Aberdeen sack Derek McInnes

I thought that was an obvious dig at the Aberdeen fans for the lack of sales for next week and the atmosphere at Pittodrie by him. Really poor. End of days now. 

Also 'hearts fans were up for it because they have a good team????!!!!!!!        FUCK ME. :wtf:

Would have to agree with that observation. Can't remember a game where McInnes has taken any responsibility for a poor result. A league cup win on penalties in over 5 years shouldn't give him the cushy number he has at Pittodrie. A lot of managers have been sacked who have achieved much more on more limited resources. Fed up of his superficial bullshit.

Taken out of context - I listened to the whole interview. He was saying that the Hearts crowd was noisy and as a result Hearts were right up for it from the start, and that Aberdeen didn't match that intensity. He then said if there's a positive then it'll be that the team will learn from that and not make the same mistake next week, where he said Hampden will be a "proper atmosphere", and that if they can replicate the second half performance at Hampden they'll have a chance.

He's fooling nobody with shite like that.

Everyone knows there is atmosphere at Tynecastle and that the home fans get right behind their team.  If this caught us cold them McInnes needs to look at himself.

I'd suggest that our lack of intensity is much more due to the fact that the manager puts out a team with at least six recognised defenders in it.

Taken out of context - I listened to the whole interview. He was saying that the Hearts crowd was noisy and as a result Hearts were right up for it from the start, and that Aberdeen didn't match that intensity. He then said if there's a positive then it'll be that the team will learn from that and not make the same mistake next week, where he said Hampden will be a "proper atmosphere", and that if they can replicate the second half performance at Hampden they'll have a chance.

So he was surprised that table topping Hearts and their fans were up for it? Wow. Lucky he learnt that lesson today, otherwise he wouldve prepared for the SF without considering the huns team and their fans might be up for it.

Are people seriously trying to suggest that Tony Docherty is the problem? Actually fuck right off. There is one problem and it is McInnes. To say otherwise is wilful delusion.

Not trying to suggest for a moment Docherty is at fault. Responding to Chewie37's suggestion about a possible change of assistant manager making a difference and why I don't think it would.

Blame lies fully at McIness door but I do think Docherty doesn't come out of this smelling of roses,

Chewie37 also didn't blame Docherty, just asked the question would a change in assistant help.

We all know where the REAL problem lies at AFC.

LIke we all know that the problem with our international team isn't only confined to the manager.

Both institutions have issues that are much higher up the food chain.

Point I'm making is, replace both manages and it wil make fuck all difference when the same problems will exist higher up.

That's not excusing either McLeish or McInnes. Both are currently not performing anywhere near where they should be. One should never have been appointed in th first place, whilst the other is not learning from past mistakes, and doesn't show any signs of doing so.

He's fooling nobody with shite like that.

Everyone knows there is atmosphere at Tynecastle and that the home fans get right behind their team.  If this caught us cold them McInnes needs to look at himself.

I'd suggest that our lack of intensity is much more due to the fact that the manager puts out a team with at least six recognised defenders in it.

So he was surprised that table topping Hearts and their fans were up for it? Wow. Lucky he learnt that lesson today, otherwise he wouldve prepared for the SF without considering the huns team and their fans might be up for it.

No, McInnes said he had warned the players about it pre-match. So does the blame not lie with the players?

What kind of job would McInnes be realistically holding out for? He's turned down Rangers, and wouldn't go for Celtic so he's not going for another job in Scotland therefore his eye must be on a gig in England (I think he enjoys the day to day too much to consider the national team job right now).

He must surely know he's not getting an English Premier League job so it'll be Championship at best, but there are enough out of work managers around to take the half decent jobs at the too end should someone get poached by a struggling Premier League side so it'll be one of the relegation threatened sides (ie Rotherham, Reading, Milwall, Preston) but then would they not be looking for someone with more experience of scrapping against the drop?

Would he then have to look at League One? I reckon he would have too much of a sense of self worth to drop from Europa League football, cup semis and games against the Old Firm to financially crippled third tier English sides the likes of Coventry, Blackpool or Burton who he may consider too much of a step down or a gamble from the Dons. Would he go to a "project", ie an ambitious League Two or Conference side with grand plans to scale the pyramid? Would a club like that have confidence in someone like McInnes to deliver?

Are we stuck with the big-game-bottling negative fucker after all?

What kind of job would McInnes be realistically holding out for? He's turned down Rangers, and wouldn't go for Celtic so he's not going for another job in Scotland therefore his eye must be on a gig in England (I think he enjoys the day to day too much to consider the national team job right now).

He must surely know he's not getting an English Premier League job so it'll be Championship at best, but there are enough out of work managers around to take the half decent jobs at the too end should someone get poached by a struggling Premier League side so it'll be one of the relegation threatened sides (ie Rotherham, Reading, Milwall, Preston) but then would they not be looking for someone with more experience of scrapping against the drop?

