Sevco Thread

His contract at Hearts would not have been brilliant and the huns will have just given him a slightly higher basic wage.

Eight grand a week byraway screams the Daily Record.

Made up pish, like most other stories you hear in the mainstream media about the hun scum.

I disagree Pudgie.

There is no excuse for any half decent football player joining this shambles, not players that should be entering their peak. Older players who just want to top up the pension fair enough I can understand it. But for guys like Wilson its shameful.

Wilson could go on to better things, he just needed the right club.

I'm convinced he has just signed the death warrant on his own career, this could set him back years.

Idiotic.

I disagree as well, but it's all about what he thinks. Next year he'll be challenging at the top of the Premiership, once "Rangers" get "back" into to the top league.

I can see his career suffering, but not to the extent of Black, Wallace, Law and Templeton who all spent years playing against glorified Sunday League players. There's a hell of a difference between the Championship and Leagues One and Two. Granted this is his second year there but it's at a higher level than the dregs of Scottish fitba.

They way they are going, they won't be around in 3 years! When this incarnation folds, he'll be one of th first to disappear off to another club a la Naismith etc

Agreed. The only way they can sign players is by dangling a big fat carrot in front of their nose. A carrot that they cannot afford.

His contract at Hearts would not have been brilliant and the huns will have just given him a slightly higher basic wage.

Eight grand a week byraway screams the Daily Record.

Made up pish, like most other stories you hear in the mainstream media about the hun scum.

Can't see them paying 8k a week, but I also can't see them not. They don't do financial stability and to expect them to turn around now and start being reasonable is stupid at the least.

I disagree as well, but it's all about what he thinks. Next year he'll be challenging at the top of the Premiership, once "Rangers" get "back" into to the top league.

I can see his career suffering, but not to the extent of Black, Wallace, Law and Templeton who all spent years playing against glorified Sunday League players. There's a hell of a difference between the Championship and Leagues One and Two. Granted this is his second year there but it's at a higher level than the dregs of Scottish fitba.

Agreed. The only way they can sign players is by dangling a big fat carrot in front of their nose. A carrot that they cannot afford.

Can't see them paying 8k a week, but I also can't see them not. They don't do financial stability and to expect them to turn around now and start being reasonable is stupid at the least.

:rolleyes:

That's £400k a year.

More than the Prime Minister and the US president combined.

As I said, not a chance in hell.

Some of you appear to think real life is like a computer game.

Lee McCulloch - £72K a month?

A number of weeks ago I brought you the news of Ian Black’s wage increase, whereby an appearance clause was invoked to take him up to £10K a week. As we know Rangers have huge problems with a high-earning wage culture, and many will know this site is not the biggest supporter of Lee McCulloch.

A breaking story within the past 24 hours appears to partially corroborate my information from around five months ago regarding Jig, whereby Rangers captain’s wage has been allegedly exposed as £72K a month.
My information was that his wage was £16K a week, but this development suggests that was excluding appearance fees. And given McCulloch plays when fit, it would stand to reason that £18K a week makes sense.

:rolleyes:

Aye, I was maybe a bit harsh in my assessment of the lower leagues, but they are pretty pish.

Totally disingenuous.

Those were the salaries they paid from the previous club. These contracts were exactly the same when the new club formed in the third division. They did not alter in any way. McCulloch was on £17.5k per week basic as I've said many times previously, the same wage he was being paid at Wigan.

If you think they would still pay that, then you have not been reading too much about sevco and their finances recently.

Danny Wilson's agent is having an absolute laugh to himself. All the way to the bank no less. Wilson is having a disastrous career considering how promising he looked.

Very much a bottom 6/Championship level player it seems - unless he can somehow prove otherwise. He's nowhere near the Scotland set up despite it being our weakest area. The zombies seem to think he turned down Celtic and Barcelona to sign for them haha. Sounds more like he had no other offers.

To be fair, similar to when we signed Severin. I think he left Hearts expecting offers from the Premiership then was left with Aberdeen, Kilmarnock and Boston United.

Wilson is a good defender for certain, he was the best player in the Hearts team in my opinion.

He appears to have no ambition but he will significantly improve their team.

The big name teams in the Championship are making it seem like it's a better league than it is. It's better than normal but the teams are still someway off the top half of the Scottish Premiership I think.

Their player of the season was Margaro Gomis... the guy that had an epic fail at a poor Birmingham City then went back to Dundee United and couldn't get a game. They aren't great. Hearts might sneak into the top 6 Dundee style but that'll be it.

I've maybe gone a bit off topic

Wilson is a good defender for certain, he was the best player in the Hearts team in my opinion.

He appears to have no ambition but he will significantly improve their team.

Hmm. I don't think he's that great, Jambos I know arent concerned at his departure. He's certainly no better than what we have (although you never implied that, admittedly).

The big name teams in the Championship are making it seem like it's a better league than it is. It's better than normal but the teams are still someway off the top half of the Scottish Premiership I think.

Their player of the season was Margaro Gomis... the guy that had an epic fail at a poor Birmingham City then went back to Dundee United and couldn't get a game. They aren't great. Hearts might sneak into the top 6 Dundee style but that'll be it.

I've maybe gone a bit off topic

Aye, what he said.

