Torry's A Mad Place

Ke1t

As I sat waiting for the wife to come out of a shop in Torry I watched the local wildlife with a mixture of fascination, horror and disbelief.

Four people waked past, accompanied by a total of 5 (FIVE) Pitbulls. Everyone had one, and one chick had two. I'd later discover that everyone in torry has a Pitbull.

What surprised me more than that was that of the five Pitbulls they only had 19 legs between them.

One of the Pitbulls only had 3 legs. One of them was just completely fucking gone. Presumably the leg had been eaten by another Pitbull, or maybe someone from Torry had attacked the poor animal.

Anyway, Threeleg the Pitbull was barking nonstop at some dude across the street, or possibly the dude's Pitbull. Meanwhile Threeleg's owner, a morbidly obese chick in what appeared to be the finest of sweatwear... actually it seemed she was wearing some kind attire that had been fashioned by someone who had no real concept of what clothes are or should look like... they were draped off her massive frame in a fairly haphazard manner, anyway, she's screaming bloody murder at the barking Pitbull... creating a sort of hoppy-screamy-barky-morbidly-obese-dressed-like-a-Jawa-off-Star-Wars effect. So the giant chick is walking Threeleg, which is in turn hopping along and barking furiously at another Pitbull, or the dude who's walking the Pitbull, not sure. It's a pretty surreal experience, anyway.

Later we'd see another morbidly obese dude walking along the street in a sort of Stay-Puft-Marshmallow Man gait, while grinning like.. I don't know.. a Pitbull who'd eaten another Pitbull's leg, I guess. He did NOT have a Pitbull, I noted, but was presumably on his way home to feed his Pitbull.

We then parked at Mike's Chipper for a taste of his famous chipper stuff, and on the way down the hill passed what looked like an abandoned building. The wall was falling apart, and the.. I'm going to say garden was an overgrown mess of weeds, rubble, and Superlager cans. A torrent of water could be heard cascading out of somewhere, but I couldn't spot the source. The windows were largely broken, and one was held open with a piece of wood.

"Jesus" said the wife.

The swinging brig, our actual destination, would have been better if we didn't have to dodge dogshit... a seeming growth industry in Torry... and an excursion onto the bank of the Dee was met with more weeds, more Superlager cans and a large amount of broken glass.

"What the Hell?" commented the wife.

Superlager appears to be the main source of liquid sustenance in Torry, but I can't help but think that people in possession of Pitbulls shouldn't be drinking so much Superlager.

More things to note, but for the time being, that was Torry.

Disgraceful.

Why don't the bloody jakeys recycle their cans like everyone else?

No you have not, loads of people come looking for me, realising how much of a valued member i am and are usually up for a chat, you on the other hand are just some sad boy that takes the site too seriously and try to go on fishing trips all he time.

Why hello there Mr Pot your looking rather black today.

Have you met Maguire89? No. Have i? Yes. Have you met the cool cat that is ollie? No. Have i? Yes. You havent even met the legend that is Millertime.

1-0.

Torry always has had and always will have a reputation.

It had one when I moved there in the 60's, but i soon found that it had much more going for it than the massive council housing sprawls west of Anderson drive and north of Lang Stracht.

It turned oot to be a great place to grow up,

The Grumps, back when East Tullos stopped at CPT, and before they turned it into a landfill.

The Bay of Nigg, Lighthoose and Fog Horn, back before there was a shitey sewage outfall.

Golf course, Torry Battery, Walker Park, great places of adventure.

Breakwater for fishing.

Tremendous playfields at Tullos, always so well maintained, and guaranteed never to be off due to rain.

Vicci Road Bowling Green, Putting and tennis. Was always there during the summer holidays. Back when it was really cheap for kids of course.

Could even play Tennis on the roads in them days cause so few folk had cars. Annual occurance during Wimbledon fortnight of course.

And then there was the folk. Always was a mixed bag. Some hardmen that wouldna think twice aboot giein ye a kickin.

