Best Dram

yellow

Pretty much the only one I enjoy is Balvenie.

A lame reason for getting into it i know but i feel like i should like whisky. I'm hoping i can power through the mingingness like in my teenage years when i didn't like lager.

So....i like Balvenie (only tried 10 year old and the double wood) What other similar ones would i like?

• Replies 95

Guest the shepherd

A lame reason for getting into it i know but i feel like i should like whisky. I'm hoping i can power through the mingingness like in my teenage years when i didn't like lager.

So....i like Balvenie (only tried 10 year old and the double wood) What other similar ones would i like?

Can't recommend any similar Malts to Balvenie as I find this one is like getting polio drops from your doctor at sixteen years old but if your are on the lookout for a decent Malt or two try Isle of Jula standard or Isle of Jura Superstition. Malts with character.

Up until just over a year ago, my wife and I would be drinking less than a bottle of whisky a year, and I never ordered it in pubs. Then, an independent wine and spirits mannie opened a shop here and he offered me a taste of Bruichladdich XVII and I bought a bottle. I then bought 3 or 4 more of the same and was doing about a bottle a month in my first wave of enthusism. I then tried another couple of his recommendations and, barring this month which is my teetotal month, would expect to drink somewhere between 4 and 5 bottles of whisky this year.

It depends how much you drink then, as regards what you want to be spending, but the advice of someone who kens the score was invaluable to me. It was like the light being switched on for me, and fully understand what you mean when you say you "should" like it. As I don't drink much, I don't mind spending more to get something excellent, and his advice on whiskies has been class to date. Didn't work on champagne though. The vintage Krug he selt me 2 or 3 months back was no better than a bottle a sixth of the price.

The Islay malts usually leave me stone cold too. A mate gave me Ardbeg before Xmas, recently voted the best in Scotland, and I gave it away after tasting half a nip. I think I remember liking Balvenie though, and most Speysiders, if it is indeed from there.

Yes its from Dufftown.

Bruichladdich is made from American oak casks and i have tried it and found it very subtle.

From the Independent (http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/fo...ore-492699.html)

....Bruichladdich sees itself as the conscience of Islay malts. It is the only distillery not owned by a giant, such as Allied Domecq or Diageo, and it is self-consciously the maverick of the whisky producers. The Gaelic motto on the bottle, "clachan an choin" translates as "the dog's bollocks".

However, most other references seem to agree that it is a village - http://www.antrimhistory.net/blank.php?cid=220.

I guess RS is right re. words having more than one meaning, especially in the context it is used as in the motto.

I'm 18 and i love the stuff (i will die soon no doubt). Glenfiddich :spunk:

• 2 years later...
A single malt distilled in one of Scotland's most remote distilleries has been named the world's best whisky by a leading expert.

Old Pulteney was crowned World Whisky of the Year in Jim Murray's 2012 Whisky Bible.

The 21-year-old single malt scored a record-equalling 97.5 points out of 100.

The whisky is matured in American oak casks and bottled at the Pulteney distillery in Wick, Caithness.

Whisky expert Mr Murray tasted more than 1,200 new drams before deciding on the winner.

He said: "The 21-year-old Old Pulteney absolutely exploded from the glass with vitality, charisma and class.

"Pulteney doesn't have the financial muscle of the major whisky barons to market its malts on the global stage.

"I hope that this award helps one of Scotland's great unsung distilleries to become discovered around the world."

Pulteney has a chequered past in the Caithness town.

New temperance laws saw the parish of Wick vote to end the public sale of alcohol in 1922, a ban that stayed in place for 25 years.

Faced with falling demand, Pulteney closed in 1930 - but reopened in 1951 after prohibition was overturned in a further vote.

A Pulteney spokesman said: "We are absolutely delighted to have won this award. It is a tribute to the traditional craftsmanship we have honed over the centuries and also to the unique character that the town lends to our whisky."

US bourbons took the two runners-up places in the Whisky Bible awards.

George T Stagg was named second best while 10-year-old Parker's Heritage Collection Wheated Mash Bill picked up third.

Congrats on Wick's success tup. Do you work there?

Think your whisky man has been spinning you a yarn. Clachan means village

Utter shite.

Clach is gaelic for Stone. - Clachnacuddin in Inverness refers to the stone the women would take their washing to beat it and have a chat

Clachan nan choin is gaelic for (literally) "stones of the dog".

Close enough for dog's bollocks, but alliterative also, which I assume is why that particular metaphor was chosen.

---

To help the OP, the Balvenie is produced by William Grants of Dufftown - they also make Glenfiddich at the same location.

Others you might like from the same area might include;

MacAllan - a wide range and easily available in most bars / supermarkets.

Aberlour - the cask strength is particularly fine

Glen Rothes.

---

My recommendation to anyone who wishes to find out more about what they enjoy would be to go to the Whisky Shop in Tomintoul - they'll give you tasters and tips as well as getting a nose of some more unusualy whiskies as well.

Dinna drink spirits squire, I've seen the damage it can do, plus I go mental when I do indulge, last time I did have them (several years ago) I have no memory of a four hour period in which I was ejected from two bars, threatened the owner of the second one, had his mother trying to attack me shortly afterward, and the police at my front door later.

Just say no.

Dinna drink spirits squire, I've seen the damage it can do, plus I go mental when I do indulge, last time I did have them (several years ago) I have no memory of a four hour period in which I was ejected from two bars, threatened the owner of the second one, had his mother trying to attack me shortly afterward, and the police at my front door later.

Just say no.

I agree.

I always limit myself to one or two - and never drink whisky on a big night out.

I have a friend who had to stop drinking it altogether, such was the trouble he'd get in.

Just say no.

Would have to agree with Tup on this....I ended up doon the cop shop in Baku after a vodka binge....believe me thats nae a place I want to be making a return trip to anytime soon...

15 year Glenfiddich single malt is pretty much all you need for a good whisky.

My WhiskEy of choice is, of course, Jack Daniels.

But Glenfiddich pisses on JD if you're drinking it straight.

Course, I have a hard time with straight whisky these days, so tend to dilute it with coke, and I wouldn't stick coke in Glenfiddich. Oh, and don't drink your whisky with ice...

Anyway, 15 year Glenfiddich.... job very much done.

You wouldn't expect it but there is a shop on Dyce high street that sells a heap of different Whiskies, just looks like a run of the mill shite shoppie from the outside.

Hae min thats my shitty wee shop yer spiking aboot,we are indeed unique but let yourself be known for mass discounts on our huge selection of premium spirit

Thanks

Cameron 265