He played in the Premier League the year before remember, and he really came on to a game in the second half of that season.

I was at Ross County against Hearts and he was easily the best player on the pitch.

I'm not comparing him to anyone, I'm just saying that he is a good defender, and that he will improve their squad.

Totally disingenuous.

Those were the salaries they paid from the previous club. These contracts were exactly the same when the new club formed in the third division. They did not alter in any way. McCulloch was on £17.5k per week basic as I've said many times previously, the same wage he was being paid at Wigan.

If you think they would still pay that, then you have not been reading too much about sevco and their finances recently.

I wouldn't say so at all! Black, Templeton, McCoist, Sheils etc. etc. all proven to be on astronomical amounts of money and there's no way they can just turn around and offer the newbies 50% of what the current squad are on. They started with phenomenal wages and after their bumming about the warchest being opened it's only rational to expect the employees on their way in to demand a slice of that. Especially when they are in the position of needing upwards of 10 players, most of them needing to be 1st team players.

There's no way he's only on 4k a week. That's far more than he's worth, but that's just not the way this new club works!

They will be realistic now Pudgie, they are on life support.

I know how much certain players in Scotland are paid. It's nowhere near the figures quoted in the media.

Perhaps including every incentive going, 100% win bonus etc, his wage might at some very high point in the season stretch to somewhere close to £8k a week.

Basic? No chance. This is fact.

Charlie Nicholas left the Dons for Celtic after we beat them in the Scottish cup final.

He even had the professionalism to score a penalty against them.

Yup, slotted away his penalty in the shoot-out against Celtic when he knew he was already on his way back to them the following season.

Mind you the conspiracy-generator would have gone into overdrive if he'd fluffed it, so probably no surprise that he converted it nae bother.

Hmm. As far as these things go Kiernan, Wilson and Eustace are pretty sensible signings from Breadman, 2 defenders and a defensive midfielder. He's got a paper thin squad at the moment so from the point of view of a new manager building a squad he's going the right way about it.

There's no way Wilson's on £8k a week at the Pretendy Huns though. He was on a reported £2k/week at Hearts and presumably they didn't offer him much more on a new contract (£3k maybe?) and he may not have been guaranteed first team football. Despite what the Daily Ranger would have you believe there wasn't a bidding war with Celtic (otherwise he'd be a Celtic player now) so a suggestion of £4k/week sounds about right.

I can see why Wilson might make that move though, he's still young, he's guaranteed first team football and it'll have been sold as one more season in the Championship then challenging for the premier league next season :hysterical: It doesn't seem that he was inundated with other offers.

Can they afford these players? They are certainly cheaper than the players that they're replacing but I don't imagine that they can manage to many more signings of even that limited calibre. Everything else is going to have to be cheap or kids.

They will be realistic now Pudgie, they are on life support.

I know how much certain players in Scotland are paid. It's nowhere near the figures quoted in the media.

Perhaps including every incentive going, 100% win bonus etc, his wage might at some very high point in the season stretch to somewhere close to £8k a week.

Basic? No chance. This is fact.

I refuse to believe that Wilson's going in at a fraction ~ 1/2 of what other players are getting. This is being touted as one of their stellar signings. Why would he be accepting wages at less than that?

Spend, spend, spend is all they know, and all they have known from the start. Nobody at the club seems to know how to build a team and they can only pick up better players from other clubs to try and force to play together and gel instantly. Celtic would be in exactly the same situation if they were either demoted to League Two or if a Phoenix Club started in the Lowland.

I was at the game and I was definitely concerned he was going to miss deliberately.

You and me both mate... good pro though Charlie, stuck it away as if he didn't have a care in the world. Seem to recall he was quite 'muted' during the celebrations though, think that probably pissed me off even more! [/mcginn]

I refuse to believe that Wilson's going in at a fraction ~ 1/2 of what other players are getting. This is being touted as one of their stellar signings. Why would he be accepting wages at less than that?

Spend, spend, spend is all they know, and all they have known from the start. Nobody at the club seems to know how to build a team and they can only pick up better players from other clubs to try and force to play together and gel instantly. Celtic would be in exactly the same situation if they were either demoted to League Two or if a Phoenix Club started in the Lowland.

What others? Sevco's squad is threadbare and most of the big contracts are gone. Lee Wallace is the only player left that TUPEd over when Rangers ceased to exist.

2m5xxle.png

Kenny Miller is probably on a decent whack but I don't imagine that many of the others are.

It does not matter whether you refuse to believe it or not. You're wrong anyway.

What others? Sevco's squad is threadbare and most of the big contracts are gone. Lee Wallace is the only player left that TUPEd over when Rangers ceased to exist.

2m5xxle.png

Kenny Miller is probably on a decent whack but I don't imagine that many of the others are.

Bell, Wallace, Law, Templeton, Black, Sheils and Zaliukas.

I'd assume that since they were all signed as first team players, they'd all be on first team wages of circa 8k a week. Zaliukas was holding Hearts to ransom when they were paying daft money. There's no way he's on just above average Prem wages.

It does not matter whether you refuse to believe it or not. You're wrong anyway.

Pish! There's no way Wilson is accepting less than the going rate of a first team player at Ibrox.