Aberdeen V Fola Esch (3 - 1)

Guest RosemountRed

When is the 2nd round draw made?

The draws for the first and second rounds were both made on June 20th, 2016.

(The winner of AFC and Fola Esch plays the winner of Ventspils and Viking Gota)

The third round draw will be held on July 15th, 2016

are we seeded or unseeded for that round?

I believe that we are only seeded for the first round.

spfl.co.uk/news/article/aberdeen-goal-map/

The prosecution rests your honour.

ONE freekick goal!!!!!!!!! That is something we really need to improve on.

Hopefully the fantastic midfielder we are about to sign is also a fantastic freekick specialist

Maybe a younger fit Barry Robson type player

Proves jack shit. We've already acknowledged we scored a decent amount of goals from out wide. We could and should score more.

How many is an acceptable level? Fit do you want? 30, 40 goals from out wide then we can all complain that McLean never contributes and we would score a lot more if he was to assist more?

I dont care how many assists Mcginn was credited with last season, his crossing and freekicks are mostly woefull. Cant remember the last time he didnt blast a freekick yards over, and crosses usually hit 1st defender or sail over everyones heads. Not good enough!

So McGinn could have 30 assists yet you still wouldn't be happy?

We're lethal from out wide and this kind of needless complaining over parts of our game where we are where we should be could very well drive players or the management team away.

How many is an acceptable level? Fit do you want? 30, 40 goals from out wide then we can all complain that McLean never contributes and we would score a lot more if he was to assist more?

We're lethal from out wide and this kind of needless complaining over parts of our game where we are where we should be could very well drive players or the management team away.

I dont care how many assists Mcginn was credited with last season, his crossing and freekicks are mostly woefull. Cant remember the last time he didnt blast a freekick yards over, and crosses usually hit 1st defender or sail over everyones heads. Not good enough!

It was Thursday.

Without their assists, we'd have scored the least amount of goals in the league. How that's nae something to be pleased wi?

Aye, because it's a hypothetical situation.

As I said previously, I'm not looking for 30 assists each, or even more assists. I'm just looking for the crossing to be better.

Our wide play is very good. Problem is that for 2 or 3 years now, it's the about the only source of our goals.

We desperately need more chances to be created and scored through the middle. That'll be the thinking behind signing Storey.

I don't think it's completely unfair for people to criticise the wide play though. Since it has been our only real way of creating chances, we're more critical of it. If we/when we have a finer balance of chances being created from wide and through the middle, people will probably moan about it less.

I do think the quality of our corners are poor, but then, what is required from a decent corner, in a busy box?

Decent pace on the ball, coming in to a running attacker (generally) at a height and trajectory perfect for them to head it on target. That is quite a difficult one to do (I can't think of many teams who build their game round crosses/set pieces, perhaps Stoke of late). I imagine the margin of error between hitting the first man and getting that perfect cross isn't too big, if you are easily clearing the first man, the ball is going to be floated too much and either pass everyone or be difficult for any attacker to head in a way to cause problems.

Main thing I'd say is that crap corners are hardly a phenomenon at Aberdeen FC only. And I'd extend that to standard crossing as well.

I do think the quality of our corners are poor, but then, what is required from a decent corner, in a busy box?

Decent pace on the ball, coming in to a running attacker (generally) at a height and trajectory perfect for them to head it on target. That is quite a difficult one to do (I can't think of many teams who build their game round crosses/set pieces, perhaps Stoke of late). I imagine the margin of error between hitting the first man and getting that perfect cross isn't too big, if you are easily clearing the first man, the ball is going to be floated too much and either pass everyone or be difficult for any attacker to head in a way to cause problems.

Main thing I'd say is that crap corners are hardly a phenomenon at Aberdeen FC only. And I'd extend that to standard crossing as well.

I think people overestimate the value corners have in football. The actual percentage chance of a goal being scored from a corner is something like 3%, hence why the likes of Barcelona only use them to maintain possession.

The majority of our chances are created from balls into the box in open play from wide area and I'd argue that perhaps our crossing could be better at times but it's just as important, as previously mentioned, for us to be creating opportunities through the middle. I hope we see a greater variety in our attacking play this season or otherwise teams could get comfortable setting up against us.

The draws for the first and second rounds were both made on June 20th, 2016.

(The winner of AFC and Fola Esch plays the winner of Ventspils and Viking Gota)

The third round draw will be held on July 15th, 2016

I believe that we are only seeded for the first round.

Cheers Scotty_Toronto

Our wide play is very good. Problem is that for 2 or 3 years now, it's the about the only source of our goals.

We desperately need more chances to be created and scored through the middle. That'll be the thinking behind signing Storey.

I don't think it's completely unfair for people to criticise the wide play though. Since it has been our only real way of creating chances, we're more critical of it. If we/when we have a finer balance of chances being created from wide and through the middle, people will probably moan about it less.

There speaks the voice of reason.

Good post, sir.

For professional footballers our quality of set pieces as a whole are fkn dreadful. Make all the excuses you want but that is easy to see.

It's nae that fkn hard to beat the first man from a corner & get a ball into the edge of the 6 yard box. For a professional footballer that should be as easy as hitting a coos arse with a banjo if you are holding it's tail with your teeth. Now that we have a target man like Stockley I hope we really improve on this so we can make decent use of him from set plays. Even if it means he just drags a few defenders out of position with his perceived threat.