Fit Do You Do On The Rigs?

Sonic

• Replies 156

Really? I cannae imagine fit you do to keep yourselves occupied. I don't even know what you do for work! Split shifts? Is there like a wee bar? No Smoking rules?

Just curious as to what life offshore is like :thumbup1:

All you can do is keep wanking and dreaming of booze!

There's no bar, although I believe once upon a time they used to have them.

You can smoke nae bother but must be in the 'designated areas'. There is usually a smoking lounge and a non smoking lounge, rigs are exempt from the smoking ban.

Lots of watching Sky news, does my nut in (I should point out I don't normally work affshore, only occasionally)

Drink is a no no so wee bar is definitely out. I work 2 weeks at a time, 12 hour shifts 6.30 - 6.30. We have sky in our rooms, unlimited internet, a gym, a sauna, pool tables, snooker tables, dart boards, tv lounges for the football, a cinema, ususally games of poker going on, more than enough to keep us all entertained. Plus if you take a book out with you u can read, or there is the papers, magazines. My rig also has a music room with a couple of guitars and a keyboard if u fancy yourself as a musician.

Really? I cannae imagine fit you do to keep yourselves occupied. I don't even know what you do for work! Split shifts? Is there like a wee bar? No Smoking rules?

Just curious as to what life offshore is like :thumbup1:

I find threads on here about offshore life interesting too. Sounds like it definitely has it's pros and cons anyway. The night before you head offshore for a 3 week trip must be like 52 Sunday night/Monday mornings rolled into one! :drink:

yeh the night before u go is horrendous. But I put my head down and graft for 2 weeks then I know I have 3 weeks off which is luxury. The day you go home is the best feeling in the world!

I'll bet, sounds horrendous, but can imagine you must be buzzing when waiting for the chopper to pick you to head home and to the boozer! I take it all your meals are free, what's the food like, decent? Is there a wee shoppie to buy juice, magazines or whatever...?

yeh all food is free, breakfast, lunch, supper plus a meal at midnight for nightshift so if ure still up at that time and not full up u could have 4 x 3course meals a day. Personally on my rig the food is magic, big choice and its top notch. We also get unlimited free cans of juice so no need to buy. There is a bond which sells sweeties, crisps, peanuts, chewing gun, toiletries, fags etc. Magazines u get b people taking them from the beach. We get daily delivery of newspapers too. All in all its not too shabby.

And yes the feeling u get waiting for the chopper is almost enough for u to jizz in ure breeks!!

I work 2 weeks on 4 weeks off in the Norwegian sector, only English speaking channel we have is Sky News though we get most of the fitba on Norwegian or Swedish channels, nae much crack after the shift as most guys are holed up in their cabin with a laptop.Food is good onboard mosdtly Noggie cooks but the head chef is fae Inverurie so we get Scottish food as well as Reindeer and boiled mutton yuck !

12 Hours on shift / 12 hours off.

Rota of 2/2 2/3 3/3 4/4 and 2/4 like myself over in Norway.

On some of the newer rigs you have wireless in your cabin, 50+ tv channels and a phone

Cinema rooms , Internet cafe , gyms and sauna's , games room , poker nights , bingo nights , PS3 , Xbox , Wii and so on.

Plenty plenty to do unless your on a bucket with f**k all to do , f**k that.

What happened to the other thread that was on the go this morning which was quite similar to this topic? :thumbup1:

Think it was removed due to people mentioning company names etc.