Would he then have to look at League One? I reckon he would have too much of a sense of self worth to drop from Europa League football, cup semis and games against the Old Firm to financially crippled third tier English sides the likes of Coventry, Blackpool or Burton who he may consider too much of a step down or a gamble from the Dons. Would he go to a "project", ie an ambitious League Two or Conference side with grand plans to scale the pyramid? Would a club like that have confidence in someone like McInnes to deliver?

Are we stuck with the big-game-bottling negative fucker after all?

This is my worry

We’re all a bit fucking scunnered at the moment but in reality things are going to have to get really messy for him to get punted

Roll on

Maybe it's the beers talking, but how about Simmie for manager?*

You can guarantee he wouldn't shit his knickers the way Derek does any time we come up against a 'big' team. 

Knows the club, has a relationship with the fans that's second to none, almost certainly going to bring kids through rather than buy pish mediocrity from some 4th tier English shithole.... 

If he's terrible then put him back into youth development... because you do NOT get rid of Simme.  

Then Stuarty can go get whatever appalling shambolic excuse for a manager in to fuck things up, because it's going to happen sooner or later anyway. 

51877790.jpg

This is my worry

We’re all a bit fucking scunnered at the moment but in reality things are going to have to get really messy for him to get punted

Roll on

Agreed. A bottom six finish this season won’t see the board act in isolation. Think it would take the attendances hitting the shitter to male them consider it, but it’s still not happening during the season.

Maybe it's the beers talking, but how about Simmie for manager?*

You can guarantee he wouldn't shit his knickers the way Derek does any time we come up against a 'big' team.

Knows the club, has a relationship with the fans that's second to none, almost certainly going to bring kids through rather than buy pish mediocrity from some 4th tier English shithole....

If he's terrible then put him back into youth development... because you do NOT get rid of Simme.

Then Stuarty can go get whatever appalling shambolic excuse for a manager in to fuck things up, because it's going to happen sooner or later anyway.

51877790.jpg

All for giving a legend of the club a shot at the job if they are up to it, but we aren’t in a position where we need to take such a gamble. Someone up and coming is fine but they should have managed before if they are to be considered for the dons job.

We gave Miller the job, and in that first season we were playing incredible football.  Fair enough he lost the plot later... but to be fair he may have been distracted by other stuff that was going on outside of fitba. 

McLeish, Cooper, and Strachan, (even McGhee to an extent) all had successful stints as managers, and Simmie did in fact briefly co-manage the first team if I recall correctly. 

The fact of the matter is that we have an atrocious record in hiring managers, and I expect whoever we hire next to be hilariously incompetent. 

Instead of doing that... maybe offer the job to someone who has a decades long knowledge of Aberdeen football club and Scottish football, experience at the top of European football, international experience, has a reputation for not being a bottler, and you can 100% guarantee has AFC's best interests at heart. 

He may say no

He might say yes. 

If he said yes i'd at least see how it went before we went the route of hiring the inevitably shite clown that we will almost definitely bring in anyway. 

Scott Booth, great with managing a team of tits and pussies.

Close the thread.

Someone talked about the players lacking belief. Pretty hard to have belief if the guy who is supposed to be your leader, doesn't. I'm just not sure who McInnes lacks belief in...himself, his staff, the players (especially the young guys, the club?

The problem isn't the assistant.

McIness is so stubborn and set in his ways that I don't think a change in assistant manager would make any difference.

Have to say that Docherty does not come out of the current mess well either. He either believes in McIness and his tactics/style of play or he does not have the influence to change him.

Surprised in some ways that he has not moved on himself either to a managers job or assistant elsewhere.

Are people seriously trying to suggest that Tony Docherty is the problem? Actually fuck right off. There is one problem and it is McInnes. To say otherwise is wilful delusion.

Yeah, wasn't saying Docherty was the problem, but if McInnes isn't going anywhere he needs to freshen things up, which I was pointing out that Fergie used to do. You surround yourself with people with new ideas and different attitudes to create success. So calm down @@BWG ye bam

We gave Miller the job, and in that first season we were playing incredible football. Fair enough he lost the plot later... but to be fair he may have been distracted by other stuff that was going on outside of fitba.

McLeish, Cooper, and Strachan, (even McGhee to an extent) all had successful stints as managers, and Simmie did in fact briefly co-manage the first team if I recall correctly.

The fact of the matter is that we have an atrocious record in hiring managers, and I expect whoever we hire next to be hilariously incompetent.

Instead of doing that... maybe offer the job to someone who has a decades long knowledge of Aberdeen football club and Scottish football, experience at the top of European football, international experience, has a reputation for not being a bottler, and you can 100% guarantee has AFC's best interests at heart.

He may say no

He might say yes.

If he said yes i'd at least see how it went before we went the route of hiring the inevitably shite clown that we will almost definitely bring in anyway.

Fairly sure simmy did take the team once and we lost 5-0 at hearts