Scottish Independence Referendum 2

Henry

Should Scotland be an independent country?  

273 members have voted

1. 1. Should Scotland be an independent country?

• Yes
    • No

Personally reckon Scottish Independence is nailed on IF / WHEN Sturgeon has the balls to fucking ask for one.

That said, does anyone know if we will have to go through the same shite we are currently experiencing with the EU referendum by having to get a 'deal' from Westminster before we become independent?

If we do, you can bet that Westminster will treat us the same way the EU currently are treating the UK by playing hardball on any sort of deal and also once the full extent of the deal is known the Scottish Conservatives will then ask for a 'people's vote' as the deal will probably be somewhat different from what was promised.

Either way it will probably be another long drawn out process full of political bickering.

I wonder why you keep ignoring my question, Jocky boy? Was it because you were talking shite, perchance?

I answered it. I believe Communism and Fascism are false doctrines, with sinister overtones, most notably the surrendering of individualism and civil liberties, to the all-encompassing power of the state. The badges may be different, but it's the same mind control and promises of false utopia.

Awaiting your response to this Parkie given your question has been answered.

Personally reckon Scottish Independence is nailed on IF / WHEN Sturgeon has the balls to fucking ask for one.

That said, does anyone know if we will have to go through the same shite we are currently experiencing with the EU referendum by having to get a 'deal' from Westminster before we become independent?

You're on the windup. Right?

If we do, you can bet that Westminster will treat us the same way the EU currently are treating the UK by playing hardball on any sort of deal and also once the full extent of the deal is known the Scottish Conservatives will then ask for a 'people's vote' as the deal will probably be somewhat different from what was promised.

Yes

Either way it will probably be another long drawn out process full of political bickering.

Jesus christ are you that stupid or just something that suits your agenda.

If uk gets deal with eu Ireland gets same deal it would be same with Scotland.

And before you reply with Scotland wont get in EU that has already be debunked over and over.

Get down off your high horse for a minute and explain that again. So we vote for independence, do we have to negotiate a 'deal' with Westminster?

Nae talking about Europe, let's just concentrate on seperation with rest of UK.

Get down off your high horse for a minute and explain that again. So we vote for independence, do we have to negotiate a 'deal' with Westminster?

Nae talking about Europe, let's just concentrate on seperation with rest of UK.

What he is saying is that if we were to leave the UK and rejoin the EU, we'd automatically have the same deal with the UK as every other EU member state.

Aye I get that with regards to the EU, however I am talking about the seperation process with the rest of the UK, not Europe.

Surely we will have to negotiate our portion of debt, gold reserves (if we have any), portion of armed forces, cost of adopting sterling etc etc.

Point 1 - Pot , Kettle, Black , you ONLY talk about things that suit your nationalist agenda.

Point 2 - Scotland would not get in the EU automatically and in fact they do not qualify to get in for a number of reasons. But you just keep peddling what the SNP tell you. Wanker  :swear:  

• Downvote 3

Surely we will have to negotiate our portion of debt, gold reserves (if we have any), portion of armed forces, cost of adopting sterling etc etc.

Of course. Why would we have a cost for adopting our own currency though? Maybe we should charge the UK a cost for adopting sterling, given that the balance of payments due to our oil trade is key critical to giving the £ any sort of strength...

We can also discuss the costs we'll be charging the rest of the UK for storing their nuclear weapons.

Of course. Why would we have a cost for adopting our own currency though? Maybe we should charge the UK a cost for adopting sterling, given that the balance of payments due to our oil trade is key critical to giving the £ any sort of strength...

We can also discuss the costs we'll be charging the rest of the UK for storing their nuclear weapons.

Thanks for the coherent reply without resorting to 'you taking the piss' but then not actually proving the info I was looking for most probably because they don't fucking know themselves.

Anyway, what I am getting at is if we have to negotiate our seperation with Westminster (as you have indicated that we will have to) then we will most likely end up going through all of the same pish with Westminster playing hard ball, the seperate Holyrood parties trying to hold up any deal to further their own agenda followed by the demanding of the rerunning of another independence vote as the 'public never knew the full financial details of the ramifications of voting for independence'.

Westminster will look to give us the worst possible deal just as the EU are doing to the UK.

To put it bluntly more of the same shit we are experiencing just now and while not a reason to not vote for independence anyone who believes it will be a easy ride are fooling themselves.

Thanks for the coherent reply without resorting to 'you taking the piss' but then not actually proving the info I was looking for most probably because they don't fucking know themselves.

Anyway, what I am getting at is if we have to negotiate our seperation with Westminster (as you have indicated that we will have to) then we will most likely end up going through all of the same pish with Westminster playing hard ball, the seperate Holyrood parties trying to hold up any deal to further their own agenda followed by the demanding of the rerunning of another independence vote as the 'public never knew the full financial details of the ramifications of voting for independence'.

Westminster will look to give us the worst possible deal just as the EU are doing to the UK.

To put it bluntly more of the same shit we are experiencing just now and while not a reason to not vote for independence anyone who believes it will be a easy ride are fooling themselves.

It's not really comparable is it? 

Firstly it is 99% likely the SNP will be part of a majority government with the same interests. So any deal should easily pass through parliament once it had been decided. 

England really do have a lot to lose in this case. Oil revenues back up the strength of the £ massively. 

Scotland has a large number of exports and is very self sufficient when it comes to water, power, oil, food etc.

England also has no where else to keep the trident submarines so until they build a base else where 10? 20? 30 years? We are in complete control. 

Na FFS makes a good point. We vote for Independence, a couple of years of negotiations go on. The unionist side will pounce on something that has changed from the original debate, for example we end up having a hard border when the SNP said we won't (just an example of what might happen not what I think would happen) and demand a vote on the deal. In the meantime we'll have had elections where the unionist side have united behind one party and that'll be interpreted as opinion changing. Basically exactly the same as has happened with the EU ref. We'll get all the 'no one voted to be poorer' chat and obviously we couldn't 'crash out' without a deal. It'd go on for decades.

Except of course that, in the case of an independence referendum, we had a white paper outlining what people were voting for and in the case of Brexit, we had a lie printed on the side of a bus.  You're comparing apples to oranges, but of course you know that and are just being deliberately obtuse as usual.

Except of course that, in the case of an independence referendum, we had a white paper outlining what people were voting for and in the case of Brexit, we had a lie printed on the side of a bus. You're comparing apples to oranges, but of course you know that and are just being deliberately obtuse as usual.

The point is that any change from the white paper, and there would be bound to be changes, would be pounced on by the unionist side and used to discredit the original vote. The fact that most of the media, nearly 50% of the population and the majority of the political class would be on the unionist side would mean the chat about 'betrayal' etc would be endless.