Aberdeen sack Derek McInnes

17 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

On course for his 70 points. 

10 points out of 12.

Up to 3rd with a game in hand. 

He'll be delighted.  Never been interested in entertaining the fans or committing to any attacking football. 

Flying in the face of the clubs commitment to “entertaining football” then? 
If you thought today was bad, wait until the shitfest between Livingston & us on that horrific pitch on the 29th 

From the BBC

I would accept this kind of statement if the performance was a one off however this is happening every week.

Aberdeen manager Derek McInnes: "I'm pleased with the end up. It was very challenging for both sets of players. The wind really got up and was causing all sorts of problems.

"The players clearly put so much into the game and got the desired outcome. We had it all to do. The reaction was good. It was scruffy at times. I thought we were the better team second half."

We had a peek at what the team was capable of doing around about September time and due to injuries and Cosgrove return to the side we have endured a return to the turgid pish of the last 2 years.

This is not working, time for something different.

6 hours ago, Big Hat Logan said:

So he’s not as good as a mystery player we may or may not sign instead?

Fucking hell ?

Your mediocre attempt at eliciting an argument and/or taking a high ground of some sort (I'll assume moral, for you lack the intellect) is laughable, but does raise the question of whether your lack of comprehension of what I actually said, was borne from said intellectual shortcomings, or a sheer determination to be confrontational at any cost.

For the benefit of the rest of the board, who appear to be at least engaging in a reasonable debate, I am not alluding to "mystery players", as this man suggests. I am merely saying, in my humble opinion, that in a position which is not our top priority, bringing back yet another player who couldn't get away quick enough (and was at times very inconsistent to begin with) last time, when he is possibly past his best, constitutes an unnecessary move. 

For the price it would cost to bring him back, all in all, I believe we would be better served focussing on the priority positions which other posters have already so eloquently highlighted. 

3 minutes ago, Sheepo said:

Mcinnes always goes on about points totals and finishing 3rd but never seems to speak about the lack of quality football and the all-round   horrific viewing for fans

I can't remember him even once referring to wanting to entertain the fans in his entire tenure here. I don't think it even enters his mind. He's completely pragmatic in every sense. 

5 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

I can't remember him even once referring to wanting to entertain the fans in his entire tenure here. I don't think it even enters his mind. He's completely pragmatic in every sense. 

Dave Cormack must know this.

If the club GENUINELY meant their statement about the aim being to provide entertainment, then they patently obviously have the wrong manager.

Let’s be honest, pretty much most semi-competent managers would get us to the top 4 where we’ve finished the last two seasons.

It’s not as if McInnes is over-achieving with his dull football. 

2 minutes ago, WesthillWanderersFC said:

If the club GENUINELY meant their statement about the aim being to provide entertainment, then they patently obviously have the wrong manager.

Let’s be honest, pretty much most semi-competent managers would get us to the top 4 where we’ve finished the last two seasons.

Aye there's more than one way to get the job done.  It doesn't have to be this way. 

With the advantages we have we could adopt an attacking mentality and still achieve the same outcome.  At least. 

Just now, WesthillWanderersFC said:

When they were trying to get folk to renew their season tickets in May, I got a phone call from a lady in the ticket office asking if I was going to renew.

I told her that the entertainment value was virtually non-existent over the last few seasons and that going to Pittodrie was not an enjoyable experience at all.  She said that Cormack had made it the highest priority to bring entertaining football back and that maybe I had noticed the more expansive football being played prior to the shutdown in March (I did notice any improvement prior to shutdown).

Cormack obviously must have noted the shitshows that we've endured over the last few years and instructed the management team to change the style of play, I was raging after the hun game at the start of the season because it just an extension of the other capitulations against the Glasgow 2 however I did believe that we had turned a corner after a few weeks and the games were actually entertaining. I don't believe that it is a coincidence that the return of the turgid performances had coincided with the injury to Watkins and Wright and the return of Main and Cosgrove.

Unfortunately due to the finances, I think only a major drop in next seasons season ticket sales will force Cormack's hand and remove DMC from the managers position.

8 minutes ago, Millertime said:

Does it though?

Does playing attacking football guarantee the same points totals?

I'm not so sure 

I'm not suggesting we go hung ho. 

I just think with the advantages we've got we could adopt a more proactive approach in a lot more games. 

The way we play against some of these teams is a leveller rather than capitalising on our advantages. 