I work 2 weeks on 4 weeks off in the Norwegian sector, only English speaking channel we have is Sky News though we get most of the fitba on Norwegian or Swedish channels, nae much crack after the shift as most guys are holed up in their cabin with a laptop.Food is good onboard mosdtly Noggie cooks but the head chef is fae Inverurie so we get Scottish food as well as Reindeer and boiled mutton yuck !

aye they'll all be wanking furiously. reminds me of that song "I Think I'm Turning Japanese' :drink: ;):spunk:

2 weeks on, 3 weeks off....first week on nightshift ( 6-6 ), second week dayshift ( 6-6 )...plenty to keep ye occupied, pool, snooker, darts, internet....sky tv and dvd player in your room...take a book/magazines...watch porn...goto the galley and munch...it's nae too bad and the 3 weeks at hame is quality.

yeh all food is free, breakfast, lunch, supper plus a meal at midnight for nightshift so if ure still up at that time and not full up u could have 4 x 3course meals a day. Personally on my rig the food is magic, big choice and its top notch. We also get unlimited free cans of juice so no need to buy. There is a bond which sells sweeties, crisps, peanuts, chewing gun, toiletries, fags etc. Magazines u get b people taking them from the beach. We get daily delivery of newspapers too. All in all its not too shabby.

And yes the feeling u get waiting for the chopper is almost enough for u to jizz in ure breeks!!

Dazzy, which rig is it you work on? You are affa lucky with the 2 on 3 off, my dad at the moment is just waiting by the phone most off the time, was offshore on friday supposed to be for 2 weeks but was home on Monday and the trip before that he was in Baku for a month, the food there was pretty sh*t he said.

Once I've lost enough weight I aim to get offshore like.

In Norway we pay a tax on our meals , accommodation and travel.

yeh all food is free, breakfast, lunch, supper plus a meal at midnight for nightshift so if ure still up at that time and not full up u could have 4 x 3course meals a day. Personally on my rig the food is magic, big choice and its top notch. We also get unlimited free cans of juice so no need to buy.

Bloody hell, nae wonder the statement below is true then! Hopefully Minijc willnae get a job offshore, or his diet will be f.ucked! :thumbup1:

Aye there's heaps of fat barstewards offshore. They recently had to change the rules on the lifeboat capacities due to the workers getting fatter.

aye they'll all be wanking furiously. reminds me of that song "I Think I'm Turning Japanese' :drink: ;):spunk:

Ha, yeah I have a mate that works offshore on various rigs and he's always going on about the amount of porns going about!

Dazzy, which rig is it you work on? You are affa lucky with the 2 on 3 off, my dad at the moment is just waiting by the phone most off the time, was offshore on friday supposed to be for 2 weeks but was home on Monday and the trip before that he was in Baku for a month, the food there was pretty sh*t he said.

Once I've lost enough weight I aim to get offshore like.

I do a week on two rigs. A week on the Elgin/Franklin then a week on the Alwyn. Then off for 3 weeks. Core crew position so thats what you will get. I have mates who do adhoc sitting by the phone, thats not for me like, i like knowing what im doing and when so I can make plans. Niall, have u got a trade to get u offshore or u just thinkin deckcrew/labourer kinda work?

MiniJ , Get your self learned up on

Rig tongs , Slips , Elevators , fox fole , rat hole , monkey board , donkeys dick , Finger boards , Top drive , blocks , Chain the brake , BOPs , Risers , BHA , Dog collar and all th erest of the drilling Jargon and you will do fine.

MiniJ , Get your self learned up on

Rig tongs , Slips , Elevators , fox fole , rat hole , monkey board , donkeys dick , Finger boards , Top drive , blocks , Chain the brake , BOPs , Risers , BHA , Dog collar and all th erest of the drilling Jargon and you will do fine.

So, if I were to head to an Interview right now and rattled all of that off I'll get a job? tidy am away to give a few people a phone.

Aye, when my dad was in Baku he was keeping an eye on a younger loon like, as soon as I get in to a suitable weight, keep in it, I will try do something to help me get offshore. Not sure how much my dad makes but going by his monthly tax, he must make a fair bit.

aye the dreaded tax...dont get me started on that. I pay more tax a year than my cousin earns, absolute nightmare!!

So, if I were to head to an Interview right now and rattled all of that off I'll get a job? tidy am away to give a few people a phone.

probably. no formal education of any note required to work offshore. In fact some of the dime bars you get offshore probably can't even read or write.