Shankland

Are you suggesting the manager is better informed to make a decision about whether a young loon is ready to be pitched in, than Dons fans on the internet who have never seen the lad play? Seeing him train day in day out is all well and good, but surely Wikipedia and "well he canna be that bad" type logic counts for a lot more? It's almost as if you don't think Dons fans on the internet know everything.

Dinna try and use logic Bri. It's frowned upon.

Am sure the manager who went and signed the lad will know when the time is right to chuck the loon into first team. Obviously rates him first and foremost as signed him and will be watching him in training every day, so his time will come.

Plus one'd. Most sensible post of the thread along with Bripods post of the same vein of course.

Woul prefer it if we took our time with this lad and not rush him too fast. Putting players in too early can as easily have negative effect as it can be positive. Clark Robertson could be example. Thrown in as no other left backs and his progress has stopped and if anything has got worse in first team.

• 5 months later...

http://www.dafc.co.uk/articles/lawrence-shankland-aberdeen_2208034_61095

6 in 9 (12 including sub appearances) appearances.

17 in 22 (38 including sub appearances) appearances for Queens Park.

Decent scoring ratio. Hopefully next season he'll be back and getting some appearances for the first team under his belt.

edit - I didn't include sub appearances.

He's certainly as good if not better than Dec McManus for example & has basically played as much (if not more) out on loan, or similar when ft at Queens park.

He's ready for our bench imo & no need to put him out on loan again next season. He's earned a chance.

Although not yet a feature of Aberdeen's first team, anyone who took an interest in the lower leagues of the Scottish system will know all about the 18-year-old's goalscoring abilities.

He made his senior debut at Queen's Park at the tail end of 2011/12, before making a real impression a week before he turned 17.

With his side trailing 2-1 to Airdrie, the teenager was sent on with 12 minutes to go. 10 minutes later he showed superb technique to equalise and force extra time.

From that point on, Shankland never looked back, scoring 13 goals in all competitions, including goals against Partick Thistle and Rangers.

Such form brought him to the attention of Aberdeen, who took him north in the summer of 2013. He has continued his fine goalscoring form at under 20 level, scoring nine goals in 14 games at the time of writing.

A predatory forward with a footballing intelligence and physical presence that belies his years, expect to see more of him in 2014.

Aberdeen have allowed promising youngster Lawrence Shankland to join Dunfermline on loan until the end of the season.

The 18-year-old, who joined the Dons from Queen's Park in the summer, is yet to make a first-team appearance for Derek McInnes' men so far this term.

He will now help Jim Jefferies' young Pars team as they attempt to secure a Scottish League 1 play-off spot.

Shankland has impressed coaches at Pittodrie after scoring nine goals in 14 games at under 20 level.

Speaking to STV, Jefferies revealed he had beaten interest from a Scottish Championship club to land the highly-rated forward.

He said: “We had to fight off interest from a Championship club to get him.”

“In the summer there were several Premiership clubs interested in signing him, before he chose Aberdeen. That’s a measure of how highly he’s regarded within Scottish football, so we’re delighted to get him.

“He’s very strong for such a young lad, and he in training he has looked very sharp and very keen to get stuck in. He goes straight into the squad for this weekend’s game against Stranraer.

I think he will certainly make our bench next season & why not?

He was put out on loan the second half of this season because the U19's wasn't enough for him & with a view of getting him ready for us at start of next season.

Bin Vernon & Josh (& Zola if we can) & replace them with Shankland for bench along with steven thompson ( out of contract in Summer) from St Mirren when they get relegated (you may laugh but) steven thompson would be a decent back up for Rooney. Reliable & proven SPFL striker that has a knack of getting goals. Nae a world beater but reliable (1 in 3 ratio with St's) & we could replace Zola (if we get rid) with a more decent prospect.

Thompson is past it min.

That's why he'd be cheap back up from a relegated side & reliable enough.

He'd want to prolong his days in top flight.

Who'd you rather have as back up to Rooney. Josh, Vernon, or Zola, or someone like Thompson?

Brewster was "past it" for about half a dozen years but was reliable & consistent at finding the net.

Not like I'm suggesting he REPLACES Rooney

Vernon rather than Thompson as it happens.

Personally I'd prefer none of the above - Thompson is past it and Vernon doesn't fit with our style of play

Find someone better IMO - Thompson would be the sort of lazy signing that saw us finish 9th for 4 seasons running

Disagree. He's a reliable SPFL striker & will always get goals where as Vernon is not so much anymore.

Thompson would be ok for replacing our back up strikers (ANY of the three) as will Shankland but I do also want us to take in another decent striker also.

I'm only suggesting Thompson as a decent reliable back up to have on the bench not as a mainstay.

We cannot sign 3 mainstay strikers so will have to sign some cheap (preferably at least one) reliable & have Shankland getting his shot but will have to sign one decent striker as well hopefully.

Nae sure if Thompson would even want to come to us. Move from home as a back up in top flight, or stay home in the championship & get regular games?

Brewster was still reliable at the age of 94 so Thompson at 35 is not exactly past it quite yet.