New Car Chat

fine-n-dandy

very very nice, big proper muscle car

although i do agree with the other poster, is it not a wee bit tacky looking inside?

plasticy?

Nah not at all!

I thought it would as I've been in a Charger and they look like crap inside. Put me right off as I orignially fancied one of those.

As soon as I got in the Challenger it just felt right. Really nice inside and not plasticy at all. Sure, it's not the lap of luxury you would get in a high end Merc or BMW, but for a car built for muscle it's got a really nice interior. I'll get some photos when I go to the showroom to take the 2013 model for a spin!

Nah not at all!

I thought it would as I've been in a Charger and they look like crap inside. Put me right off as I orignially fancied one of those.

As soon as I got in the Challenger it just felt right. Really nice inside and not plasticy at all. Sure, it's not the lap of luxury you would get in a high end Merc or BMW, but for a car built for muscle it's got a really nice interior. I'll get some photos when I go to the showroom to take the 2013 model for a spin!

the Challenger is a fabulous car! comfortable interior and not plasticky, good styling.. a bit of a hip to the back end. i've driven/been in a number of them, and for anyone who enjoys old muscle styling and feel, it's a great car with a lovely growl. can you get the 6.4 L engine there?

do it!!!! :thumbup1:

There's a new Passat out now (or soon) so you could get some good deals on the previous model. I faced the same choice last year, got told to steer well clear of the Insignia from a guy that works at Peter Vardy.

Came down to Passat CC GT or an Audi A6. Audi was slightly cheaper for the same age of car but felt so much better to drive, so that got the nod. Haven't regretted it one bit.

Passat CC and Insignia are not exactly in the same class- the Passat is a much better (and more expensive) car.

Insignia is supposed to be pretty good for a Vauxhall, but the residuals on the Passat will be much better when you come to change again.

Someone above mentions the 159 Ti - great car to drive, but can be problems with finicky bits - and the EGR valve. But if you're buying at 3-4 years old, it should have had most of the depreciation already and you'll struggle to find a better looking (and driving) car for what it'll cost (c.

Think it's your luck with Alfas. My mate bought a GT 3 1/2 year ago second hand. He must nearly have spent the same again on getting it fixed. Hardly away from the garage.

GT is last of the older models, from the 147/156 onwards, they have in general excellent build quality.

All sports with wheels are for non sporty blokes.

And yet your qualifier that they are non-sporty (ie. shite at fitba in your words) does not stand up to any scrutiny.

Blokes in general like cars, particularly fast cars, and secondly luxurious cars. The ones that dinna are generally :gay:

And yet your qualifier that they are non-sporty (ie. shite at fitba in your words) does not stand up to any scrutiny.

Blokes in general like cars, particularly fast cars, and secondly luxurious cars. The ones that dinna are generally :gay:

Blokes in general like fucking "wrong uns" but dinna want to marry them.

I'd of strung that situation out as long as possible.

Just saying like.

Cars are mechanical devices.

Once the novelty of thrasing the arse out of it to see what it's made of wears off, it soon becomes exactly what it is.

A lump of well finished metal.

That costs heaps of money, with gangs of spivs working under the auspices of garages just waiting to pounce on the unsuspecting motorist.

Any journey which is walkable should be walked.

Cars turn folk into fat, lazy, cosseted no-marks.

Dinna expect any credit from me for it no matter how much your motor cost.

You've probably got a small cock to offset against that fleeting kudos.

You had a point?

If I can guess it can I get your ex's phone number?

You don't need to guess, it was your point - people who like cars (that's nearly all blokes fyi) are rubbish at school fitba you said. Now that's a' very well (though idiotic) but as we're all long since past school age, it's like saying you had a girlfriend in primary 7, of nae fucking use when you're grown up ken? Maybe some were good at fitba post-school, you know, when they've grown up a bit, or good at rugby, or golf.

Nevertheless, you made a point about fitba, probably because presumably you were ok at school, but fucking shite ever since, and canna drive, so in your mind good at school games and nae car = erchie. Sadly, your hoped for strike has fallen on the shield of my school team selection, so fit can ye dei noo? Ah, just pretend you never used your childish argument in the first place. :poster_oops:

Betty Swallicks if you have no interest in cars then stay out of the thread if you have no interest :dontknow:

You have posted more posts than most that ARE interested in cars in this thread & none of them are of any use what so ever, so thanks for those brilliant contributions :omg:

Oh & cheers for the hijack of the thread with your :blahblah1:

Cars are a luxury for some folk & requirement for some folk & more than that for others.