5 minutes ago, Millertime said:

I dont think it is, to be honest

I have no doubt we get more points this way than we would If we were attacking

Hibs a few seasons back being the prime example

Exciting team to watch,  but we always got more points 

We'll never know, unfortunately. 

Handing the initiative to teams like St Mirren and Hamilton when you're a club like Aberdeen just doesn't make sense to me. We should be showing our superiority by moving the ball around and unsettling them, making them work. I think the way we play lets teams settle too much and play at a pace they are comfortable with. 

22 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

We'll never know, unfortunately. 

Handing the initiative to teams like St Mirren and Hamilton when you're a club like Aberdeen just doesn't make sense to me. We should be showing our superiority by moving the ball around and unsettling them, making them work. I think the way we play lets teams settle too much and play at a pace they are comfortable with. 

Most teams know we have a weak, defensive, negative mentality instilled in us by the manager & they just need a little graft or desire to make us shit the bed.

15 minutes ago, Millertime said:

You said most teams, so most of the league have figured us out

We are third, so clearly, they haven't

Idiot 

You can add ‘of late’ if you like but even ‘in general’ we are hardly having any ‘easy’ games that we should be having.

Aberdeen losing/drawing against pretty much any team right now is hardly a surprise. Where as a victory is basically more of a relief than a forgone conclusion. Even bordering on surprise 

51 minutes ago, Millertime said:

I agree, wholeheartedly, it feels like that is what we should be doing 

The thing is....although we have better players in our squad than Hamilton, St Mirren etc.......the fact is that their players are still full time professionals. Now their managers cannot improve their skill levels too much beyond what they inherently possess. But they can ensure that at the very least, their squads are every bit as physically fit as teams up the top end of the league. And from there, it's a relatively easy job to coach a style of play which can negate that of a team with nominally individually better players. Only sevco this season have found a system that pretty much guarantees they'll beat all these teams week in week out......which with a budget of 10 times or so greater than the wee teams they should do anyway. Celtic's budget is even bigger but they've struggled occasionally against teams they should beat comfortably on paper. 

We started well but have been decimated by injury and suspensions for 2 months. At one point we had pretty much our whole first choice midfield out. Wright and Watkins though have been missed the most. God knows what the rest of the season holds for us as it's looking (very) unlikely that Watkins will be returning and Wright, who has so far refused to sign  a contract extension, might have his thoughts looking more towards next season and to where else he might find employment

3 hours ago, aberdeen1970 said:

On course for his 70 points. 

10 points out of 12.

Up to 3rd with a game in hand. 

He'll be delighted.  Never been interested in entertaining the fans or committing to any attacking football. 

Our points total is actually pretty decent so all the more disappointing weve dropped a lot of silly points.

13 minutes ago, Tord31 said:

Our points total is actually pretty decent so all the more disappointing weve dropped a lot of silly points.

Only ‘pretty decent’ if you have the Mcinnes (& many more) mentality of third place being seen as ‘an achievement’ rather than the absolute minimum target.

Even then to call that achievement ‘pretty decent’ is actually ‘pretty negative’ as it should be seen as ‘meh, we try again next season’ to actually achieve something decent & worthy of note.

I guess our last two 4th place finishes have everyone back to thinking third (or fight for third) is ‘pretty decent’ but it really isn’t. 

45 minutes ago, fine-n-dandy said:

Only ‘pretty decent’ if you have the Mcinnes (& many more) mentality of third place being seen as ‘an achievement’ rather than the absolute minimum target.

Even then to call that achievement ‘pretty decent’ is actually ‘pretty negative’ as it should be seen as ‘meh, we try again next season’ to actually achieve something decent & worthy of note.

I guess our last two 4th place finishes have everyone back to thinking third (or fight for third) is ‘pretty decent’ but it really isn’t. 

100% from me. 

As soon as we fall back from chasing the top (which we eeked out for a while) then it breeds half-arsed-ness

Just now, Tord31 said:

100% from me. 

As soon as we fall back from chasing the top (which we eeked out for a while) then it breeds half-arsed-ness

Exactly. 
being happy with being an ‘also ran’ is a very short drop to being happy with less still.

So many fall back to the ‘acceptance’ mentality when it’s thrown at you enough times.

Shite sticks

Yup.  70 pts is pretty decent, almost certainly good enough for 3rd or 4th.

shipping terrible points to a rancid Motherwell, Saints and fucking Hamilton should never be considered “decent.”  All allowed a one-off here and there but as someone said it’s regular to the point of now being expected.  Everyone looking forward to a well drilled and up for it Livvie?  Thought not.