But there was always somebdy harder that would put them in their place. The same hardmen that would gie ye a kickin though would defend you with their lives if somebdy fae ootside Torry were daein the same to ye.

There are those that would rob shops in the dark of night and would look at the folk aroond them.

If they thought somebdy had a chance in life they'd tell them to piss off so they wouldna get dragged into crime.

Torry folk, almost paid for a blxxdy swimming pool themselves. For years I remember folk continually fund raising, and it was a proud day when Tullos pool eventually opened.

Torry had natural boundaries, North Sea, River Dee, Grumps, which made it very different to other areas in Aberdeen which tended all to merge into one another.

It had character, and it had characters. The place sort of stuck 2 fingers up at anyone who decried it, because everyone there loved living there.

So why did I leave?

Well once ye tak aff yer Torry tinted specs, and look at what was really going on, it was clear that the area had been quickly built up and then just as quickly ignored.

Torry became the dumping ground for everything that no-one else wanted.

Fishmeal Factory ( which apparently never emmitted smells - oh aye? ).

Build up of Tullos Industrial Estate, and the landfill site which removed a huge natural adventure area from the kids of Torry. The Torry Grumps pretty much gone for ever.

Oh why not also build a sewage outfall at the Bay of Nigg? That'll stop the the Torry kids picking buckies on the rocks.

Fxck me they even tore doon The Moundie, albeit for a much needed extension to the school, but it was just anither Torry landmark of seeming insignificance.

So kids have lost several natural play areas, then came the scourge of drugs.

They fxckers really ripped into Torry, and Grampians finest were never that fxckin bothered aboot daein something serious aboot it.

In an area wi the natural boundaries that Torry had, it could have, IMO, been prevented, but not to be.

I moved away from Torry to give my kids a chance in life.

Sadly some of the characters I knew and indeed children that my bairns played with, are now deid.

Drugs did it.

A once very proud place, was slowly being neglected.

I've been awa for a fair few years now but my folks still stay there, and I feel more of a belonging to Torry than to the soul less hoosing estate I now live in.

Kelt has been merely an observer and has chosen a snapshot in time that is Torry to highlight just how bad things are.

It could have been anywhere but happens to be Torry.

What I would say though is that the bridge to which you refer is nae The " Swinging " bridge, but The Chain Brig.

Another Torry Landmark which was magnificently restored only to be subsequently hidden away by bushes so as to appear a dodgy place to be. Fxckin council sort it oot.

That Bridge once featured in the classic BBC series Tutti Frutti, does anyone mind that?

It was nice reminiscing and I'm sorry for ramblin but Torry is still better than it is being painted.

Had a good read through that, sounds like you have some genuine and good fun memories. But this sentence stuck out for me. Unfortunately guys like mini didnt have that luxury and were forced to grow up in what is now a pit of its own filth.

As you say some areas just always have a bad reputation.

Torry always has had and always will have a reputation.

It had one when I moved there in the 60's, but i soon found that it had much more going for it than the massive council housing sprawls west of Anderson drive and north of Lang Stracht.

It turned oot to be a great place to grow up,

The Grumps, back when East Tullos stopped at CPT, and before they turned it into a landfill.

The Bay of Nigg, Lighthoose and Fog Horn, back before there was a shitey sewage outfall.

Golf course, Torry Battery, Walker Park, great places of adventure.

Breakwater for fishing.

Tremendous playfields at Tullos, always so well maintained, and guaranteed never to be off due to rain.

Vicci Road Bowling Green, Putting and tennis. Was always there during the summer holidays. Back when it was really cheap for kids of course.

Could even play Tennis on the roads in them days cause so few folk had cars. Annual occurance during Wimbledon fortnight of course.

And then there was the folk. Always was a mixed bag. Some hardmen that wouldna think twice aboot giein ye a kickin.

But there was always somebdy harder that would put them in their place. The same hardmen that would gie ye a kickin though would defend you with their lives if somebdy fae ootside Torry were daein the same to ye.

