Captain

Big, big fan of Joe Lewis.

Big, big opponent of goalkeepers wearing the captain's armband.

Genuinely reckon part of our problem in last few games is someone other than our goalkeeper needs to take responsibility and leadership.

It is a shame that Bryson has been injured early season as he would have filled requirement perfectly.

Decent Aberdeen teams have always had a committed leader i.e. Miller, Anderson, Shinnie.

Trouble is decision on Joe already made, so cannot be reversed for good of team going forwards?

Big, big fan of Joe Lewis.

Big, big opponent of goalkeepers wearing the captain's armband.

Genuinely reckon part of our problem in last few games is someone other than our goalkeeper needs to take responsibility and leadership.

It is a shame that Bryson has been injured early season as he would have filled requirement perfectly.

Decent Aberdeen teams have always had a committed leader i.e. Miller, Anderson, Shinnie.

Trouble is decision on Joe already made, so cannot be reversed for good of team going forwards?

If not having a bit of elastic around their arm has stopped any of the outfield players from taking responsibility and showing leadership then why should they be captain?

It's my philosophy that you don't make your 'best' player the captain, you choose the biggest cunt or the angriest cunt. Someone who not only is willing to get in the face of a referee or an opposition player but someone who routinely does so for next to no good reason. The rest of the team feeds off the attitude of the leadership... so a weak captain, like aforementioned Jack and Foster, will create a faggy team spirit, but a strong leader like a Willie Miller, will have the effect of producing an aggressive, winning team spirit. 

Guys like Ricky Foster or Ryan Jack had neither the personality nor the physical presence to be an onfield supervisor. 

This is going to go over well, I'm sure, but as pish as he is Ash Taylor would make a fucking terrific captain. I've seen him bolt half way across the pitch to get in a cunt's face when said cunt was trying to intimidate one of Aberdeen's youngsters... planting himself firmly between the two and offering said cunt a square go right there on the halfway line. 

You need that kind of aggression if you're going to succeed. 

If not having a bit of elastic around their arm has stopped any of the outfield players from taking responsibility and showing leadership then why should they be captain?

Hence why I alluded to Bryson for the role.

Kelt min, that would involve him being on the pitch. Fuck that.

Let's be realistic, though... he's going to be on the pitch most games, so we might as well utilise those positive attributes he does bring to the team. 

He's a big unit who's happy to mix it up with opposition players, and he definitely has the look about him that he could flatten a cunt if the need arose. 

Let's be realistic, though... he's going to be on the pitch most games, so we might as well utilise those positive attributes he does bring to the team. 

He's a big unit who's happy to mix it up with opposition players, and he definitely has the look about him that he could flatten a cunt if the need arose. 

Doesn't seem to mind his boss fucking his missus.

Big poof.

Agree on two fronts. I genuinely wonder if it has actually distracted Joe from Big Joe Godliness. 2nd goal against Rijeka he was too busy shouting “why have you just let that Athletic kid pick a pass having run from his own box for the second time in 5 minutes you useless bunch of fuckwits” to actually come and get the cross.

Plus agree with Kelts hypothesis on captaincuntery.

Captain armband means fuck all outside of PR stunts.  It's about the team mentality, it's not like someone who is "captain material" isn't gonna tell the other boys to conentrate, wake up, mark their man etc. because they weren't given the yellow band to wear.  

Some focus on their own game, some see the whole game.  Our squad either has the latter kind of player or doesn't.  Don't make a difference if they are "captain" or not.  Case in point; Shinnie whilst Jack was meant to be our "captain".

I think the goalkeeper should not be Captain , needs to be an outfield player to negotiate with referee. Error of judgement on McInnes s part.

captaincy wis a sweetner tae keep lewis there so its nae negiatiable noo ffs..dinna see ony bother wi it..billy thompson wis a top notch captain in 89..jist hid tae run oot ez boax mare n scream it malpas

A Captain has to possess the ability to inspire, communicate effectively, and install confidence.

Kicking out 'route one' to the towering attacker at other end of pitch while his 10 outfield players watch the ball going directly to opposite keeper or out of play is not the way to install confidence in ability.

Incessantly shouting, berating and blaming is an ineffective form of inspirational communication.

Hardly surprising we're poor at the moment.

Pretty shitty comment  :ThumbsDown:

Very apt comment if you ask me...

No-one's paying any attention to his latest pint, so he came onto this thread to post anything at all. Once his boyfriends rally round he'll be telling them how he got one over on the wankers conversing the intricacies and associated dynamics within football  

Valid points. As is the earlier one stating we should have "11 captains on the pitch".

Unfortunately we don't have anything like that at present.

Although at first review, Taylor and Main apart, our summer recruitment appeared promising, there are no apparent leaders within that group barring Bryson.

This is concerning given that when McInnes has been "successful" in past there has been at least 3 or 4 leaders/captains on the park.

If we use Thursday as a reference point apart from the desperate strong tackling of Ojo and Considine (and look how that ended up) there appeared to be nobody on the pitch willing to lead.

That is where my initial point was headed and it is something McInnes seriously requires to address or this season is most likely going to be painful.