Aberdeen FC confirm Jimmy Thelin appointment ✍️ ×

Bad Golf Courses

Controversial I imagine, as I'm sure we all have our un-favourites, but in north-east, my courses from hell are:

1. Westhill - The undisputed king, want to hit a ball up and down a field, or go round and round a hill? This is the place. Only course I've ever walked off with a card in my hand, as did both my playing partners. We'd all NR'd and no-one wanted to finish the round 'for fun'.

2. Auchmill - A fine walk around the delights of Northfield and Heatheryfold, spoiled by the most godawful greens, ridiculous blind holes, scabby tees, and little b*stard urchins liable to nip out of the bushes and whip your ball away. Of course a couple of holes later you'll have the chance to get it back for a pound 'mister' :ThumbsDown:

3. Portlethen - A very similar feel to Oldmeldrum, except they don't have the benefit of a decent old 9 to at least partly save it, no stand-out holes, and the constant drone of the dual carriageway for musical accompaniment .

4. Oldmeldrum - A decent 9 holer, spoiled when some farmer managed to con the club into buying his tundra to make into an 18.

5. Meldrum House - The most expensive club in the north-east. Fine if you want to play right angled dog legs all day. In fairness the fairways are like some club's greens, and the greens are simply different class, as are the practice facilities.

Honorable mentions to Torphins and Alford.

Controversial I imagine, as I'm sure we all have our un-favourites, but in north-east, my courses from hell are:

1. Westhill - The undisputed king, want to hit a ball up and down a field, or go round and round a hill? This is the place. Only course I've ever walked off with a card in my hand, as did both my playing partners. We'd all NR'd and no-one wanted to finish the round 'for fun'.

2. Auchmill - A fine walk around the delights of Northfield and Heatheryfold, spoiled by the most godawful greens, ridiculous blind holes, scabby tees, and little b*stard urchins liable to nip out of the bushes and whip your ball away. Of course a couple of holes later you'll have the chance to get it back for a pound 'mister' :thumbup1:

3. Portlethen - A very similar feel to Oldmeldrum, except they don't have the benefit of a decent old 9 to at least partly save it, no stand-out holes, and the constant drone of the dual carriageway for musical accompaniment .

4. Oldmeldrum - A decent 9 holer, spoiled when some farmer managed to con the club into buying his tundra to make into an 18.

5. Meldrum House - The most expensive club in the north-east. Fine if you want to play right angled dog legs all day. In fairness the fairways are like some club's greens, and the greens are simply different class, as are the practice facilities.

aye im a member at westhill, it has improved this summer but some holes you wonder what the hell your meant to do. the back 9 alot of the time the ball is either stupidly above your feet or stupidly below your feet, fairways at 45 degree angles isnt too fun but makes it very challenging. the 14th for example, best way to ply it is play up onto the 16th on the flat fairway and smash and iron on to the green. some good holes though, cant comment on the rest of the courses but may i say Craibstone golf course is a great course to play, well kept and yet pretty hard. :ThumbsDown:

2. Auchmill - A fine walk around the delights of Northfield and Heatheryfold, spoiled by the most godawful greens, ridiculous blind holes, scabby tees, and little b*stard urchins liable to nip out of the bushes and whip your ball away. Of course a couple of holes later you'll have the chance to get it back for a pound 'mister' :angry2:

Just about to open a new green on 14 at Meldrum House. Which leaves arguably only 1 other right angled dog-leg, the 12th. I think you've just put it in there for effect.

I learned to play at Westhill and whilst it's not the best course in the world, it does really make you think about what you're doing, given that you rarely get a flat and level stance through the green.

Never played Auchmill but Alford is dull dull dull. Drive, Wedge. Drive, Chip. Drive, Wedge. No thanks.

Kintore has never been a favourite either; a couple of decent holes, but the closing stretch is a bag of sheeeite.

Kintore has only got 3 bad holes that lets the course down. 15, 16 & 17. Apart from that its a great course and probably one of the hardest test of golf you'll get anywhere around aberdeenshire. Also the course is in great condition especially the new part of the course from holes 4 - 13. I always hear alot of negative groan's about Kintore but in all honest it is a cracking course. Im a member at Inverurie and its miles better that and it would also give Kemnay a very good run for its money.

Longside - Quite literally a field, up and down, up and down. It's still fairly new so maybe a bit harsh.

Elgin - Half links and hald park land but it didn't go down well with me. Some stupid holes like the 8th where you'd have to play a 7 iron then a wedge, 9th is similar.

Peterhead - Not too bad a course but it's always windy, you feel like you've just been beat up when you come off the course.

King Links - F***ers driving by blasting their horns in the middle of your swing when you are playing 17.

Alford - Same as what's been said, pitch and putt.

I do think a lot of it is down to how you play, you could play out of your skin on an average course then come away raving about it like I did with Insch lately.

BAD Ones:-

Nigg Bay - possibly the worst excuse of a golf course I have ever played, blind shots at nearly every hole, greens are hairier than a german burds armpit

Oldmeldrum - played it last thursday for the first time, nearly got anhilated walking up the first fairway when i relaised it was also the 18th fairway( WTF???), not the best first impression of the place. Downwind on the 18th, its either a tiger shot over the field or an 8 iron to stop the ball from going through the clubhoose window. joke course

Cullen - can only be described as a slightly sophisticated "crazy golf" course.

Kintore - 15th, 16th, 16th completely spoil what would be a decent course.

GOOD Ones:-

Moray Old- Possibly the best finishing hole in scottish golf.

Forfar - Very interesting parkland course but feels like a links with the undulating fairways

Meldrum Hoose - best parkland course in the area by a mile.

Royal Aberdeen - enough said, amazing links

Montrose - played it on friday in the am:am, quality links golf!

Longside - Quite literally a field, up and down, up and down. It's still fairly new so maybe a bit harsh.

Its mostly a flat course except the the for the 5th,15th,18th was a member there but stopped playing due to it not opening the whole 18 by about May due to flooding but come summer the course is in good shape. Overall I wouldn't say its bad its pretty easy but drainage is always going to be a problem for it when the ugie zig-zags its way through most of the front 9.

Anyone played the nine holer at Fyvie thought it was alright when I played it well maintained etc?

BAD Ones:-

Cullen - can only be described as a slightly sophisticated "crazy golf" course.

GOOD Ones:-

Forfar - Very interesting parkland course but feels like a links with the undulating fairways

Forfar is one of my favourite courses, played it a couple of years ago and really enjoyed my round. If it was a little closer I would happily play it again. Far better than Edzell, didn't really think much of it although the practice area looked impressive.

Totally disagree with your thoughts on Cullen, it is crazy but it's good to play something different. It's been a while since I've played it, again would love to go back.

2. Auchmill - A fine walk around the delights of Northfield and Heatheryfold, spoiled by the most godawful greens, ridiculous blind holes, scabby tees, and little b*stard urchins liable to nip out of the bushes and whip your ball away. Of course a couple of holes later you'll have the chance to get it back for a pound 'mister' :hysterical:

Played there once, think it was the 3rd or 4th hole, all of us on the green, and one of the guys takes the flag out and some little $hites had smeared the flag with dog $hit.

Rank.

Totally disagree with your thoughts on Cullen, it is crazy but it's good to play something different. It's been a while since I've played it, again would love to go back.

Glad it aint just me then.

I was there 6 weeks ago and it was a real tricky course despite it's shortness.

Auchmill needs to get something done about the wee neds who infest the course.

It's got some real good holes but i gave up playing there cos of these clowns.

Nigg Bay - possibly the worst excuse of a golf course I have ever played, blind shots at nearly every hole, greens are hairier than a german burds armpit
Nigg used to have some of the best greens around, especially at the start of the season, what's gone wrong there? I used to hate Nigg, but played a few times and it grows on you which is a bit unusual for a golf course. There are a lot of blind holes no doubt, but it's a tough but fair test. Break 80 and you've played very well.

I've got to say that the Brabazon Course at the Belfry could be thrown into the bad course list. Boring as hell and in pretty poor nick for what is supposed to be one the UK's top courses and not value for money at all.

Thank frigg I paid nothing that day.

Mind you this was 12 years ago before they altered a few holes.

Up here, even though I've spent most of my golfing life on it, I would say that the back 9 at Keith is the dullest in golf!

Guest rocket_scientist
Has anyone ever played Letham Grange? Opinions?

This post is probably out of place in the "bad" courses thread mind you...

I don't rate it at all. Nothing to do with the crumbling wreck of a building, the golf course itself flatters to deceive. Quite liked it until I played it 3 times in 4 months a couple of years ago. Wouldn't voluntarily play there again. Rosemount and Landsdowne are cracking inland courses in great condition, but Hazlehead No. 1 is my favourite turf for inland tracks.

Has anyone ever played Letham Grange? Opinions?

This post is probably out of place in the "bad" courses thread mind you...

Grew up right next to the old course third.

I think it is a cracking course, but then I am heavily biased. New course is so-so until you hit the last 4 holes or so which are good, they were previously part of the old course (except the 18th). Love the old course, very challenging (for me) and great scenery, esp after the 6th. Tight fairways, plenty of water hazards, trees and plenty of slopes. Tees, fairways and greens were in decent nick last time I played it, about 3 months ago. Rough is an embarrassment.

Let down by very poor management. Hotel is a crumbling wreck. Pro-shop is a box-room. But don't let that put you off, definitely worth a play.

Probably a bit out of the way for most posters on here, but anyone got any recommendations for the Stirling area (apart from the usual suspects with a lengthy waiting list). Thinking of joining somewhere for next year. Had a round at Muckhart about a month ago and thought it was excellent. 3 * 9 hole courses, so you can either play 9 or pick and choose your 18. Thinking of joining there, but wondering if there are any other recommendations.

edit - felt I had to comment on a bad golf course as it is the theme of the topic. Westerwood is a stinker. Rubbish course poorly maintained. Struggle to find a patch of grass without a divot. Prone to flooding. Up high on hill so exceptionally windy. Next to a fly-school so low level planes and helicopters to distract you. Currently resembles a building site. Only a single decent hole. Someone told me that Ballesteros was involved in the design of it, but withdrew his name after he saw the state of it.

Guest rocket_scientist
Probably a bit out of the way for most posters on here, but anyone got any recommendations for the Stirling area (apart from the usual suspects with a lengthy waiting list). Thinking of joining somewhere for next year. Had a round at Muckhart about a month ago and thought it was excellent. 3 * 9 hole courses, so you can either play 9 or pick and choose your 18. Thinking of joining there, but wondering if there are any other recommendations.

Not many waiting lists in Scotland these days. Stirling itself is quite nice, but busy probably. Dunblane New doesn't float my boat, but Auchterarder is meant to be quite good - never been there masel. If you liked Muckhart, just do it.

Cheers RS. Stirling and Dunblane both have waiting lists. Dunblane's is 5 years according to the pro. Dunno about stirling, but it is more popular. Haven't played Auchterarder, might give it a look. Prob will join Muckhart though, it is only about 10 mins away.

Guest rocket_scientist
Cheers RS. Stirling and Dunblane both have waiting lists. Dunblane's is 5 years according to the pro. Dunno about stirling, but it is more popular. Haven't played Auchterarder, might give it a look. Prob will join Muckhart though, it is only about 10 mins away.

Should do. You said it was excellent. Thats enough reason to do it. I'm a member of St Andrews which I've kept on, but since we returned to the NE, I'm struggling to find satisfaction with the golf clubs - plural - that I've been through. Got it sorted for 2009 but you can't beat your enthusiasm for the course - just do it.