12 Points In 4 Games

So he thinks we can get 12 points from the next four games....... me I don't think the same.

He really is aff his heid. We have been terrible since Ryan Fraser left, and I don't think its about to change. I can't believe bottom six beckons after the 2nd quarter of the season, I really thought we found our form, but its abandoned us just as quick.

My thoughts are, that the board are perhaps monitoring the situation closely, they have an opportunity to let him go at the end of his contract and get the man they want (Whoever that is) or they re-new it because they think he is still capable. I have a feeling they will let him go..... and I cant decide who I would like to see at the helm, as the Dons job seems like career suicide. The expectations are just too high. But on the other hand most of the managers that have came here (exception to Jimmy C) have been a failure (my definition of failure is bottom six). Re: Jimmy, I was shocked he got sacked, I actually quite liked him and it was the best years as a Dons fan that I can remember in recent times. Obviously his tactics were fucking frustrating though.

Uncertain few months ahead I fear. :sherlock:

What expectations are too high?

We expect far too much asking for a cup win for the first time in 18 years (or even a final for the first time in 20 odd attempts).

With one final being contested between the worst Hearts team in recent history against a very average St Mirren, and a guarantee that Hibs or Falkirk will be in the final of the other, it is entirely overly high expectations to expect that from Aberdeen after 26 failed attempts. Hopefully we can bring in a new manager who has no intention of trying to do that, to try and reign in our overly high expectations.

As for 12 points in 4 games, just more hot air escaping from

Brown. If we get more than 5 I'll be surprised.

Deluded more like.

1 point the way we're playing. Where is he getting this shite from that we've been playing OK? We've been fucking rotten by and large.

Aberdeen 1 v 2 Motherwell

Celtic 3 v 0 Aberdeen

Aberdeen 0 v 0 Hearts

Dundee Utd 2 v 1 Aberdeen.

Not sure when it'll be mathematically impossible for us not to be in the top 6, but surely, SURELY he'll be gone then.

What expectations are too high?

IMO The expectation that we will qualify for Europe or win a cup each season. Nothing wrong with hoping for that... but expecting is just setting us all up for heartache!

Where do we go from here? Brown looked like he came good mid-season, but we have been SO bad of late.

I used to think it was our god given right to a cup or euro qualification... but to be honest, watching those Quarter finals at the weekend, the other teams just have so much more about them. Loads of Passion, plenty of hunger (compared to us anyway)

IMO The expectation that we will qualify for Europe or win a cup each season. Nothing wrong with hoping for that... but expecting is just setting us all up for heartache!

I don't think anyone expects Aberdeen to win a trophy each season, and the 'allegedly' fourth biggest budget should be looking to qualify for Europe at least once every few seasons.

It's actually quite insulting for the club to come out with the old 'expectations' lie as routinely as it does, but since the club has long treated its own fans with sheer contempt it's hardly surprising when they do.

I do agree that we can't expect a cup every season, but what we have is a support worn down after an incredible amount of missed chances at glory in recent years.

Well said, that man! Totally agree. Starting to feel a bit jaded myself actually :banghead:

The expectation should be 4th minimum. A cup-final appearance every two years (every 4 cups) not unreasonable. Just going by spend. To get people back through the door is going to be difficult. Many of those who have stopped going have got into the habit of doing other things on a Saturday afternoon. A wee boy in my family gets slagged off for wearing his Dons top when he's out playing. Sorry state of affairs.

12 goals put past us?

I don't think we should just put it down to expectations based on wage amount really. Where would the fun of the sport be if there were no cup upsets of little teams getting motivated and beating much better opposition? If we just look at the wage bill and assume we should be in x position then that's sort of skipping over the main part, football matches.

I just wish we were competitive enough to make it entertaining and get to hampden every so often. Challenging for a european place regularly.

I'm one of these people that only started supporting Aberdeen since they've been shite though. So from my point of view, the best year's I've seen were when jimmy was in charge...

Thing is the Dons shouldn't be shite, the board just seem to accept mediocrity like a semi final defeat to a shit Hibs team, & 9th place 4 years in a row. It's time the board started to step up to the plate. Da stand for mediocrity, we were more than capable of finishing 2nd this season, & reaching a final & that's nae high expectations that's reasonable expectations. The board needs to appoint a manager who will not except mediocre performances from players.

Anyway, with the next 4 games, 12 is impossible for us. There's just no way. Wasn't Brown saying before the County or Killie game that he's pretty much written of Celtic Park, so why the change of track? He's a desperate man.

Motherwell are on a great run of form after their United defeat, winning against Celtic and then at tynecastle. They won't have a problem coming up here, when was the last time we beat them at Pittodrie? I'll stick my neck on the line and say it was under Calderwood. Probably wrong though. I've seen nothing from us to suggest we'll win.We'll need to up our game drastically but I'll go for a draw.

1 point

Celtic away - nil point.

Hearts at home. We should be winning this game. They're pish. Don't know if it's before or after the final but either way it should be more of an advantage to us. Surely we'll score against them. They're 11th for a reason. 3 points.

United away - 2 teams who should be doing better, us and them. They're still not exactly firing on all cylinders but have been picking up the odd win. We shouldn't have anything to fear by this stage as I imagine top 6 will be gone. 1 point.

5 points. Wouldn't say that's particularly pessimistic, it's realistic. Though going by the form book and how we've been playing you could say it's optimistic!!