I haven't given myself a decent car for years, since before I moved abroad 12 years ago, so I'm going to get a semi decent car next, not brand new but newish, not overly powerful & certainly not boy racer material as I have moved on from that.

What do you drive & why?

Why not list the cars you have owned so we can form an opinion on your previous likes/interests in cars?

Or would that reveal a conflict with your current dislike of cars?

You don't need to guess, it was your point - people who like cars (that's nearly all blokes fyi) are rubbish at school fitba you said. Now that's a' very well (though idiotic) but as we're all long since past school age, it's like saying you had a girlfriend in primary 7, of nae fucking use when you're grown up ken? Maybe some were good at fitba post-school, you know, when they've grown up a bit, or good at rugby, or golf.

Nevertheless, you made a point about fitba, probably because presumably you were ok at school, but fucking shite ever since, and canna drive, so in your mind good at school games and nae car = erchie. Sadly, your hoped for strike has fallen on the shield of my school team selection, so fit can ye dei noo? Ah, just pretend you never used your childish argument in the first place. :poster_oops:

You presume wrong!

I was ok at fitba at school and ok till I jacked it in in my mid 30's and I have driven since passing my test at 17 but use my car for gan fae A to B and don't wank over it because as I said I wasn't shite at fitba like folk who love cars..... and sports with wheels.

Right, can I hae that number now?

You presume wrong!

I was ok at fitba at school and ok till I jacked it in in my mid 30's and I have driven since passing my test at 17 but use my car for gan fae A to B and don't wank over it because as I said I wasn't shite at fitba like folk who love cars..... and sports with wheels.

Except this is only true in your head like I've already pointed out, from the sample taken, 100% wrong actually.

Right, can I hae that number now?

Aye sure, plenty minkers gan aboot, but if you're happy with my sloppy seconds, fill per boots....PM sent

Betty Swallicks

What do you drive & why?

Why not list the cars you have owned so we can form an opinion on your previous likes/interests in cars?

Or would that reveal a conflict with your current dislike of cars?

If you really want to know;

Datsun Cherry

Astra x 2

Cavalier

Escort

Golf

Hi Lux x 2

Land Rover

Might have missed 1 or 2. Never was "interested" in any of them or "liked" any. Means to an end.

A to B or for work.

If you really want to know;

Datsun Cherry

Astra x 2

Cavalier

Escort

Golf

Hi Lux x 2

Land Rover

Might have missed 1 or 2. Never was "interested" in any of them or "liked" any. Means to an end.

A to B or for work.

& were all of the bold ones just the bog standard version & not sporty in any way, or did you at some point have or want a better one? but maybe couldn't afford it & this is the reason for this hatred of cars for any reasons other than traveling from A to B?

Was there not a time ever in your life where yu just went out for a drive for the sake of driving & with no destination specifically in mind?

Question for anyone on here that knows Betty Swallicks, has he ever had, or wanted a nice car? did he use to be a boy racer either for example? (obviously not with a Datsun Cherry obviously, as I'd guess that was a old hand me down first car)

& were all of the bold ones just the bog standard version & not sporty in any way, or did you at some point have or want a better one? but maybe couldn't afford it & this is the reason for this hatred of cars for any reasons other than traveling from A to B?

Was there not a time ever in your life where yu just went out for a drive for the sake of driving & with no destination specifically in mind?

Question for anyone on here that knows Betty Swallicks, has he ever had, or wanted a nice car? did he use to be a boy racer either for example? (obviously not with a Datsun Cherry obviously, as I'd guess that was a old hand me down first car)

Think one o the Astras was a sxi. Thats aboot as sporty as it gets. Most were diesels.

No niver wanted a better ene. Waste o money.

No niver just went for a drive with no destination in mind. Waste o money.

No niver wanted a nice car. Waste o money.

No niver was a bot racer. Waste o money and time.

Think one o the Astras was a sxi. Thats aboot as sporty as it gets. Most were diesels.

No niver wanted a better ene. Waste o money.

No niver just went for a drive with no destination in mind. Waste o money.

No niver wanted a nice car. Waste o money.

No niver was a bot racer. Waste o money and time.

Ok well cheers for answering my questions & on top of that thanks :rolleyes: for your invaluable contribution to the thread.

I will try my best to avoid the rest of your contributions within this thread at least, as they are of no use to me but thanks all the same :thumbup1: