Budget For Next Season

I noticed McInnes said whilst being interviewed on BT Sport last night that regardless of where we finish his budget for next season is already set as the same as this season. Do fellow dandies believe this will allow for the necessary quality additions we all know the squad requires to keep progressing? Which players could conceivably be moved on that aren't out of contract at the end of this season?

Personally i think if we manage to qualify for the Europa League and somehow get to the group stage (big if i know and probably more unlikely than likely) then i'd be concerned that the squad would struggle to cope if the budget is the same as this season especially with Anderson and Robson being a year older and likely to be used more sparingly next season. Thoughts?

I would have liked to see it increased slightly by perhaps two players

still some scope for improving squad though - we have paid Stephen Hughes, Gregg Wylde and Chris Clark a decent wedge of this seasons budget in return for about 10 games, 1 goal and 1 assist.

Perhaps it would be fair if could negotitate settlement with Zola outwith mcInnes' budget

One thing for sure he needs to put even more faith in the youngsters

Yeah i'd agree that an extra two players would be about right with the prospect of European football and to continue the progress that has been made this season. But doesn't sound like that's going to happen and with Anderson and Robson both a year older next season it does concern me that we may not build on this season.

McInnes is going to have to pull a few rabbits out of the hat this summer in the transfer market by the sound of things.

We can't really afford to increase the budget IMO.

I think we all just have to realise that spending increasing amounts on a team to chase success is fairly reckless. It also doesn't produce great results IMO.

I'd guess McInnes budget this year may have had a wee increase from the what was originally planned and if he can keep that then thats fair enough.

As Tord said we have moved out some players who probably had to be paid off from the budget - this should free up money this year.

Also I'd expect Magennis to go. Plus at least one of Vernon or Zola.

As for European football, we might well get knocked out at the first hurdle so no point spending on the basis we might need a bigger squad - we'll just have to deal with it when we get there. McInnes has some decent young lads who could be utilised more I think.

The other option might be to keep tabs on out of contract players once the window closes, there's often one or two kicking about and if we make it into European groups then perhaps he can unearth a gem or two at that point.

We hired a new "Head of Recruitment" earlier in the season, this close season might be his first chance to prove he is worth his money.

(I'm taking it that "Head of Recruitment" has got to be a euphamism for a chief scout?)

Scouting has been a weakness for years so I've got hopes we can do better in the transfer market this summer as a result.

Of course there's a bigger budget for next season.

McInnes isn't a fucking mug though, it's a negotiation tactic.

If we let it be known we've more money to play with, cunts are gonna want more of it.

If we go into negotiations saying we're skint, we'll get better value.

It's pretty fucking obvious this.

McInnes needs to make sure that if it's a case of moving 4 or 5 out and bringing 4 or 5 in that the ones he does bring in are more reliable when it comes to going straight into the first team. Weaver, Zola, Magennis, Tate and Vernon can all be released to free up funds ( possible pay off to Zola be better to send him on loan for the season and get at least part of his wages paid). With Clark also recently released and maybe one of the younger players going out on loan for first half of season (maybe Shaughnessey, Smith or Low?) it should hopefully free up funds for another GK, hopefully signing Logan on a permanent deal and maybe another three or four good quality additions to the squad. Bring back Shankland as well let's see what he can do as a back up striker.

I agree Shankland hasn't done anything for us yet but as United have shown if a player is good enough he's old enough. If Vernon, Magennis and Zola are moving on (as most of us hope) then maybe there will be a place for him in the squad. I doubt he could do much worse than those three to be honest. I think the most likely course of action is that he will be loaned out at least for the first half of next season. But as i said if the three stooges i mentioned move on McInnes might put him into the squad as back up especially if he shows up well in pre season.

The removal of Vernon, Magenniss & possibly Zola from the wage bill & replacing them with the likes of Shankland & a couple of decent signings can ONLY improve us.

Weaver also getting replaced with a more decent keeper to challenge the moron in goal & we're golden.

Logan (& possibly Hector) to sign ft as well maybe

I agree Shankland hasn't done anything for us yet but as United have shown if a player is good enough he's old enough. If Vernon, Magennis and Zola are moving on (as most of us hope) then maybe there will be a place for him in the squad. I doubt he could do much worse than those three to be honest. I think the most likely course of action is that he will be loaned out at least for the first half of next season. But as i said if the three stooges i mentioned move on McInnes might put him into the squad as back up especially if he shows up well in pre season.

Load of shite. We're playing much better youngsters than those Arab pricks.

Hang your Weegie head in shame.

Difference between finishing second & third is £250k.

That's a decent player

If it didn't all go to the playing squad as a bonus.

What young players are we currently playing that are having as much effect on out first team as the likes of Armstrong, Robertson and Gauld are having for the Arabs? Pawlett at 23 can't be classed as a youngster just breaking through anymore.

Behave yourself with the weegie comments there's no need to lower the tone we all support the same team at the end of the day.

Prefer it to go as % of our debt to be honest - long term future is much more important!!

Keeping McInnes as manager is also pretty important.

He needs support to be willing to stay with us & until now he's been given great support.

I don't mind cash going towards the debt but not ALL profit & not at the expense of allowing McInnes some players he needs.

I don't understand why McInnes even mentioned the budget for next year did the reporter ask something about it? If not could it be seen as Deek trying to force Milne's hand a bit because he wants some extra cash to play with.

Or it could be to prevent potential signings trying to milk us for more wages.

We were getting crowds of 7000 and averaging less than 10000 over a season.

Crowds are now up around 30%, with some potentially a really good attendance or two still to come depending on how the table goes.

But on the negative side we have a massive debt that likely only got bigger this year, and that still needs to be serviced.

Now it's possible that Milne sees a capable manager in McInnes and will maybe open the biscuit tin for investment, but I suspect it's more likely that any money made available to McInnes will be as the result of players moving on rather than any sort of increase in budget.

But on the negative side we have a massive debt that likely only got bigger this year, and that still needs to be serviced.

Now it's possible that Milne sees a capable manager in McInnes and will maybe open the biscuit tin for investment, but I suspect it's more likely that any money made available to McInnes will be as the result of players moving on rather than any sort of increase in budget.

My point was more that the board were probably correct to cut the budget based on falling revenues.

I'd prefer to see if this season was just a flash in the pan before loosening the purse strings (don't think it is though).

I do think though that if we are continuing to increase revenue, it would be good to see a little of that money re-invested in the playing side - it's good for the fans to be seeing some sort of investment as we can be a fickle lot.

My point was more that the board were probably correct to cut the budget based on falling revenues.

I'd prefer to see if this season was just a flash in the pan before loosening the purse strings (don't think it is though).

I do think though that if we are continuing to increase revenue, it would be good to see a little of that money re-invested in the playing side - it's good for the fans to be seeing some sort of investment as we can be a fickle lot.

If we break 10k for st sales next season then it would not be unreasonable of the fans to expect McInnes to be better supported for bringing in better signings.

If we sell similar to last season then fair enough to expect the same level of support he got last season.

A reduced budget is out of the question & will only undo all the great work McInnes has done this season to bring fans "flooding" back to the side.

Second place & a cup will see 10k st's you'd like to expect.

& if that is the case then it could be enough to squeeze out a couple of extra quid as far as certain wage negotiations are to go with certain potential signings.

We were getting crowds of 7000 and averaging less than 10000 over a season.

Crowds are now up around 30%, with some potentially a really good attendance or two still to come depending on how the table goes.

Indeed. Average of 3,000 up per game. Might even be mair.

Current average for season 13,023.

Say £20 x 3,000 x 18

Thats us £1 million up on crowds from last season.

Prize money last year £975,000

This year if 2nd £1,718,000.

Extra £750,000.

Add in 2 x semi final pots and cup final gate receipts and TV cash therein . Another £750,000 minimum.

We must be coming up for £2.5 million more income this season than last

With that in mind, one would think the facility is there to increase the budget.

Get McInnes the players in the positions he has hopefully already identified where we are lacking.

Nae by that much, but perhaps enough to get another decent 3 or 4 players that can help take us up a notch or 2 in terms of performance levels.

Given that we'll already have room within current budget if we are getting the likes of Magennis, Vernon...perhaps Zola off the wage bill.

Speculate (wee bit) to accumulate without going feel.

Not doing so after the money taken in from Europa League run 07/08 certainly cost us big style...and led to the downturn that damaged the club for 4 or 5 years really.

Indeed. Average of 3,000 up per game. Might even be mair.

Current average for season 13,023.

Say £20 x 3,000 x 18

Thats us £1 million up on crowds from last season.

Prize money last year £975,000

This year if 2nd £1,718,000.

Extra £750,000.

Add in 2 x semi final pots and cup final gate receipts and TV cash therein . Another £750,000 minimum.

We must be coming up for £2.5 million more income this season than last

With that in mind, one would think the facility is there to increase the budget.

Get McInnes the players in the positions he has hopefully already identified where we are lacking.

Nae by that much, but perhaps enough to get another decent 3 or 4 players that can help take us up a notch or 2 in terms of performance levels.

Given that we'll already have room within current budget if we are getting the likes of Magennis, Vernon...perhaps Zola off the wage bill.

Speculate (wee bit) to accumulate without going feel.

Not doing so after the money taken in from Europa League run 07/08 certainly cost us big style...and led to the downturn that damaged the club for 4 or 5 years really.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How much did we lose last season though? Most of that £2.5M needs to go to the bank.

Having said that, £0.5M would be more than enough to add the number of players you mentioned and improve the contracts of a few good performers to stay longer.

The problem is, it still costs you £0.5M more the season after and the season after that. If one or both are fairly average compared to this - say a semi and 4th/5th place, you are back to a £1M loss in season 3.

--

As for the Euro run money, this was spent on the team - until the Setanta crash.

We made £3M and the football budget was increased by a £1M a year for the first 2, then cut back in the 3rd due a massive drop in income.

The problem was that Calderwood. He was spending £100-£200k on the odd player here and there. He had few ideas and decided to spend much of it on increased salaries for Lee Miller, Scott Severin et al as he had no clue who to replace them with if they left.

As later became apparent

Edit - no idea what happened to the quote function there!