There are those that would rob shops in the dark of night and would look at the folk aroond them.

If they thought somebdy had a chance in life they'd tell them to piss off so they wouldna get dragged into crime.

Torry folk, almost paid for a blxxdy swimming pool themselves. For years I remember folk continually fund raising, and it was a proud day when Tullos pool eventually opened.

Torry had natural boundaries, North Sea, River Dee, Grumps, which made it very different to other areas in Aberdeen which tended all to merge into one another.

It had character, and it had characters. The place sort of stuck 2 fingers up at anyone who decried it, because everyone there loved living there.

So why did I leave?

Well once ye tak aff yer Torry tinted specs, and look at what was really going on, it was clear that the area had been quickly built up and then just as quickly ignored.

Torry became the dumping ground for everything that no-one else wanted.

Fishmeal Factory ( which apparently never emmitted smells - oh aye? ).

Build up of Tullos Industrial Estate, and the landfill site which removed a huge natural adventure area from the kids of Torry. The Torry Grumps pretty much gone for ever.

Oh why not also build a sewage outfall at the Bay of Nigg? That'll stop the the Torry kids picking buckies on the rocks.

Fxck me they even tore doon The Moundie, albeit for a much needed extension to the school, but it was just anither Torry landmark of seeming insignificance.

So kids have lost several natural play areas, then came the scourge of drugs.

They fxckers really ripped into Torry, and Grampians finest were never that fxckin bothered aboot daein something serious aboot it.

In an area wi the natural boundaries that Torry had, it could have, IMO, been prevented, but not to be.

Sadly some of the characters I knew and indeed children that my bairns played with, are now deid.

Drugs did it.

A once very proud place, was slowly being neglected.

I've been awa for a fair few years now but my folks still stay there, and I feel more of a belonging to Torry than to the soul less hoosing estate I now live in.

Kelt has been merely an observer and has chosen a snapshot in time that is Torry to highlight just how bad things are.

It could have been anywhere but happens to be Torry.

What I would say though is that the bridge to which you refer is nae The " Swinging " bridge, but The Chain Brig.

Another Torry Landmark which was magnificently restored only to be subsequently hidden away by bushes so as to appear a dodgy place to be. Fxckin council sort it oot.

That Bridge once featured in the classic BBC series Tutti Frutti, does anyone mind that?

It was nice reminiscing and I'm sorry for ramblin but Torry is still better than it is being painted.

Cracking post chief, I moved there 6 years ago, but Torry is one of these places that aren't as bad as the rep makes out. Far I bide (Walker Road) does have plenty alkies and junkies goin about, but it's nae anywhere near as bad as the likes of Sandilands, Tilly, or Logie. And round bout my bit, there's 3 crackin pubs in the Grampian, the Rat Cellar, and the White Cockade, the folk are decent enough once they've sussed you out (and it usually helps if yer nae fae Eastern Europe!)

Why hello there Mr Pot your looking rather black today.

Have you met Maguire89? No. Have i? Yes. Have you met the cool cat that is ollie? No. Have i? Yes. You havent even met the legend that is Millertime.

1-0.

I first met millertime many years ago, before all the bandwagon ucks jumped on him, I've met that many folk that i've forgotten most of their names, me and Tommy are mates so no matter what I win this, I've also met the funniest guy on the board, Bobo so hud at you fat prince William look alike cunt.

I first met millertime many years ago, before all the bandwagon ucks jumped on him, I've met that many folk that i've forgotten most of their names, me and Tommy are bestest mates so no matter what I win this, I've also met the funniest guy on the board, Bobo so hud at you fat prince William look alike cunt.

Does Tommy know this? ;)

I first met millertime many years ago, before all the bandwagon ucks jumped on him, I've met that many folk that i've forgotten most of their names, me and Tommy are mates so no matter what I win this, I've also met the funniest guy on the board, Bobo so hud at you fat prince William look alike cunt.

I'm sure Razor is incredibly upset about not meeting as many people from the internet as you, which everyone knows is far more important than not being a virgin.