible to avoid relegation or any of that hassle and then look to play the rest of the games with promising youngsters along side experienced older pros, that way over a few years the youngsters should improve at a faster rate, they'll be playing a lot more with each other as well as learning much more than they would from playing youth/reserve football.