What's the longest you've been aff the drink?

Poodler

I remember once when I was about 24 and a right fit cunt, I did 53 days aff the drink.

Now I usually hit about 14 then go on a bender for a few days.

I have more issues than I care to admit with indulgences but I just don't understand why you would deny yourself such a pleasure.

Do you go dry often?

Are you tea total?

Forced sober due to working away? Happy with that?

If there is already a thread on this, merge away @mods

<p>Folk who abstain for a month and give it a name like dryanuary or something should be put in a cannon and shot into the sun. Absolute cunt bags.</p>

<p>If you're giving it up for a month don't bore me about it please, know one cares. If you're a mad alky and you have to stay off it, fair enough, otherwise don't tell me about it you fucking yoghurt.</p>

<p>Ive noticed the drink thread on here the boy Bluto always has a good selection of ales on the go. And nibbles. Decadent cunt. You must be a fair shape pal if yir hoovering all that every day.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Edit:no drinking thru the week really at the moment so I can drive to work at 0645 and we've got a 3month old baby. I make up for it at the weekend.</p>

Folk who abstain for a month and give it a name like dryanuary or something should be put in a cannon and shot into the sun. Absolute cunt bags.

If you're giving it up for a month don't bore me about it please, know one cares. If you're a mad alky and you have to stay off it, fair enough, otherwise don't tell me about it you fucking yoghurt.

Ive noticed the drink thread on here the boy Bluto always has a good selection of ales on the go. And nibbles. Decadent cunt. You must be a fair shape pal if yir hoovering all that every day.

A fat mr blobby would be a charitable description

When I was at peak fitness about 2 years ago, i'd often stay off it for a month or so at a time. To be honest, the fitness benefits were pretty minimal. So I decided it wasn't particularly something I'd try and do more often.

It's rarely more than 2/3 weeks without at least a few beers on a Saturday nowadays.

11 days of hell about 15 years ago if memory serves.

Eh drink most days but never to excess.

Canna understand the likes of Mobz going from perma drunk to perma sober just like that.

Can’t understand bloots alleged lifestyle either.

alleged? fuck off. cunt. ;-)

I appreciate the taste of beer (and other alcohols)an I’ll choose to drink specific styles regularly cause I like them.

had 5 strong Belgian beers yesterday and one gose cause I was thirsty after a day working and exercise and it was sunny

but I wouldnt drink 10 pints of Heineken

food and drink is a simple pleasure. no point denying yourself something do natural

Used to go weeks off it when I was in my early-mid 20's. Now it's usually Sun-thurs. Beers on Friday and Saturday (odd Thursday and Sunday as well)

More to do with having a ridiculous mortgage on a 1 bed flat and not being able to afford lifes luxuries than for health reasons tbh. :(

alleged? fuck off. cunt. ;-)

I appreciate the taste of beer (and other alcohols)an I’ll choose to drink specific styles regularly cause I like them.

had 5 strong Belgian beers yesterday and one gose cause I was thirsty after a day working and exercise and it was sunny

but I wouldnt drink 10 pints of Heineken

food and drink is a simple pleasure. no point denying yourself something do natural

Do you ever have a lunchtime beer then back to work?  Or a beer at work?

Both are permitted where I am, though I don't indulge.

Used to go weeks off it when I was in my early-mid 20's. Now it's usually Sun-thurs. Beers on Friday and Saturday (odd Thursday and Sunday as well)

More to do with having a ridiculous mortgage on a 1 bed flat and not being able to afford lifes luxuries than for health reasons tbh. :(

Housing market is fucking ridiculous just now.  My LTV has shot right up because of it, as has my alcohol consumption.

Dinna say that. I'm in a decent place now but due for renewal in Dec. :laughing:

A 100% mortgage at 23 wasn't a great idea. Mid 20's were a grim time financially looking back. 1000 a month mortgage.

Reckon I'd struggle going a month without a beer now like. Dry January -LOL

Dinna say that. I'm in a decent place now but due for renewal in Dec. :laughing:

A 100% mortgage at 23 wasn't a great idea. Mid 20's were a grim time financially looking back. 1000 a month mortgage.

Reckon I'd struggle going a month without a beer now like. Dry January -LOL

I'm in the process of switching lenders just now because my current one dropped 20K off the value of my house and refuse to allow me to contest it.  Surveyor was an absolute prick as well and wouldn't even give any justification for it.

Fae about age 14 to 29 I got absolutely wasted and any and every opportunity. I'd have 3 pints and couldn't stop, on it till chucked out G casino at 4am kind of guy. 

These days while working (9 months of the year) maybe a few beers every couple of weeks, been pished twice since the start of March. In the winter when I'm off get pished about once or twice a week although it varies. 

Drank every day for over a month about 18 months ago, was great fun. 

Glad my hardcore drinking days are over, can't hack it anymore. Two proper nights in a row is a struggle.

When i was young and single, and working offshore id nearly always have 2 weeks off drink whilst away then be out 19 nights out of my 21 at home. Spent a small fortune but had a fuckin brilliant time. 

Longest stint off it was when i started training with my PT (start of 2013) - didnt touch a drop from hogmanay until about June. 

Nowadays i sometimes maybe go 3 or 4 weeks without a drink but am quite partial to a beer and a nip in the house at the weekend. And nights out i'm still a liability.