Minimum alcohol pricing - latest?

I don't think it should be a rich vs poor thing. It's about changing the attitude that we, as a society, have towards alcohol. I believe that raising the price and making excessive consumption more unusual will help change our attitude to alcohol.

It's not the only thing required but i do believe that combining this with increased education campaigns (particularly targetted at young people) can be part of a change in attitudes towards alcohol.

Personally, i'd rather that the minimum price was in place as a tax but the Scottish Parliament doesn't have the power to do this.

Totally agree with your point on the importance of education in tackling the problem, but minimum pricing which falls disproportionately on the poor, as usual, smacks of Tory cuntism. If you are going to raise the price of alcohol then a hefty rise on the price of the quality brands of alcohol should have been included in the spirit (excuse the pun) of fairness.

Its SNP cuntism.

And the policy was specifically targeted at the cheaper alcohol favoured by neds and jakeys, like the 3 litre bottles of dynamite cider etc.

The middle classes dont go out and put a bottle of remy martin over somebody's head.

I resent it because it makes good-quality-but-cheap 500ml 5% beers up in price from £1 a bottle to a minimum of £1.25 bottle. And this is just the beginning.

Wretching at the thought!

It's worse when you take in to account the amounts of times its been done as an adult for TITP and football buses.

Bottle squeezed and crumpled up so much you could barely get a scoof out of it. Some mink always had the dregs if everyone's bottles

:laughing::laughing::laughing:

Said before, this is to target the underagers from having access to cheap, high alcohol content drinks. No point them buying a couple of beers if it's not going to get them smashed. To your average unemployed/low wage drinker they'll still be able to afford a drink, it'll just have less alcohol in it

I resent it because it makes good-quality-but-cheap 500ml 5% beers up in price from £1 a bottle to a minimum of £1.25 bottle. And this is just the beginning.

How will you cope when the price of communion wine triples and you have to put more money in the collection plate to compensate?

But it's about consumption of quantity of alcohol, not the type of alcohol drunk. Having 1 or 2 brandy's a couple of times a week isn't what this is trying to target. It's having an excessive quantity of units of alcohol.

Enough alcohol is sold in Scotland every year for every adult to drink around 20 units per week, 44% more than the 14 unit per week lower risk guidelines. I'm pretty happy that there's at least an attempt being made to reduce consumption and improve the health of the nation.

I actually agree with Parky the poofter here.

If my half bottle of Rachmaninoff and 2L orange-aid mixer had cost a combined £8 instead of £3.95 at age 15, I'd of nae been able to afford to get into Pittodrie. Leading to less humiliating defeats to the likes of Livi, less depression and escapism through alcohol and now I wouldn't spend £1 per unit on fancy beers either.

I've both drank and sold the nastiest cheapest cider you can legally obtain.

Waste of time. See anywhere in Scandinavia for proof.

If you need to drink you will drink.

There are huge problems in Scandinavia with people making their own booze coz of the prices.

Is the "proof" them drinking less alcohol than us and having less alcohol attributable deaths than us?

http://www.euro.who.int/__data/assets/pdf_file/0017/190430/Status-Report-on-Alcohol-and-Health-in-35-European-Countries.pdf

Is the "proof" them drinking less alcohol than us and having less alcohol attributable deaths than us?

http://www.euro.who.int/__data/assets/pdf_file/0017/190430/Status-Report-on-Alcohol-and-Health-in-35-European-Countries.pdf

Uh yeah. You make spirits illegally and then declare all honest like what you drink etc.

Have you been to the backwaters of Norway? Basically anywhere outside the main cities is full of alkies. Fair enough it's more Friday and Saturday night but they make up for not drinking the rest of the week.

Sorry darkie, some report is no substitute for living in a place.

Uh yeah. You make spirits illegally and then declare all honest like what you drink etc.

Have you been to the backwaters of Norway? Basically anywhere outside the main cities is full of alkies. Fair enough it's more Friday and Saturday night but they make up for not drinking the rest of the week.

Sorry darkie, some report is no substitute for living in a place.

So we ignore any actual research because you know best?

Yeah, good shout, Byen :laughing:

So we ignore any actual research because you know best?

Yeah, good shout, Byen :laughing:

Just saying research is flawed. It is based on people being honest. If you're doing something illegal, why tell about it.

But what do eh ken. Only lived in Norway for 14 years and worked in Finland for 2. You've got a PDF you've found on the net. Canna compete with that.

Just saying research is flawed. It is based on people being honest. If you're doing something illegal, why tell about it.

But what do eh ken. Only lived in Norway for 14 years and worked in Finland for 2. You've got a PDF you've found on the net. Canna compete with that.

I've lived in Scotland for 30 years, i wouldn't claim that i know better than organisations who've actually researched an issue.

Your anecdotal evidence definitely has a place and could definitely be raised as a counter point. However, I think any neutral observer would take the findings of the World Health Organisation over the findings of ByenFaeBergen.

Noticed a big difference in Morrisons today. I'd imagine yer 'craft' beers will be going up to keep the impression of premium(and make more dough)

How much is a crate or box going for now? I stocked up on a few for a tenner for 20 bottles over the past couple of weeks.